Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight Milwaukee Tomorrow The World !
Love him or hate him Rufus Wainwright is not easy to ignore.
I seem to have been a fan of one member of his talented family
or another for the best part of four decades.

With an ego as big as Manhattan it's somewhat surprising that
Milwaukee felt that it could contain him but here he is in
glorious technicolor. A peacock, a cookoo, a dandy...
Published on 7 Oct 2009 by The Wolf

versus
2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My first Rufus disappointment!
Rufus no longer continues to impress. The sound and the visual quality of this concert is way below what one could and should expect.
There is an extreme focus on sexual preferences rather than musical content in this production. For us who love Rufus in the platonic sense, this is quite irrelevant and tiresome to watch.
I look forward to your next release...
Published on 2 Oct 2009 by Dan Gunnarson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tonight Milwaukee Tomorrow The World !, 7 Oct 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Milwaukee At Last!!! (Audio CD)
Love him or hate him Rufus Wainwright is not easy to ignore.
I seem to have been a fan of one member of his talented family
or another for the best part of four decades.

With an ego as big as Manhattan it's somewhat surprising that
Milwaukee felt that it could contain him but here he is in
glorious technicolor. A peacock, a cookoo, a dandy and a chameleon.
All this and more. There are some who believe him to be the finest
songwriter of his generation. It is a persuasive view.

I have seen him live on three occasions over the past five
or so years thanks to a good friend's diligence in taking
note of his touring schedule. (I would miss much of what is
good in the world were it not for the kindness of others!)

Mr Wainwright is a consummate performer of his own and
(occasionally) others' material. Charming, funny, errudite
and prodigiously talented, he was born to be in the spotlight.

The material on this CD and DVD will be familiar to his fans
and devotees. The former is composed largely of songs from
his 2007 studio album 'Release The Stars' with a couple of
popular bonbons thrown in for good measure.
The band, augmented with a cracking brass section, plays
like a dream throughout. It's all good stuff but the real
treasure at the heart of this recording is the sublime
performance of 'Leaving For Paris No.2', easily one of
the most beautiful compositions in his repertoire.

The double-whammy of the touching 'Not Ready To Love', segueing
seamlessly into the upliftingly bitter mayhem of 'Sideshow', is
another terrific highlight in a five-star show.

'Nobody's Of The Hook' and the precious rendition of Noel Coward's
'If Love Were All' are just too lovely for words. Piano and voice,
nothing more, nothing less (but what a pianist and what a voice!!)

The DVD will be a treat for those unfamiliar with the Wainwright
experience. Both the Milwaukee show and the three extras from a
Montreaux Jazz Festival performance are a generous introduction.

The inclusion of the raucous '14th Street', 'I Don't Know What It Is',
and 'Pretty Things' (all favorites from his 2004 album 'Want One')
made an old Wolf very happy.

An unmissable package for anyone who cares about good music.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Rufus!, 6 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milwaukee At Last!!! (Audio CD)
This is why I love Rufus-funny,energetic,romantic,sexy,glamorous-this video has it all.I don't understand why should a true fan be annoyed with Rufus's public display of affection to his beloved.And not to mention absolutelly beautiful and engaging singing and camp entertaining.I can understand that Rufus in drags is not to everyone's liking but I think it is a perfect ending to a magical performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Qualified approval..., 2 Jan 2010
This review is from: Milwaukee At Last!!! (Audio CD)
Although I'm a devoted fan of Rufus's output up to and including "Release the Stars", I feel a certain sympathy with Dan Gunnarson (see his 1 star review). I never thought the word "naff" could apply to Rufus Wainwright, but the footage on the DVD of "Between My Legs" is just buttock-clenchingly awful - embarassing mayhem, as bad as anything you'd get in that legendary northern club Phoenix Nights!
And I wish he'd lay off the Judy stuff - while his voice is perfect for his own material, some of his attempts at her songs can smack of sheer hubris. I sometimes feel Rufus is getting what me old gran used to call "daft and giddy". But can't agree that there's much wrong with the sound on this DVD - as always, amazed that when Rufus sings live, his voice seems as strong and faultless as his studio work. And it is a fabulous, fabulous voice. The backstage footage is a joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Milwaukee At Last, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milwaukee At Last!!! (Audio CD)
I am pleased with this CD and DVD. Somewhat more jazzy feel to some of the performances on the DVD, which I enjoyed. Not too sure about the 'Between My Legs' part of the show though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars milwaukee at last dvd, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milwaukee At Last!!! (Audio CD)
what a bargain.advertised as used, it was in excellent condition,looked like new,also got a nice suprise as there was also a cd aswell i realy enjoyed the whole dvd every song brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Milwaukee At Last, 17 Mar 2013
By 
M. Jordan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milwaukee At Last!!! (Audio CD)
A great addition to any collection but only 4stars because it is of course material that you may already have on disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Milwaukee at Last (Audio CD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My first Rufus disappointment!, 2 Oct 2009
By 
Dan Gunnarson (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Milwaukee At Last!!! (Audio CD)
Rufus no longer continues to impress. The sound and the visual quality of this concert is way below what one could and should expect.
There is an extreme focus on sexual preferences rather than musical content in this production. For us who love Rufus in the platonic sense, this is quite irrelevant and tiresome to watch.
I look forward to your next release Rufus, which is hopefully produced with more attention to musical content and sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Milwaukee At Last!!!
Milwaukee At Last!!! by Rufus Wainwright (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews