Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Gay Comming out film by a mile
This has to be the most heart felt comming out film i've ever seen.
The characters are real, the structure has a depth of meaning that surpasses other gay films that are made largley for titulation.
This film has a story to tell, and on a small budget makes a vastly superior job than any Hollywood block buster could hope to achieve. The casting and location is...
Published 23 months ago by Steve C

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Boys Typically Portrayed!
This "film" is trite and obnoxiously bad! The characters written here were so blatantly stereotypical that it was hard to get through to the end, but when I did I felt totally let down by what could have been a interesting topic to cover., it's a shame that the director didn't suggest to the three lead actors to do more role reversal in rehearsals to find a better way to...
Published on 7 Nov 2010 by R. Max Totten


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Gay Comming out film by a mile, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
This has to be the most heart felt comming out film i've ever seen.
The characters are real, the structure has a depth of meaning that surpasses other gay films that are made largley for titulation.
This film has a story to tell, and on a small budget makes a vastly superior job than any Hollywood block buster could hope to achieve. The casting and location is inspired, the screen play never compromising. A truly great film that will become a classic. If this is your type of film watch it, you can't fail to be deeply moved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Proper British Indie Film, 20 Dec 2010
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
I only write this to say thanks to the positive reviews on this page. I was initially put off getting this as there were so many negative posts regarding this film. But a mate got it for me and I thought it was a quietly brilliant film that truly deserved more attention.

The plot loosely, is a gang from Bristol do vicious and sadistic so called 'happy slapping' and film it on their mobiles, they are a dysfunctional generally unlikeable lot held together by an invisible bond seemingly based on mutual violence and fear of the female `leader'.

The main character Cal, stops a French exchange student getting a kicking and is thus ousted from the gang. He then ends up having a relationship with Olivier, but his former gang mates will not let matters rest there. The reasons reveal themselves in a manner of ways and at a rate that does not undermine the main storyline. His best mate from the gang is particularly vicious about the 'betrayal' of turning out 'queer', but as Quentin Crisp once said 'some roughs are pretty queer and some queers are pretty rough'.

Some of the detractors are right in that some of the characters are overly stereo typical and there are more coincidences than a Dickens melodrama. Also suspend belief at someone gaining access to a computer quicker than a super hero. However, this is a shoe string budget effort which is watchable, well acted and actually moving in parts. And it is an indie British flick not based in London and should be lauded for that if nothing else. The sex scenes have been called soft porn by some reviewers but they just felt natural given the content and circumstances in which they take place. If you are wavering about whether to get/see this or not I urge you to give 'Shank' a go and hopefully like me you will find it very much worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a crossover movie, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
Its very difficult to find a film that doesn't glamourise or look down upon youth culture today. It saddens me that audiences today are all too quick to criticise anyone who makes the effort to address this shortfall.

I was given this film by a gay friend and me and my girlfriend watched it one evening recently and I was amazed at it's honesty and truthfulness in tackling the feral culture that blights my generation in the media. I live in Bristol where the film was made. I am an undergraduate film maker and this film gave me hope to continue with my aspirations and to make films with a unique voice.

I can see through the shortcomings of budget and casting and recognise a film that is saying something that will stand as a testament and record to a time when 'youth' were violent and intolerant towards each other.

This film is a wonderful explosion of emotion and reality. I greatly admire it. From the first shot to the last we were totally engaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 26 Feb 2014
This review is from: Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
This movie was my summer of 2008. It helped me realize who was really am.

Thank you so much Shank.
xxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars omg so good !, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
wow I've never watched such a great film that i had to tell so many people about , I wish i knew about it sooner it has also helped me make a lot of decisions in my life. 10 out of 10 from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both bleak and uplifting, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
I bought this film because of the good reviews it received (and despite the bad ones), but delayed watching it because I feared it would be too depressing. It certainly painted a bleak picture of the NEET (Not in Education, Employment or Training) generation, but also demonstrated that they are not beyond redemption or saving (and I don't mean in a religious sense). There has been criticism of the sensitive French student as a stereotypical "defenceless gay queen", but in fact I think the contrast between him - gentle and with a relatively puny body but confident in his own sexuality - and Cal - muscular and aggressive but afraid of revealing his feelings - works well. Even the nude scenes are more reminiscent of children playing than of hard-on sex. While Cal and his French boyfriend provide the happy ending, even for the other characters life is potentially not without hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Boys Typically Portrayed!, 7 Nov 2010
By 
R. Max Totten (San Francisco, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
This "film" is trite and obnoxiously bad! The characters written here were so blatantly stereotypical that it was hard to get through to the end, but when I did I felt totally let down by what could have been a interesting topic to cover., it's a shame that the director didn't suggest to the three lead actors to do more role reversal in rehearsals to find a better way to portray any sense of dignity in being gay. The "softcore" sex scenes seemed to be added for effect and done with a typical flair for erotic screen time. Saved your money for films that gives back a sense of pride like the films "Beautiful Thing" and "My Beautiful Laundrette"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soccer punch of sex, violence and love - outstanding..., 13 Aug 2009
This review is from: Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
Shank [DVD]

A stunning debut from both the writers Darren Flaxstone and Christian Martin and the director Simon Pearce. This is no ordinary 'gay' film. This film marks the turning point for the coming out film - coming out is dead this ushers in and sets the benchmark for a new wave of genre busting gay films. It crosses out and it screams 'love me or hate me I don't care.....but this is reality whether you like it or not'. It is like a defiant teenager begging for acceptance from all who will see it.
Having followed the press reviews online from the film's website I caught this film at a preview screening in Bristol where it had sold out! Never seen queues around the block for a British Indie Flick that deals head on with contemporary issues in such honest and arresting terms.....pulling no punches the world of on-line sexual hook-ups grips you from the off before flooring you with the unexpected climax of a vicious headbutt. I loved that one reviewer said this was "Beautiful Thing on coke...." - I loved B.T. but it's timelessness has been eclipsed with SHANK.

The tightly woven narrative propels you through the lives of three unrelated characters all linked by sex, love and secrets so concealed that they bite both them and the audience in the backside when revealed.

Preconceptions are blasted out of the way with fast paced camera work and energetic editing and a thumping vibrant soundtrack balanced by classical flourishes from the composer which augment the emotion of certain scenes. The performances will engage you, shake you and leave you spent by the end of the film but ultimately you will take the hopeful ending offered up with a sense of relief but beware the world inhabited on screen is right outside your door so let this hope act as a band aid to staunch the open wound of homophobia that exists out there but also sleep easy knowing that love is always just around the corner.

The two love stories at this film's core left me feeling vulnerable at points, elated at other times and downright horny and craving for the tender lovemaking that plays out between Cal and Olivier in realistically graphic scenes.

SHANK is British film making re-addressing it's realist roots and placing Bristol gang culture, graffiti and all centre stage. With an outstanding cast of pulsating adolescent fervour this film is red-blooded through and through. It's nice to see the youtube generation exposed and captured in honest and revealing scenes that will make you blush, cry, cross your legs and hope to die...it's great....five deserved stars.....LOVED IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] (DVD)
Very down to earth and in many ways earthly brutal but encapsulates modern day trials and tribulations in growing up gay and struggling with not just sexuality but individual identity. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009]
Shank [DVD] [2008] [2009] by Simon Pearce (DVD - 2009)
6.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews