Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a new fan!
After having watched this DVD collection I have been converted into a new devoted fan of Mr. Moran's genius.
I, as many other people, had known him from Black Books (which by the way I did find funny, but not super-mega-fantastic funny). Either way, I was curious to watch him doing stand-up comedy and see what was that made him (and his work) so appealing to so many...
Published on 29 Jan 2010 by T. G. Baudouin

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no subs at all!!!
I've ordered those DVDs from France and bad surprise: there are no subtitles whatsoever, not even in English for the hard of hearing. Please amazon make an effort, this information is not a minor one, some people do need subtitles and it'd be good to know once in a while if a dvd is worth buying or not. I hate wasting my money, dont you?
Published on 10 Feb 2011 by V.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a new fan!, 29 Jan 2010
By 
T. G. Baudouin (Mexico City, MEXICO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD] (DVD)
After having watched this DVD collection I have been converted into a new devoted fan of Mr. Moran's genius.
I, as many other people, had known him from Black Books (which by the way I did find funny, but not super-mega-fantastic funny). Either way, I was curious to watch him doing stand-up comedy and see what was that made him (and his work) so appealing to so many people. I found a performer who not only had the perfect façade (of the grumpy wine drinker and cigarette smoker that in some way is not completely "there"), which grants him this closeness to his audience that makes you relate easily to whatever he is saying. Secondly, his jokes and observations don't come from common places, so they are not designed to get easy laughs. He gives the impression of being a very well-read & cultured man, and his views -for that same reason- feel supported by a work of thought not from mere mockery action.
He succeeds in achieving a very honest delivery of his words, as if what you see is what you get. Unpretentious and real, that's how I'd describe him. Which in my opinion is what makes him charming and addictive. Many people love "Monster" more than "Like, totally" and have yet to check out "What It Is". I watched the last one first and loved it -even more than the other two-. I suppose they work differently with different audiences. But no matter which one you prefer...
you'll love this!! BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Man, 13 July 2010
By 
Peter Grieser "SWDamocles" (Arlington, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw Dylan Moran in Sean of the Dead then Run Fatboy, Run. thought he was very good. then I found Black Books... Outstanding. Needless to say when I found he had video of his stand-up, I had to seek them out. I was not disappointed. Morans style of comedy show throught in all the work he has done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good set of comedy, 26 Mar 2010
By 
R. J. Bartlett "RB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD] (DVD)
I brought this box set on the strength of Black Books TV series and was not let down. I find him just as funny and can guarantee a laugh even after a bad day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Talent for Moaning!, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD] (DVD)
This is laid back comedy at its best from a genius who is just as relaxed in front of thousands as in a small club. He seems to be speaking or slurring from the heart straight to the listener. Even the pauses between the off the wall gems of wisdom, are full of expectation and part of the delivery that just flows and fascinates. Riveting stuff especially if you are tired of the frantic quick fire style of delivery.
Dylan stands out as a comedian whose stage persona manages to be a strange mix of confused complainer and honest commentator that is hilarious and never mean spirited.
This is an excellent collection to go back to time and again and inspired me to revisit the Black Books TV series which is another gem for Dylan fans, also showing the talents of Bill Bailey and Tamsin Grieg along with a long string of amazing guest actors such as Simon Pegg and Julian Rhind-Tutt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD] (DVD)
It's Dylan Moran; it's going to be good. Moran is a really intelligent comedian with impeccable timing and an endearing and relatable weirdness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, 27 Oct 2014
This review is from: Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD] (DVD)
fantastic comedian. three specials in one box. could watch them over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny, 5 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD] (DVD)
dylan does the drunk mumbler better than anyone else out there with political insite in his own unique way i got to recommend this to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct 2014
This review is from: Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD] (DVD)
Satisfied :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no subs at all!!!, 10 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD] (DVD)
I've ordered those DVDs from France and bad surprise: there are no subtitles whatsoever, not even in English for the hard of hearing. Please amazon make an effort, this information is not a minor one, some people do need subtitles and it'd be good to know once in a while if a dvd is worth buying or not. I hate wasting my money, dont you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dylan Moran: the Whole Collected Thing [DVD], 15 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD] (DVD)
Fans of Black Books should be very happy with this. Good for anyone who likes rambling cynical Irish comedy (that's the best way I can describe it).

Just the thing to cheer you up after a long day, though for a cheaper and more condensed (100 mins) DVD featuring Monster, Like Totally and What It Is, you might consider buying Aim Low: The Best of Dylan Moran. Also, this set is no longer "The Whole Collected Thing" per se...for that, you should buy this boxed set along with his recent "Yeah Yeah" DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dylan Moran: The Whole Collected Thing [DVD]
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews