Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars54
3.8 out of 5 stars
Price:£30.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2011
I have bought a lot of low price photographic accessories so I was not expecting much from this cable. I am pleased to say that I have been pleasantly surprised.

The cable is NOT QUITE as you see in the picture - it's better! On top of the end connecting to the camera there is a standard single pin hot shoe for firing a non-dedicated flash or a simple radio trigger. This means you could have one (manual) flash on the camera on the lens axis, and have another moved off the camera (manual or ETTL). I do not have a non-dedicated flash to test in the shoe at this end of the cable so I cannot say how the manual flash will behave if an ETTL flash is used at the other end of the cable. This end of the cable locks in place via a plastic wheel which seems entirely sufficient. It has five sprung metal pins underneath it to connect with the ETTL contacts on any EOS camera hot shoe.

The cable is a good length and since it is not coiled you do not get false expectations about its reach. It is not flimsy and seems adequately protected by the plastic jacket.

The flash end of the cable duplicates the ETTL contacts of an EOS hot shoe. It is also mounted in a pivoting bracket which can be loosened or tightened using a twisty knob. The bracket has a 1/4" threaded hole and includes a knurled screw for locking it onto a cold shoe or a Speedlite's plastic foot. Remove the screw to fix the bracket onto a 1/4" threaded spigot.

I've used this cable on an EOS 7D, with a 580EX II on the far end of the cable acting as a wireless master for 430EX II slaves. All menu and custom functions of the 580 could be accessed normally through the camera menus, and the camera instructions were sent correctly along the cable to the 580 which meant that the wireless ETTL worked flawlessly between the master and slaves.

This is great because you get the best of both worlds: an off-axis, high speed sync and second curtain-capable wireless master. This means you don't need to "waste" the capabilities of your expensive 580 master control unit if you want to use Canon wireless flash but don't want on-axis light hitting your subject. Simply move the controller off axis and include it as your key light! It also means you can run the cable inside a soft box to control a master unit which then triggers slaves which are also inside the soft box - more strobes means less power needed for any given Exposure Value, which means faster recycle times!

All in all this product is really good quality for the price, and the doors it opens up for you make it well worth the money. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to move Canon Speedlites off the camera.
22 comments|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
Good build quality, length of cable is ideal for general use, and as its not coiled, like so many are, so it does not put undue strain on the hot shoe through always being under tension.

Hot shoe mount is metal and stiff to use, this may get better with time, but at least its not going to fall off easily.

The previous reviewer comments upon wireless control as a better alternative. Yes - true if you have lots of money and need more than getting the flash unit away from the worst place you can have it.

I would prefer not to compare the two products as I think they perform different functions.

This lead however is easy to transport in a back pack, requires no further power sources to make it operate, has no further set up other than connecting it to the camera and the flash unit, and is an ideal partner to one of the 'strobie soft box on an arm' products that are becoming more readily available.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
I received the flash cord yesterday and tested it last night with my Canon EOS 550D camera. All the functions in the external flash menu on the camera work perfectly and the hot shoe mount on the cord also has a 1/4 in screw mount, so the flash can be mounted on a tripod when of camera and using this cord. This is a real bonus that I was not aware of when I bought the item! I am extremely happy with my purchase and recommended it to anyone with the EOS 550D.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
So far it works great.
Communication camera/flash works flawlessly. Solid construction.
Did not find any limitations but the lenght of the cord. It's only 3 meters.. but it's not bad at all. I thought it was worst.

Good product to start off camera flash.

Recomended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2010
For such a cheap product you can't have huge expectations, but it turns out that this cable is quite reasonable and it does the job just fine. Having TTL is a useful feature, but it is a constraint to have it on a wire (even if it is 3 metres long).

I would reccomend it if you need something cheap for amateur usage (basic studio lighting, etc) but if you need much more from it then go and get some expert wireless equipment... It means a whole lot less bulk of wire to carry out, far greater range, and more flashes to be able to use.

4/5 for doing the job as I had expected.

I bought this with a flash/umbrella mount (on a slide rail) and I had to buy Camera Flash Hot Shoe Mount 1/4" Tripod Screw Adapter for wireless flash trigger & Flash Stand to get the flash cord to stay on the umbrella mount. This is not a fault of this piece of equipment, but if you raise the game and go for better quality in the first place then this probably wouldn't be an issue at all.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
I bought this for my EOS500D and EX580 mk2 flash. It does what it says and it really does open up a lot of possibilities. This cord allows you to use all of the Speedlites functions which is a big help. I would suggest to anyone dabbling with flash photography to get this. It WILL make a difference.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
Moving your external flash off the camera gives a more natural and desirable lighting effect. In order to do this though, you need a means to connect the flash to the camera hot shoe and that is what this cable does.

At 3m long, it is sufficient for most purposes, added to which, the cord retains the ETTL function of the flashgun. The attachment to the hot shoe has a knurled ring to allow it to be tightened securely. It also has a mount on top for a flashgun although this is not ETTL. The attachment for the flashgun has both a threaded hole to fit onto a tripod or light stand and a cold shoe to fit onto an umbrella mount.

The drawback with this product is that you will have a cable between the camera and the flashgun with all the potential for problems that creates. If you want to avoid these issues or need to move your flash further away then wireless triggers what you need. With most wireless triggers you will have to adjust your exposures manually.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
It works, and it works well. I was puzzled at first when i realized that it did not fire the flash, or it did fire but at the wrong time...
Then i found the solution. FIRST mount it on the extreme flash shoe THEN open the flash THEN mount it on the hot shoe of the camera and FINALLY open the camera.
If you do not follow these steps communication between flash off.camera and camera is a mess.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
Getting the adapter onto the camera's hotshoe is a bit tricky... the pins are too straight to depress when sliding onto the hotshoe so I have to try to squeeze them in before sliding on. The flash end was very tight at first but has loosened up a bit after a few fittings.

Used with a EOS 450D and 580 EX II flash. All ETTL functions working as hoped.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
If your reading this then you know by now it's time to get your speed-lite off of the top of your camera.... and this product is a great way to start. After reading the reviews and checking various other similar products i decided to go with this one (mainly for the 3m cord length).
As soon as it arrived i was eager to give it a try.

so as soon as i opened the box i mounted it to my 5d mark ii and then to my 430exii flash gun and fired away.... Nothing!!

I tried every setting in the hope that it would come to life, but after a very frustrating half hour of adjusting setting i soon realized it was a dud. Much to the disappointment of my Bar flair friend who was awaiting some shots.

So back it went, But hats off to Amazon a replacement came 2 days later and this one worked a beaut!! i set up some scenes at home in my living room using my girlfriend as the subject, placing the flash gun in various locations (on top of shelves, above her, below her, to the side, inside lamps etc) and the shots were priceless some really great shadow effects.

In my opinion this is a really great product for setting up scenes were you need some different light styles, and for creating interesting shadows across the face,body etc as well as scenes that involve props. im really looking forward to testing this out at a wedding i have at the end of the month were the bride and groom have hired a Porsche for a couple of days and want some posing scenes done at night.

On a final note im guessing some of you are deciding between this and the spring cord alternative. although this one has a 3m non spring cord it could easily be wound up to be uses in just the same fashion {just need an elastic band).

I gave this item 5 star, irrelevant of the fact that the first one was a dud because the item and replacement were delivered quickly and without fuss. great accessory, creative, easy, small price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)