Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better
The third series to this fantastic drama sees a bit of a departure in tone; whereas the second series showed the lust between Henry and Anne Boleyn through fiery passion, this series sees first of all the more demure Jane Seymour, followed by Anne of Cleves who Henry has no passion for. What this manages to do is to track the possible psychological changes within Henry...
Published on 25 Sept. 2009 by Brida

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content. Awful Blu-ray transfer
Although I enjoyed season 3 of The Tudors, I have to say that this is the worst quality Blu-ray transfer I have ever seen. It borders on defective. There is so much shimmer in almost every indoor scene as to render the entire disk barely watchable. It is only slightly better on disk two than disk one, but still a serious problem. I have confirmed that this is not a case...
Published on 24 Mar. 2010 by S. Dondershine


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season 3 The Tudors, 25 May 2010
By 
Alicia Parkin "Happy Weasel" (York, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This season is either as good as the first two or better. It has a slightly faster pace to the story and is very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars guilty pleasure, 25 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The Tudors is fantastic TV but absurd History. Nobody ages for a start. The historical inaccuracies are legion. Why give the leader of the pilgrimage of Grace Robert Aske a family when he didn't have one, or make him middle aged when he was in his twenties. And surely no King would be repulsed by this Anne of Cleves played by Joss Stone. The episodes kept me constantly going back to the internet to check facts but perhaps in the end that is not what matters.

The series is beautifully shot, the drama is gripping and the performances compelling. It simply works as TV and for the moment you suspend disbelief and just enjoy the intensity of it. Despite the deviations from the facts it is hard not to be seduced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars historical drama., 20 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Whilst seasons 1 & 2 laid excessive (rightly or wrongly) stress on amorous feats and immorality, this series rather expands on the serious consequences of the Reign, and becomes more interesting from the point of view of History. The acting in 1 and 2 was without doubt quite excellent already, and those who have survived the Rule of Terror continue to treat us with their acting talents, certainly Jonathan Rhys Meyers and the handsome Henry Cavill. Mise-en-scene, decors, costumes all magnificent, and really you brits may be proud on your flawless style of bringing to life your historical dramas !!
Bravo ! Hans Boonen, France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of sex, violence and History - Wow, 8 Jan. 2010
By 
P. A. Filby "Pamela" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I cannot rate this series too highly! I had to stop myself from doing a red eye and staying up all night to see it. It's certainly not for the feint hearted, raunchy and sexy and bloodthirsty, but compulsive viewing. I do think it is important to have seen series 1 and 2 personally as the character development might seem somewhat strange, if viewed from Season 3 only. We all know the tale, but this series particularly brought this period of history to life for me, the details (Henry searching his head for nits etc., the richness of the furnishings or some and the squalidness of others was beautifully highlighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come on Season 4!, 18 Feb. 2010
By 
M. F. Phillips "mikeinspain" (Pinar de Campoverde, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Having been given Tudors Seasons 1 & 2 as a Christmas gift, we couldn't wait for Season 3 to arrive from Amazon and only had to wait a few days even though we live in Spain. A refreshing, innovative treatment of Henry VIII's rule that introduced us to new, up-and-coming British film stars. Jonathan Rhys Myers (Henry VIII) has had a difficult personal life but now has a great future as an actor on the world stage. Natalie Dormer (Anne Boleyn in Seasons 1 & 2)could become the next Catherine Zeta Jones. Who better than Peter O'Toole as the Pope and watch out for brilliant acting from Cardinal Wolsey, Sir Thomas More and Thomas Cromwell. This is film making that Hollywood cannot do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment but a must have for the collection, 13 May 2010
By 
This review is from: The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
After the truimph of series two, I was absolutely wetting myself with excitement in anticipation of series three but, unfortunately, I was left a bit shortchanged.

Absolutely nothing is wrong with series three: the acting is still top notch, the scenery and costumes are first rate and the storyline is good. But, there is something missing. After two series of enjoying the chemistry between Rhys-Meyers and Dormer as Henry and Anne Boleyn, series three lacked a certain 'je ne sais quoi'.

I have to confess that the historical inaccuracies that did not trouble me before were starting to grate by season three. The whole Lady Misseldon storyline was unnecessary and I didn't think it added anything to the show. Whereas, previously, some inaccuracies added a bit of oompf to the plot the Lady Misseldon thing just seemed like a nonsensical add-on.

Series 3, literally whips through Jane Seymour, Anne of Cleves and the emergence of Katherine Howard. Joss Stone features as Anne of Cleves and her performance is fair but she is outshadowed by the ghosts of Maria Donnelly and Natalie Dormer.

The other disappointing thing was the treatment of Cromwell's demise: his fall from grace happened too quickly (it seemed like minutes). Again, something was lacking in the portrayal of his demise and I can't quite fathom what.

Overall, if you're a fan, you must watch it so that you are prepared for series four but you may feel a bit disapointed with it's execution (no pun intended!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for Season 4!, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
Linden Hall "Linden" (Abu Dhabi, UAE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Living in the Middle East we don't have access to really good English language TV dramas so have been purchasing The Tudors from Amazon... and loving them. Each season in the series has been subtly different but the fabulous acting, brilliant sets and costumes and rivetting scripts have been unchanged - this is a series that shows no signs of wearing thin over time. Totally believable (even with such a slimline Henry)and timeless...this is a wonderful addition to our DVD collection and will be watched many times. Can't wait for Season 4 to come out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tudors - Season 3, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
Helen Lois Segura "Sefarad Mesianica" (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I have seen the first two seasons on TV and I ordered them on DVD as I believe I will want to see them again! When the 3rd season came on I knew I had to maintain the collection. It is lovely to see history come to life and the actors all seem to have been born for the part! As I watch I take note of historical events I did not know much about and later I look it up in encyclopedias and on the internet. For example, the The Pilgrimage of Grace revolt. This DVD set makes for hours of interesting watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The third series to this fantastic drama sees a bit of a departure in tone, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The third series to this fantastic drama sees a bit of a departure in tone; whereas the second series showed the lust between Henry and Anne Boleyn through fiery passion, this series sees first of all the more demure Jane Seymour, followed by Anne of Cleves who Henry has no passion for. What this manages to do is to track the possible psychological changes within Henry. It also reflects the change in society in general, as the tension between Catholicism and Protestantism grew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Series, 19 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Facinating portrayal of Iconic, historic figure. Sublime acting combined with fantastic costumes and jewellery made this a feast for the eye. The detail applied to these alone made it worthwhile viewing. The no holds barred scriptwriting leaves no stone unturnned about this complicated individual who was the basis for how our country was reformed. The forces he had the courage to stand against are also fairly depicted in this epic. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009]
The Tudors - Season 3 [DVD] [2009] by Various (DVD - 2009)
£9.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews