Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello Campers... ...Hi De Hi!
This programe is simply superb.

The cast and crew must have had an absolute ball making all 58 episodes of Hi De Hi. This programme was on the air for an amazing 8 years and when the final episode was shown in January 1988 it really was an end of an era.

During the 1950's when air travel was out of the question for many families, holiday camps like...
Published on 29 Nov 2009 by Mellow Yellow

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing episodes
This box set is not complete, the following 5 episodes are missing:

The Graven Image,S5, Ep5
Peggy's Pen Friend, S5, Ep6
The Epidemic, S5, Ep7
Hey Diddle Diddle, Who's on the Fiddle?, S6, Ep5
Raffles,S6, Ep6

It consequently does not contain all 58 episodes, but only 53, and is thus a marred set. This is a great pity, and extremely...
Published 19 months ago by John B. Miller


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hello Campers... ...Hi De Hi!, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Mellow Yellow (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hi-De-Hi! - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This programe is simply superb.

The cast and crew must have had an absolute ball making all 58 episodes of Hi De Hi. This programme was on the air for an amazing 8 years and when the final episode was shown in January 1988 it really was an end of an era.

During the 1950's when air travel was out of the question for many families, holiday camps like "Maplins" were extremely popular for the families yearly getaway. Food, accomodation and entertainment were all thrown in and the writers of Hi De Hi used their own holiday experiences to write this comedy. You had a Camp Host and comedian along with many other entertainment staff and this is the main story line of Hi De Hi. Each series follows the antics of the entertainment staff through each season and as each season comes and goes there are changes to the staff which change the whole plot!

I liked the series as it progressed and the character portrayed by Su Pollard "Peggy" became one of the most loved characters of the day, this propelled Su pollard into the limelight which even gave her a small music career!!

Everyone knows about Hi De Hi, so I will not got on!! However, if you like this series you will probably also like: You Rang M'lord and Oh Doctor Beeching. These series are written by the same writers and all star Su Pollard, Paul Shane and Jeffrey Holland, who in my opinion shine off each other and excel in what they do.

The only down side is the boxset. It is a very poor re-release of what is already avaliable in individual series sets. They have literally thrown all the discs together in a box! There are no extras such as a booklet which is disappointing especially as the RRP is 79.99! However, the series alone deserves 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue holiday camp frolics, 25 Jun 2002
By 
R. Cope "cope2" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thankfully at long last those nice people at Playback have seen fit to issue this classic comedy, all episodes of series 1 & 2 contained in this boxed set where first broadcast in 1981. The strength of all the Perry-Croft series is in the casting, and their real tour de force with HI DE HI! is the catalyst of Simon Cadell's beautifully observed Jeffrey Fairbrother, around whom the rest of the eccentric staff at Maplin's Holiday Camp weave their spell. By far my favourite characters though are the sour ballroom dancers Yvonne and Barry, looking down their noses at the dreadful vulgar activities run for the campers, they are a joy on every entrance. Other stand out performances include Gladys Pugh as the man hungry chief Yellowcoat Gladys Pugh and Su Pollard's infectious chalet maid Peggy Ollerenshaw.
In fact this is the first time that Jimmy Perry and David Croft had attempted to write strong comedy roles for women, their previous series together had been predominately male orientated due to their military settings. Highlights on these discs include "The Partridge Season" where the Punch and Judy man gets blind drunk and barracades himself in his chalet, "Day of Reckoning" containing the classic sequence where a pantomime horse is seen riding a real horse over the sand-dunes, "Peggy's Big Chance" stolen by Su Pollard's tearful performance and "A Night Not To Remember" where Mr. Fairbrother has his drinks laced by some rugby players and ends up drunk in his chalet with Gladys Pugh, but next morning Gladys isn't saying what actually happened... Each episode is a masterclass of ensemble playing, faithfully recreating the late 50's when holiday camps were all the rage. HI DE HI! won a BAFTA award and it's easy to see why here. This is broad comedy at it's finest, with expert characterisation provided by the legendary team of Perry & Croft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious - one of my favorite site comes ever - Su Pollard is just iconic, 26 Oct 2009
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hi-De-Hi! - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Hi-de-Hi! is a British sitcom that aired on BBC1 from 1980 to 1988. Set in a 1950s holiday camp, it was written by Jimmy Perry and David Croft, The title was the phrase used to greet the campers at events. The inspiration for the series was drawn from the real-life experiences of writers Perry and Croft.

This innocent, but very good humour. It simply makes you laugh a lot or smile. The cast is just brilliant and portray their characters to perfection. However Ruth Madoc as Gladys Pugh, the chief yellowcoat, is in this series just amazing.

But I cannot help I like Su Pollard best as Peggy Ollerenshaw, the potty Peggy was the chalet maid. Just watch when she gives her acceptance speech for an imaginary prize she has won. Hillarious.

I just loved it!!
5 stars - a shame one can not give more!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As funny as ever!, 1 May 2005
Time has been kind to this series. It's just as funny watching it now as it was on first broadcast.
Fully-formed characters, fabulous performances and a great script combine to make this timeless comedy.
Hi-De-Hi has always been an underated series and in it's day was one of the BBC's top rated shows and ran to eight series.
Any one who has an interets in British comedy should buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hi de Hi! Ho Ho Ho, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Hi-De-Hi! - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Another comedy great from the BBC back in the days when they made proper family comedies. An absolute gem from start to finish which may seem dated by today's standards but will definitely raise a smile no matter how many times you see it.

The genius of Hi-De-Hi was that it was a comedy with a hint of sadness. The yellow coats (staff at the holiday camp) are all failures; Ted Bovis the old style camp comic and his apprentice, the old ballroom dancing champions whose best days are long behind them, the camp Director a man who couldn't be more out of place if he tried, even the glorious Peggy who finally achieved her dream only to lose it almost immediately.

Will raise a smile but might also provoke a tear or two.

My only complaint is with the lack of extras. 5 star comedy in a 4 star box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still funny, 30 Jan 2004
I had fond memories of hi di hi as a young boy and I remember being a fan of Spike, Ted and Peggy. Now in my early 30s those characters still have a lot to offer but I was bowled over by the wonderfully understated performance of Simon Callow as Mr Fairbrother. While the volume of Ted and Peggy ensure the actors cannot be ignored, Mr Fairbrother's disquietude is enthralling and steals many a scene from his colleagues.
Watching the show as an adult I realised the nuances of the show eluded me as a child (obviously), and there is a surprising depth of characterisation that rarely becomes too involved or overly sentimental. Granted, some of the ‘jokes’ are dated but they reflect the gentler age of broadcasting and the BBC. However, some of the gags are certainly open to ‘contemporary adult’ interpretation.
I am looking forward to seasons three and four, even though my memory of these seasons suggests they were inferior. I am sure I will prove to be mistaken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud fun!, 29 April 2005
Hi-De-Hi was a major favourite of mine as a child, and after watching them through again as an adult I feel it's even better than I remembered. The jokes and characters now take on a whole new dimension and it gave me a lovely warm, nostalgic feeling to again witness one of the all time classics of British comedy from an era now sadly past. Highly enjoyable stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi de Hi series 1-2 (and also 3-4), 10 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These really are comedy classics. It's years since I had seen them and I had forgotten just how good the scripts are. Really superb casting - I think my husband is in love with Gladys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start Laughing, 8 April 2005
A fabulous set of DVD's, I had forgot how funny Hi De Hi was. All the old characters and all very funny, well worth buying if you liked them last time round, this time you will love them.
Its a shame they dont make them like it anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hi de Hi, 9 July 2010
By 
L. Taylor "minimo" (Saltburn UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A real blast from the past - had forgotten how good the series was and a reminder of happy nostalgic times when life was much simpler!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hi-De-Hi! - The Complete Series [DVD]
Hi-De-Hi! - The Complete Series [DVD] by Paul Shane (DVD - 2009)
35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews