Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic collection of music with Scottish links
The title of this compilation is loosely interpreted, with many songs by Scottish artists augmented by other artists performing music with a Scottish theme. So you have Gerry Rafferty, a Scotsman, performing Baker Street, a song about a part of London, but you also have Paul McCartney, an Englishman, performing Mull of Kintyre, a song about a part of Scotland. Yet...
Published on 29 Mar 2009 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album
Top album, bought 2 for xmas presents and they love it.

Kev
Published on 19 Jan 2010 by Mr. K. Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic collection of music with Scottish links, 29 Mar 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The title of this compilation is loosely interpreted, with many songs by Scottish artists augmented by other artists performing music with a Scottish theme. So you have Gerry Rafferty, a Scotsman, performing Baker Street, a song about a part of London, but you also have Paul McCartney, an Englishman, performing Mull of Kintyre, a song about a part of Scotland. Yet somehow, both of those songs belong in a compilation of this nature. Furthermore, the tracks cover a time span of nearly a century, ranging from early 20th century music by Harry Lauder to contemporary artists such as KT Tunstall. Listeners may have more problems with the way the tracks have been sequenced, since all the styles are jumbled up. It might have been better if the traditional music had been separated from the contemporary music, but that's a minor quibble.

The selection of artists and tracks leaves plenty of room for debate, but I suspect that the selection was dictated at least in part by licensing restrictions. It appears from the credits (reinforced by the booklet notes proclaiming their rich heritage of Scottish music) that EMI made no attempt to license tracks from Sony/BMG or Universal, and judging by the quality of the music here, that would have been an unnecessary extra expense. Maybe those other labels will release their own compilations if they haven't already done so. So if your favorite Scottish artist isn't here, it may be that they never recorded for an EMI label, although my instinct tells me that maybe one or two big names who did have been omitted for whatever reason.

Forgetting about what might have been included but isn't, there is plenty of great music here. Apart from Baker Street and Mull of Kintyre, other famous oldies include Amazing grace (the bagpipe instrumental version by the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards), Darlin' (the Frankie Miller hit version - this song was originally written by the English country group Poacher and has also been recorded by Tom Jones as well as some American country singers including Barbara Mandrell), When I'm dead and gone (McGuiness Flint), Living in the past (Jethro Tull), If I was (Midge Ure) and January (Pilot).

More traditional Scottish fare is well represented. Appropriately for a compilation of Scottish music released to coincide with the 250th anniversary of the birth of Robert Burns, there's a version of his classic song My love is like a red red rose, here performed by Robert Wilson, as well as A man`s a man for a` that, here performed by The lone piper, plus a trilogy performed by Celtic Spirit and (of course) Auld lang syne, here performed by the Glasgow Phoenix Choir.

Those looking for songs with a Scottish theme will find plenty here including Loch Lomond, A Scottish soldier, Northern lights of Aberdeen, Road to the isles, Roamin' in the gloamin', I belong to Glasgow, Skye boat song, I love a lassie, Scotland the brave, Bonnie Dundee, Flower of Scotland, Bluebells of Scotland, Campbelltown loch and Caledonia.

Given the diverse range of material featured here, you may not like every track, but with a total of 101 tracks spread over five CD's, anybody with an interest in Scottish music should find plenty to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Variety, 27 Mar 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
EMI Presents The Great Big Scottish Songbook

This is a great CD if you want a varied selection of scottish songs from traditional to modern every taste is catered for. Great for New Year parties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scotland Rocks, 16 Feb 2010
By 
5 Discs off Scottish talent of various genre amount to a compilation with something for everyone from Runrig rockin Loch Lomond to The Lone Piper performing Highland Cathedral. "ITS FANTASTIC, by the way!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT SNAPSHOT OF SCOTLANDS MUSIC HERITAGE, 29 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a Scotsman who has now found himself having lived in England for half his life, i have become conscious of the need to maintain awareness of my roots. While i already had many of the tracks on vinyl and CD, this was too good an opportunity to miss having these tracks (and many previously not in my collection) gathered together in a single collection. My first thought was that i would skip the old tracks dating from the 30's and 40's. However when i actually listened to these tracks, something resonated within me. This is probably due to nostalgia, but for whatever reason they certainly do not detract from what is a BRILLIANT collection. These is enough variety within the piles of tracks to satisfy the majority of people intersted in music up until the late eighties. At the price i paid for it, not much more than three pounds, i consider this an ABSOLUTE STEAL and WELL WORTH A PURCHASE. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Big Scottish Songbook Box Set C.D, 29 July 2008
By 
Mr. J. Vick "J. Vick" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just Braught the Box Set C.D Of The Great Big Scottish Songbook C.D From Zavvi Music Shop in Leicester for £14.00. It is a really good C.D to listen to. It has got all the Scottish Songs that you know. It is a Mixture Of Scottish Pop Music and Some Trodittional Scottish Songs to sing along to.

It is Worth the Money.

If Some of you out there like Scottish Music. This is the One To Get. It is worth The Money.

From

Jeremy Vick.
1, Leicester Road,
Oadby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of everything, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EMI Presents 'The Great Big Scottish Songbook' (MP3 Download)
If you like scottish music from all eras, then this is for you. There were a few cheesy songs and stuff thats not really 'scottish', but loads of really good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars value for money big time., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EMI Presents 'The Great Big Scottish Songbook' (MP3 Download)
If you like the sounds of Scotland, this is for you. New and old, it's all there, and more., plus the sound of the pipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Listening, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album.
Good to listen to whilst driving because of the diversity of the content. Keeps the interest going.
Educational too there are a lot of artists on there that I didn't even know were Scottish....
Recommended as an addition to any collection for the variety alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Dec 2013
Bought for a Scotsman's Christmas present and I'm sure he'll love it, really well priced considering there are so many disks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection, 23 Jan 2013
By 
GerryBhoy1947 (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EMI Presents 'The Great Big Scottish Songbook' (MP3 Download)
Something for everyone. Old and new, recommend it highly.
Great collection for all tastes of Scottish music. Good value. Easy listen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews