Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest thing in years
I used to love Bo Selecta and then Leigh Francis moved onto Keith Lemon and The Bear and I lost a bit of interest but having sat down to watch this the other day this was definately Leigh at his best!! I was laughing so hard my wife in the other room wondered what all the fuss was about.

Yes it is rude but so funny, it is so ridiculous but that's what makes it...
Published on 9 Nov. 2009 by Perry Sheppard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars but I found it pretty good. The bit where he does the painting ...
Oh how I laughed. Missus was not too impressed, but I found it pretty good. The bit where he does the painting against billy jean is hilarious.
Published 1 month ago by T Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest thing in years, 9 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
I used to love Bo Selecta and then Leigh Francis moved onto Keith Lemon and The Bear and I lost a bit of interest but having sat down to watch this the other day this was definately Leigh at his best!! I was laughing so hard my wife in the other room wondered what all the fuss was about.

Yes it is rude but so funny, it is so ridiculous but that's what makes it funny. I think MJ is one of Leigh's best characters.

Again to reiterate what others have said about the poor review on here, they obviously don't get what this show is all about...it may be rude but it is an affectionate look back at the life of MJ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cha'mone!, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
It really didn't take long after the passing of MJ for Leigh Francis to announce this 45 minute long "tribute" to the great man. The thought probably made some hardcore Jacko fans wince. Francis' Bo'Selector characters are renowned for being somewhat less than tasteful, however his MJ had also traditionally been one of his more affectionate portrails, and one of the most popular.

Aired on E4 in mid-september 2009, this is nothing short of comedy genius. A rip-roaring comedy express train that provides a Bo'Selector biopic from Jacko's childhood all the way to his untimely death. Along the way we have some great Bo' cameos including Craig David, Mel B and Kanye (the yorkshire Ken West). The brilliant thing about Francis' characters is that they are so far removed form reality that he can get away with things that other impersonations can't, and as such, while vulgour, sick and perverted, it never feels that offensive (saying that i have a very high tollerance to this kind of humour, others may be horrified).

The fact that Francis decided to resurect Bo'Selector and devote an hour long special to MJ i think shows he was a fan and there's a very touching moment at the end (as touching as Bo'Selector can be) where you feel that his choice of the word 'tribute' was actually genuine.

If you're a fan of Bo'Selector its a must. If you're a fan of Jacko and can handle a bit of satire then its a must. If you didn't like Jacko, its a must. However if you have a weak stomach when comdey is concerned and are easily offended by what are essentially just jokes, then i would stay clear. In my view though this is timeless comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cant stop watching it, 17 April 2010
By 
JOHN "John" (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't know this was available to buy, I recorded it when it was first shown and have watched it over and over, inflicting it on my friends as well. The guy is funny, gross, clever, stupid etc., etc., but totally inventive (could have done without the Peaches bit however). Would highly recommend this to anyone. Now if you think this a youf thing - WRONG, I am well into my sixties, unfortunately myself, and my partner are addicted to all the catch - phrases which must bore the pants friends and family alike. BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute comedy genious, 4 Oct. 2009
By 
Louise Frame - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
see what MVA_MJ doesn't understand is it's just a joke it wasn't supposed to be a real tribute it was just a bit of fun.
tis is one of the funniest things i've seen in quite a while, totally worth buying
leigh francis is a comedy genious
the bilie jean spoof is funny beyond words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!!!, 22 Dec. 2009
By 
T. Verrill "Dr Red" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
The best comedy programme Ive seen this year!Its not offensive its a light hearted comedy tribute to the late great Michael Jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chuckleworthy!, 31 May 2011
By 
Lucy White "Luce1973" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
I missed seeing all of this on TV and laughed so much I had to turn it off! I watched it with subtitles, as daftly enough its even funnier like that! I watched it in bed, and laughed so much my husband got cross as the bed shook! Best laugh out loud belly laugh I've had in ages! Love the Kolaaay cuuubes song! If you love Bo Selecta, you HAVE to have a copy of this for rainy sundays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius, 6 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
this is one of the funniest programs i have ever seen, it isnt insulting to anyone it only insulting to people who arent clever enough to understand and appreciate bo selecta sense of humour! i certainly will be purchasing this dvd to add to my collection of bo selecta dvds i already own. right from the word go it is hilarious with cameos from craig david who works in a call centre and simon cowell who potentionally invents everything! would recomend to anyone who has a half decent sense of humour! unlike one of the other reviewers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
J. R. Brown (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
I found this dvd very funny indeed. However, I can see that some people may be offended by some of it. Although you would probably only buy it if you were a fan of Bo selecta and would already enjoy this type of humour. I liked it anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Comedy, 30 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
If you think this is in poor taste, grow up.

David Gest is phenomenal in this and Leigh Francis should be applauded for it. It is a light-hearted look at his life. Well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD] (DVD)
Every generation has at least one comedy that the previous generation just don't get.

This is ours.

I am an MJ fan but as long as you don't take it too seriously (hint - it's comedy) you will laugh at this. Well worth looking into the older Bo Selecta Michael Jackson stuff too.

You can tell this is an affectionate parody and from the poignant way Leigh Francis ends this, you can also tell Leigh Francis is obviously a real MJ fan from the many obscure references in the tribute.

Also rumour has it, that the IRL MJ thought Leigh Francis' "Michael Jackass" character was hilarious.

So sit back and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cha'mone Mo'Fo' Selecta! A Tribute To Michael Jackson [DVD]
£5.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews