Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most inventive, freshest, biggest dance record of 2009
Wow, this album is brilliant. Surf Solar kicks off and sets the standard for the rest of the album - almost 2 minutes of ethreal, spaced out bliss before a deep base drum comes in and is followed by a wall of melodic noise that doesn't hold up for the next hour. Rough Steez introduces aphex twin style tweaks and twiddles, and if you heard the base in a club it would hit...
Published on 24 Oct 2009 by Richard

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dream Baby Dream.....
Let's set the stall out - I am not and never have been a dance music fan. Indeed I think the two terms, in the last 10 years at least, are mutually exclusive. In just over a month's time, I will, in the immortal words of Mark E Smith, be "A 50 year old man-uh" so that might explain a lot!
A good mate of mine with whom I have much in common music taste wise, raved (no...
Published on 14 Nov 2009 by Roger the Dodger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the juvenile name put you off...., 22 Aug 2013
By 
P. J. Sharp "Hill Top Man" (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tarot Sport (Audio CD)
Elements of Eno (what hasn't though!)' boards of Canada, chemical brothers, mogwai - of course and many other uplifting electronic music. Surf solar actually reminds me of Mercury Rev, and there are bits of mike Oldfield in there too....Ommadawn.... Great on headphones, but maybe lacks the edge of Mogwai or Boards to justify the 5 stars. Worth a own lad though, and I am sure it is great on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sonically Superb, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Tarot Sport (Audio CD)
If you like Orbital or other euphoric dance noise you will love this. Track 2 blows my mind like a sonic steam engine with a bronchitis cough on an antibiotics high while track 3 is drum speedball heaven. Track 4 (Olympians?) should be made the official opening track for the 2012 Olympics - Bring it on - just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy smooth sounds that last for ever, 19 May 2010
By 
R. J. Skelly "meeeeeeeeeek" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tarot Sport (Audio CD)
If you can imagine underworld with out the singing set to a heavy ambiunt background then your half way there. Drink/smoke, turn of the lights, turn up the volume, sit back and enjoy the sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mood music for the ears, 24 April 2010
By 
Mr. David A. Hume (Bishopton,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tarot Sport (Audio CD)
I far prefer this to their first album which at time was like the Amazonian jungle.This album is a beautifully crafted set of tone poems and extremely relaxing.Undulating in long waves melodic electronica.A truely relaxing experience from beginning to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tarot Sport, 2 Mar 2010
This review is from: Tarot Sport (Audio CD)
"Street Horrrsing" was a great record, but Tarot Sport is a cut above. Perhaps surprisingly, it's also a welcoming album--alongside such gems as Towers of Asia's "Something Something", this is definitely a high point of 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dream Baby Dream....., 14 Nov 2009
This review is from: Tarot Sport (Audio CD)
Let's set the stall out - I am not and never have been a dance music fan. Indeed I think the two terms, in the last 10 years at least, are mutually exclusive. In just over a month's time, I will, in the immortal words of Mark E Smith, be "A 50 year old man-uh" so that might explain a lot!
A good mate of mine with whom I have much in common music taste wise, raved (no pun intended) about this album so much I just had to have a listen. You know what, if Alan Vega & Martin Rev of Suicide fame had been born 25 years later this is the music they would have been playing. All you young 'uns who have never heard of Suicide should check out You Tube and see where Tarot Sport come from.
The best word I can think of to sum up this album is intriguing - as a left field rock fan, I might even listen to it more than once. I'm sure you people who wave your hands in the air whilst in a chemically altered state will love it!
Giving this a rating is impossible for me as I have no parameters by which to judge it, but as Amazon insist it will have to be somewhere in the middle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Button To Button..., 8 Feb 2010
By 
Michael C. Hall (Perth, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tarot Sport (Audio CD)
I'm a firm believer that all timeless records have one elusive, yet key ingredient, that is a kind of pure form of intention. A motivation that is very clear but is also completely disregarding of everyone else. It's important to know that if there were no other albums made in 2009, then this album would still sound just the same and brilliantly the lads who made it would be oblivious to that fact. The cherry on that cake is that this album is the aural equivalent of having your hand nailed to a chair by a shoe but in a good way. A really good way. A way that you wouldn't change.

Honestly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarot Sport (Audio CD)
As with most of this kind of music, the basic elements are rhythmically and melodically simple to the point of banality, but the magic lies in how multiple layers of sound are superimposed, woven and morphed into each other to create a hypnotic complexity with an irresistible forward motion. A perfect gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't kid yoursefl that this is a noise album, 17 Jun 2010
By 
Joe 90 (nr Silbury) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarot Sport (Audio CD)
I really wanted to enjoy this album more than I did. Although I find individual moments on Tarot Sport pleasant enough, I wonder quite why the band gets so hyped as there is very little here that is genuinely innovative or challenging - for me the best moments are the shorter interludes which recall latter day Black Dice, but without that band's edginess. The longer tracks drag to around 10 minutes to make their point, but all they seem to do is layer new bits of distortion on top of the rudimentary major key keyboard figures and tribal drums. Nothing really happens - you end up at much the same point as you started only it's got louder and fuzzier. Having said all of this, the production is cool, and there are lovely bits, but If you are after noise with a tribal drive go and search out Yellow Swans (RIP)- the albums Psychic Seccession, Live at War Crimes or Drift all offer similar pulse but with far more interesting noises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarot Sport (Audio CD)
A good album to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tarot Sport
Tarot Sport by Fuck Buttons (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews