Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gospel According to Saint Paddy
As a massive, long-term Prefab Sprout fan I bought this on the day it was released. I played it a dozen times before shelving it for a few months, allowing the melodies to slowly percolate in my brain, prior to forming a judgement on where it sits amidst the Sprout's body of work.

I've played it again twice today and, as I suspected it would, it's grown in...
Published on 2 Jan. 2010 by G. J. Oxley

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Four things missing...
It's great to get a new LP from Prefab Sprout. It's even better to get one that is better than 'The Gunman' but it's not really a Prefab LP - it's a set of well produced Paddy McAloon demoes. Or at least, it might as well be.

Paddy's brilliant solo LP 'I Trawl The Megahertz' was one of the musical highlights of the past decade; strange, affecting and...
Published on 22 Sept. 2009 by T. Hooper


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utter brilliance, 21 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Change The World With Music (Audio CD)
Like several others who have posted reviews, this is a record I can't stop thinking about or listening to. Superlative stuff from Mr McAloon, I so look forward to the next record. Come on Kitchenware Records, 4 years between releases is a long time in pop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional!, 29 Dec. 2009
By 
R. Distefano (NYC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let's Change The World With Music (Audio CD)
Although I would enjoy this that much more if Paddy hadn't reached for the obvious jesus claptrap, I can't say enough good things about this record. I hope it's the first of many escapees from the vault of unreleased Prefab work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Change The World With Music (Audio CD)
Perfect in every sense. Only one little drawback. It didn't arrive with the plastic wrapping around the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Change The World With Music (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 6 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Let's Change The World With Music (Audio CD)
I'm very surprised by the good reviews people are leaving on here. I'm a big (huge) Prefab Sprout fan but I found this album incredibly disappointing.

On reading the sleeve notes I discovered that none of the original members were playing on the album and that Paddy had decided to use his original computer demos as the basis of the album. At the risk of sounding harsh, I could hear that in the end result. The music just sounds too computer generated, it lacks that organic quality of real people playing and the life and spirit which that brings to the end result. Its the quality I soo loved about the early Albums. Some genres of music lend themself to being created only on the computer, but Paddy's songs do not.

Also disappointing is that Paddy produced the album himself - I think it could have done with some input from a 3rd party - perhaps another person would have managed to persuade Paddy to use real musicians (session players if the original line-up were not available).

The formula for previous albums is, PADDY'S GREAT SONGS + GREAT BAND (MUSICIANS) + GREAT PRODUCER = FANTASTIC ALBUM.

The songs on the album are ok - but without the other components to breath life and colour into them they never reach their full potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of fresh air, 18 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Let's Change The World With Music (Audio CD)
Its nice to have some real music again, this cd is timeless and is such a welcome treat. I hope there is plenty more to come from the fabuous Prefab Sprout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music, shame about the bible-bashing, 26 Nov. 2009
By 
BigLankyGeordie "BLG." (Geordieland, near England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let's Change The World With Music (Audio CD)
Prefab Sprout were masters of dreamy, euphoric pop that could always be relied upon to give you a sugar high. This is still great music but the god-bothering, happy-clappy religious nonsense in the lyrics are just a downer and I would rather not have it. A sad demise for one of the Geordie Nation's finest song-writing talents? Not really. Despite the religious claptrap, this is still wonderful, uplifting and dare I say it, just really great music. God bless my doubting-Thomas, Marxist soul! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Latest Prefab, 28 Oct. 2009
By 
Neil Mason - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let's Change The World With Music (Audio CD)
I have recently bought the new Prefab Sprout CD Let's change the music. Having been a big fan I was expecting the album to be like their 80's music. I was very disappointed with this new offering. Apart from a few tracks,I think Paddy must have found God as every song has some memtion of religon. It will not get played as often as I would have like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much openly "God praising" oriented, 8 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Let's Change The World With Music (Audio CD)
As a long time fan of Prefab Sprout, i was impatient to listen to Paddy's last album. But i've been a little disappointed, because expecting too much perhaps... And something else definitely. The album lacks the usual lavishness of entangled multiple melodies, it sounds less creative and complex than his former works, except for a few of the songs. It is definitely a bit too much religious oriented, which doesn't mean that it benefits from some kind of divine inspiration, as it was the case in his former albums. In the contrary, it makes the whole work too much oriented and boring, even though expressing his - formerly not overtly talked about - religious feelings may have been for Paddy an important thing at a personal level... Indeed, Gospels may have been be what Paddy Mc Aloon needed to hear at the time he wrote "Let's change the world with music".
But for a work directed to the "general listeners", that's a bit too much of a pushing gospel, heared again and again in thick layers and in every song. as if the listener couldn't understand well and needed a further dose of "Jesus ahkbar" to get the message. I'd rather give one of his older albums to listen to friends in a casual relaxed evening context.

A few of the songs anyway are to be crowned and sound like "pure Prefab Sprout. But i read that his lyrics were written and recorded many years ago.. Then the album is not new.. I'd like then to hear what Paddy would create now in 2009.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - not a come back, 7 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Change The World With Music (Audio CD)
I loved 'Jordan the Come Back', and this album was billed as the forgotten sequel, but its not really in the same league. It has some of the same riffs and tones as 'Jordan', but Paddy McAloon seems to be on his own here. Where is the great production and supporting voices I expect from Prefab Sprout?

I also found the religious theme of many of the songs irritating. Is Paddy being ironic?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let's Change The World With Music
Let's Change The World With Music by Prefab Sprout (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews