Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over The Rainbow, 4 Oct 2009
By 
P. R. Storey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 1975-1984 (Audio CD)
This CD sounds superb,a lot better than the previous "Anthology" which i was dissapointed with because of the rather poor remastering.Its all here for you to enjoy the hits ,the great album tracks and some choice live cuts of which "All night long" live is superb.The sound quality really is excellant and certainly does not sound dated at all which i was a little worried about before i bought this CD.Its nicely presented with the different band line ups shown on the sleeve notes. A must have CD which will grace your collection and a reminder of how great rock n roll music can sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to get some tracks not previously on CD., 21 Sep 2009
By 
T. PAXTON "Crime thriller fan" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthology 1975-1984 (Audio CD)
Most of this set is material which will be familiar and readily available to Rainbow fans, but the gems of this anthology are two tracks recorded "live" featuring Joe Lynn Turner, and one with Graham Bonnet.

The JLT era tracks were previously available on the b-side of the 12" single Can't Let You Go, and were apparently recorded live, however a distinct polish and tightness to the tracks, plus complete absence of audience noise suggests they may be from a soundcheck. Nonetheless they are superb renditions of firstly Stranded, then All Night Long, the latter a good blend of a faster and more aggressive sounding track than the Down to Earth studio version, but with the smoother vocals of JLT. Ritchie's guitar tone is especially good on these tracks.

The Graham Bonnet track is Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow, from his (and Cozy's) last live outing with Rainbow at the inaugural Monsters of Rock in 1980. Just as Ritchie cranks up a rather crackly guitar and the whole band pitch in for the second verse, GB blasts into a lung tearing high E in full voice - "one louder" and higher than his trademark top D which features in many tracks from his career - quite a feat given this was the second last song of a lengthy set.

It's a pity this represents only the 4th track from that set to be officially released, and only 3 of which are out on CD (Stargazer is only available on the vinyl Monsters of Rock compilation album). Hopefully some day the whole set will become available, coupled with (we can only hope) a full version of the gig on film to compensate for the poorly edited 30 minute BBC Rock Week special which aired at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow rules!, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 1975-1984 (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic, even my 9 and 11 year olds love listening to "lost in hollywood" at full blast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iridescent, 21 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 1975-1984 (Audio CD)
This is a tale of 3 Rainbows, covering a musical spectrum to suit most rock fans tastes. The genius of Ritchie Blackmore shines throughout, having been frustrated in the funkadelic dying embers of Deep Purple, he really lets his creative juices flow from start to finish. And nowhere better will you find the domineering power of Cozy Powell behind the sticks.
The first CD covers my favourite period (5/5), the Ronnie James Dio era. This era covers Rainbow's best work, it really doesn't get much better than this for a heavy rock fan. Dio's voice is strong, powerful yet warm and mellow, illustrated best on Temple of the King. Stargazer, taken from one of classic rock's all time killer albums shines like a diamond, and Blackmore's eastern influenced guitar riff's are exemplified on Gates of Babylon. My only moan is the inclusion of the live material. One of my all time favourites is Catch the Rainbow, but here we are given an inferior live version from that on Rainbow's first album.
The second CD covers the more commercial side to Rainbow, with singers Graham Bonnet and Joe Lynn Turner. This is the Rainbow most people will recognise, displaying their lighter colours. Bonnet lets rip with Eyes of the World and Lost in Hollywood, but its Since You've been Gone which poptastically gave Rainbow a top 10 too many years ago to mention. Makin' Love should be here but is overlooked. Turner's era is less impressive but still has some noteworthy songs, especially Blackmore's version of the Snowman, which should keep the kids interested. Again, Rainbow scored a chart success with I Surrender, but their lesser known and better single Can't Happen Here is not included. Record companies, please pack in the live stuff on these compilations, unless it's Frampton or UFO!
If you want a good overview of Rainbow's talents, then this should suffice without buying the whole catalogue.
Long live rock'n'roll - oh no, it can't happen here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pots of Gold!!, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Anthology 1975-1984 (Audio CD)
This comprehensive compiliation, including Live tracks, arrived promptly, and was superb value. It captures the quintessence of Rainbow over the course of 28 tracks, and is a must for any rock fan of the mid seventies-mid eighties period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgia, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Anthology 1975-1984 (Audio CD)
Having grown up listening to this on my dads LPs I am happy to say that this really stands the test of time, great tunes, great tracks, great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie James Dio, 30 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 1975-1984 (Audio CD)
I debated as to whether I should give this five stars or not. The reason for that is that Disc One is but Disc Two sadly is not. Rainbow after Ronnie James Dio was just not Rainbow. Yes they were great live, but their new material wasn't. The only track from Disc Two worth mentioning is Eyes of the World which does have that trademark Rainbow style of the Dio period. The leaving of Ronnie James Dio was definitely Rainbow's loss, but Black Sabbath's gain.

The great Rainbow tracks are all here on Disc One - Man on the Silver Mountain, Sixteenth Century Greensleeves, Kill the King, A Light in the Black and the monumental Stargazer, surely one of the greatest rock tracks ever.

In the end I have given the album, based on Disc One, five stars as a mark of respect for Ronnie James Dio - sadly gone, but will never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 24 May 2014
By 
Fireball 61 (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology (MP3 Download)
In the annals of classic rock superlatives are often dished out easily but in this instance superb sums up this collection that just shows how brilliant RB was and what a benchmark he set. Maybe difficuilt to work with but all geniuses are and this collection bears that out in spades. A true rock Icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just what it says on the Box, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 1975-1984 (Audio CD)
It's exactly what I expected from Rainbow and Mr Richie Blackmore . All the very best on one CD . Great tunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anthology indeed, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology 1975-1984 (Audio CD)
This is another peace of gold in my highly valuable collection of Ritchie Blackmore and his Rainbow days. I sincerely hope Blackmore will reform Rainbow a last time as I simply can't get enough of his unique musical talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthology
Anthology by Rainbow
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews