Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it for the first two and some great extras
If I were looking to buy any of the original Batman series on Blu-ray, then I'd quite happily go for the darker Tim Burton titles as standalone releases. However, for only a couple of pounds more you get not only films three and four but also some extensive, fascinating bonus features that justify the purchase.

In particular, the final part of the 'Shadows of...
Published on 3 April 2011 by Chris White

versus
38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD box set. No extras.
This box set is worth getting if you're not looking for all the behind the scenes extras etc. that usually come with dvds. As a box set it is certainly lacking since there are no extras but I bought it just for the films so I'm happy.
Published on 8 Jan. 2006 by Kidder


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holy Smokes Batman......, 2 April 2007
This is a decent enough boxset with the first four feature films of Batman. This boxset contains the single DVD editions of the movies, which have little in the way of extras.

So this boxset is ideal if you just want to own or make up your Batman movie collection, however if you want more indepth viewing buy the 2 DVD Editions available seperatly or wait until there is a new boxset with the the 2 DVD Editions and the recent 5th presequel movie Batman Begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great film package loved the first two, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great film package loved the first two , especially the second one .loads of great extras , shame you have to put up with the last two movies . Though Joel does not of say sorry for number four .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 67 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!, 21 Sept. 2005
Although I am a big fan of the Batman films, do not bother buying this boxset as it only contains 4-Discs and has no special features! If you are a big fan of the Batman films, you may as well buy the 2-disc special edition DVDS of the quadrilogy which have lots of special features!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And where is the Batman?, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Andrew Driscoll (Merthyr Tydfil, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a box set that goes from the sublime to the ridiculous!

It contains the four Burton/Schumacher films from the 80s and 90s, which are a mixed bag.

The first two films (the Burton 2) are outstanding, Michael Keaton is an unexpectedly excellent Batman/Bruce Wayne, the tone is dark, there are some outstanding performances from the antagonists (in particular Jack Nicholson's Joker in the first). These two films are worth the entry fee alone.

Then Burton left us and we moved to Joel Schumacher directing. Keaton also gone, replaced with Val Kilmer. This gives us the third film, Batman Forever. Mixed bag here, Jim Carrey essentially plays an slightly OTT version of selfish as Riddler, and it's perfect, he plays deranged/crazy perfectly. On the other hand, Tommy Lee Jones is horribly miscast as Two Face (Dent being played by Billy Dee Williams prior to this, but I can't see that working either).

The tone isn't so dark anymore, it's now a bit crazy, a bit over the top. Val is decent, Robin is added to negative affect. Bit I still enjoy the film.

However what loses the set a star is Batman and Robin. Oh such a bad bad film. Awful performances from new Batman George Clooney (I can only assume Val read the script and got out of Gotham), Arnie dropping puns for the entire film as Mr Freeze. An awful representation of Bane (now of course done much better), Poison Ivy is about the best here, but far from even passable.

Generally speaking, this is worth picking up for the first 3 films, then use the forth as a coaster. Decent extras are present also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for your money!, 6 Feb. 2010
By 
You will find on all the four Blu-Rays these subtitles:
Main Movie: English, english for the hearing impaired, french, german, german for the hearing impaired, italian, italian for the hearing impaired, castilian, latin american spanish, dutch, portugues, brasilian portugues, danish,
Audio commentary subtitles: Chinese. korean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great,but..., 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only reason I'm not giving a 5 star is product picture. On the picture you can see box set with each movie in separate box,total of 4. Instead,it's 2 boxes with 2 discs on each box. And no booklet. I'm uploading picture for details. Not that is something terrible but it's good to know.
Everything else is OK,4 classic Batman movies for great price,lighting fast shipping etc. I don't know why other customers said that there are no extras. There are over 18 hours of extras (documentaries,making off,director commentaries,9 music videos, and much much more).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Keaton plus Jack Nicolson good transfer on to Blu-ray at a great price, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The classic Batman: Michael Keaton plus Jack Nicolson good transfer on to Blu-ray at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars batman brilliance, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I personally have seen George Clooney's portrayal of the dark knight hundreds of times but would recommend to anyone to buy this because you get Michael Keaton's two films (batman and batman returns) and Val Kilmer's portrayal in batman forever
Overall this set is brilliant when the dvd loads it goes straight into the movie no annoying dvd menu which is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Any true fan should own this, it's beautiful., 24 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As I've been a fan of Batman since I was 4, I had all of the films on VHS. I never thought of replacing them until I saw this. It was definitely a cheap and interesting way to add the films back into my collection. The box itself is rather beautiful if you appreciate the series of films as much as I do. A must own for any collector or fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Might be a misprint!, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Although this pack was a well priced trip down memory lane, delivery was excellent (and the movies are still enjoyable) the inner sleeves of the DVD cases are misprinted and don't relate to the movies. Nothing wrong with that in principle but I would have still bought it had the seller been honest enough to show this in the listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman: The Motion Picture Anthology 1989-1997 [DVD] [2005]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews