Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


228 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the full three DVD set of season one and the 2009 Xmas specials
Despite Amazon originally stating that this is a one DVD set, don't worry this is the complete original series of Cranford [from 2008, 2 DVDs, 295 minutes], plus the recently aired heart-warming Xmas 2009 special: Return to Cranford [1 DVD: 180 minutes], i.e. the complete three DVD 'Cranford' set. The extras included are: 'The making of Cranford' and 'The making of...
Published on 28 Dec. 2009 by Charlie-CJ

versus
25 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please stop this practice
Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD]

I was disappointed to hear that a gift to a friend bought from Amazon contained duplicated material. I bought "The Cranford Collection Box Set" and "Return to Cranford", believing them to be quite different DVDs as they are recommended by you as being "frequently bought together". To hear that the second one is already...
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by Brian Leitch


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

228 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the full three DVD set of season one and the 2009 Xmas specials, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
Charlie-CJ (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Despite Amazon originally stating that this is a one DVD set, don't worry this is the complete original series of Cranford [from 2008, 2 DVDs, 295 minutes], plus the recently aired heart-warming Xmas 2009 special: Return to Cranford [1 DVD: 180 minutes], i.e. the complete three DVD 'Cranford' set. The extras included are: 'The making of Cranford' and 'The making of Cranford Special'. The DVD is 16:9 widescreen, language is English audio only with English subtitles for the hard-of hearing, age rated 12+ and UK PAL [regions 2+4] only.

Loosely based on three of Elizabeth Gaskell's novels, this comic TV drama series is about 'ordinary human lives during two extraordinary years', and the story centres around an influential group of elderly and rather old fashioned matriarchs, led by Miss Matty [Judi Dench] and Miss Pole [Imelda Staunton]. It's the early 1840s, and the townsfolk are divided on whether the railway should come to Cranford, as everyone knows it will totally transform their small Cheshire town. OK, I rather suspect 19th century small town English life was rarely as idyllic as portrayed, and the grinding poverty and cruelty is glossed over rather [granted in a manner similar to most contemporary Victorian literature], but it's all presented in such a fantastically evocative and beautiful fashion that it's a joy to watch. The BBC clearly still rules the roost when it comes to period drama. And this 'Cranford' series is the equal of the sympathetic 'Larkrise to Candleford', and that's saying something.... 6*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bargain!!, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
B. Pearson (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
A fabulous buy...the whole, complete Cranford, includes the recent Christmas specials.
On a cold miserable evening sit by your fire,pour yourself a favourite tipple and join
the ladies..and gentlemen... of Cranford, in times gone by. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great DVD, 24 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
There is nothing to fault with this dvd. Not only does it contain the original BAFTA winning Cranford tv series, but also the two part christmas special.

Cranford, a small town in Cheshire is more or less run by the womenfolk, or the 'Amazons' as they are affectionately called. As we follow them through all these episodes, we see death, new arrivals, the encroachment of the railway, and them trying to exist in the genteel manner that they are accustomed to. With great acting throughout, and a cast who represent some of the cream of British acting there is a lot to keep you more than absorbed here. The detail applied to the costumes and scenery is top notch, indeed what you would expect from the BBC. So I have been reliably informed this was filmed in the picturesque village of Lacock, Wiltshire.

It is so satisfying to see Elizabeth Gaskell's comedy classic brought to life with some inspiring script writing. This is defintely a dvd that you will want to treasure and watch countless times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy, 14 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a pure uplifting,crying,laugh out load souce of joy.Fantastic cast,wonderfully set,Im only sorry it ends all too soon.A most enriching purches good for 10 year olds to olds alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bargain, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is really a bargain. The complete series "Cranford" and "Return to Cranford" for this price! Cranford is just the right mixture of amusing and sad events. Many different characters are beautifulliy discribed. I couldn't wait to see, how the story would go on for each person of the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cranford in full, 28 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD set for Cranford and Return to Cranford series has the tales taking place in a small Cheshire town `Cranford', and adapted from the three novels by Elizabeth Gaskell. It is brilliantly written, directed, and produced. You can find many little details about mid 19th century that you can not see anywhere. I think it is a must-have for those who love period drama and Elizabeth Gaskell. It is also about beautiful friendship. The costumes, make-up and acting are all superior. Music is delightful and of course by Carl Davis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fabulous..., 1 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I had never actually viewed any episode of Cranford when I purchased this set - but with such a stellar cast and set in my favourite era I figured it's a fairly safe bet... I could not be happier with my purchase! This series is amazing and I was hooked within the first 10 minutes of the first episode. For any fan of the era or Jane Austen, this is a must buy - I only wished that there was more of it! Several of the key actors have an established reputation for their period acting with various of them already included in previous versions of Pride and Prejudice and Sense & Sensibility - and the combination of talent in this series combined with an amazing director just does credit to everyone involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 25 Jan. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I love this kind of movie. It's a place and time where the innocence and the pure values are recognized. I wish I've lived there. The characters are strongly built and all the women are remarcable. Sorry for my english.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 6 Feb. 2011
By 
S. Lawson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this DVD. The cast are fantastic and the story lines are just wonderful. Fully recommend to anyone who enjoys this sort of entertainment. Having the DVDs as a collection is definitely a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic..... loved every single second of it !!!, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
Conchie (Dublin, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this box set on a whim... had never seen it... had a vague notion I had heard someone say it was good... and needed to use up gift vouchers. Well.... i was engrossed from start to finish. What a fantastic series.... ranks up there with the marvellous Pride and Predjudice as one of the best ever period pieces. Judi Dench is just amazing as Miss Matty, with Imelda Staunton's Miss Pole right up there with her. The cast in this production is a who's who of the very best in British acting and it shows. I laughed.... I cried (many times !!!) and just savoured every second of the goings on in Cranford. If one thing mystified me, it was the complete absence of either of the two doctors by the time the Christmas special came around. It didn't make sense to me at all that both had vanished, and even if the original actors were not available, surely another doctor could have been created. One tiny details among a sea of pure delight. Heartily recommend this wonderful wonderful series to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD]
Cranford Collection Box Set [DVD] by Simon Curtis (DVD - 2009)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews