Customer Reviews


211 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Documentary monument
There aren't superlative's enough to describe this achievement. But it is not only phenomenal but also intimate, rich in detail, storylines well constructed, and captivating. And for those reasons, to be quite honest, I found it to be even better than "Earth".
To stories told offer an unique insight and often are the first of it's kind - ever.

And then Sir...
Published on 29 Sep 2010 by Oliver Wolter

versus
41 of 50 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, but lacking in substance
On the plus side, there is, as usual from the BBC Natural History Unit, some great photography here which makes the series a joy to watch. However, I feel "Life", and indeed other recent series such as Planet Earth : Complete BBC Series (5 Disc Box Set) [2006] [DVD], are let down by a number of points.

The most important of these is that the recent series often...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by WJE Hoppitt


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Documentary monument, 29 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Life [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
There aren't superlative's enough to describe this achievement. But it is not only phenomenal but also intimate, rich in detail, storylines well constructed, and captivating. And for those reasons, to be quite honest, I found it to be even better than "Earth".
To stories told offer an unique insight and often are the first of it's kind - ever.

And then Sir David Attenborough - ahh. What can you say, he is simply the best. He explains what is necessary, he pauses when to take in the scenery, he has a good humour, and most importantly for me, he is "Genuine".

The only thing that disappointed me a little, is that I don't believe the description of the blu-ray to be true. It states to be 1080p, I found it to be 1080i. Nothing to worry about, the picture quality is spectecular. Still one might wonder if it is a typo or a deliberate mistake. An otherwise such brilliant monument in documentary deserves better than that.

It has 10 different episodes of about 50min:
1. "Challenges of Life"
2. "Reptiles and Amphibians"
3. "Mammals"
4. "Fish"
5. "Birds"
6. "Insects"
7. "Hunters and Hunted"
8. "Creatures of the Deep"
9. "Plants"
10. "Primates"
And each episode is tailed by a short "Making of". This is not some information on the side but something which adds tremendous value. (By the way, "Earth" blu-ray hasn't got the "Making of" - only the DVD version.) For example the additional images given in the production of the Komodo Dragons was just breathtaking. The attacking Komodo Dragon scene couldn't be presented in the Episode because it was chasing by a cameraman. The hazzle and emotion of the team gave a better understanding of the whole story.

So here it is:
One of THE BEST DOCUMENTARY there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Inhabitants of the world beyond the world we think we own, 29 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
After Planet Earth became a legendary hit on home cinema for certain sequences on full HD, there were high expectations placed on any HD follow up releases. Life doesn't disappoint in this respect. 4 Years in the making, this Latest series is a bewildering showcase of the reclusive types of life we find on the planet and technology used to capture it.

As opposed to being a purely educational lesson on the variety of species and their relations with each other and their environment, it is the weird and wonderful species that get the film time. This is a good thing due to the rarity of some of the obtained footage. The skill that has been required by the team to capture these moments is immense, probably not replicable by all other wildlife documentary makers due to time and budget constraints.

Episodes are 50 minutes long followed by a ten minute insight into their efforts at the end illustrating the techniques used to film a single scene in an episode. Each episode covers a separate animal group, with some episodes covering broader issues such as hunters and prey and general challenges faced by some life. These broader episodes do often have repeated footage, eg some penguin sequences are shared between the `challenges of life' episode and the `birds' episode. As I watched these all in quick succession, I found some parts repetitive, but watching some of the more stunning sequences for a second time was still welcomed.

Particular highlights were seeing the primates at work and using tools, which deeply illustrated our genetic proximity to them. (It made me wonder at times if I could actually find an example of a primate making more intelligent use of its environment and each other than a human). I generally appreciated the sequences that depict a species clever use of environment or body parts that hints towards higher intelligence than we would normally attribute to the other members of the animal kingdom, and there were plenty of these occasions to behold. The marine episode also captured some striking sequences and the butterflies collecting in huge numbers on the insects episode was stunning.

The HD picture quality is more evident in some places than others, though generally id say its excellent overall and still definitely more consistent than Planet Earth was. As the filming takes place in the real world with real lighting and positioning constraints, not all images are going to be as fantastic as the next. The underwater sequences showed a mix, where some of the coral and organisms looked wonderfully sharp and illuminated, but other shots could look murky due to the impurities in the water. I would say every episode captures at some point a jaw-dropping sequence that gives you the full justification for why you bought your Bluray player. In many cases it really had to be appreciated how some things so small such as ants could be captured in sufficient detail to fit a full 1080p image with no focus issues.

This series seemed designed to bring images to shock people, as they would come to realise that such weird organisms exist in reality and not just in CGI movie sequences. Of the seemingly almost infinite variety of species on the planet, only a tiny fraction is represented here, that leaves me wanting another series to continue the showcase. No doubt Attenborough and team will oblige.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


190 of 205 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir David Attenborough- The BBCs greatest asset, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Life [DVD] (DVD)
I sometimes despair of the BBC under current management with there huge salaries and 70p car parking claims! That said I can forgive Mark Thompson almost anything when it comes to squeezing every last drop of wisdom and learning from one of the greatest Britons of this century Sir David Attenborough. The words "national treasure" is overused but what we are witnessing is the development of the most remarkable "database" of natural history which will last through the ages but which also comes with a serious warning about our impact on the climate. Sir David and his partners the brilliant BBC natural history unit based at Bristol have generated one of the great bodies of research work of the past hundred years and a miraculous advert for intelligent television and quality programming.

You also sometime recoil when you consider what a wasted medium television has become. Bruce Springsteen once sung of "57 channels and nothing on" and surf that remote on any day and you sometimes long for the days of 4 firecely competitive channels who had to major on quality and not the lowest denominator. Quite how we have managed to debase the genre in this way is worrying and astounding. Yet before we lose faith there is always oasis of quality and in the case of Attenborough's programmes the standard never dips.

In this current programme "Life" there is so many highlights it is difficult to single them out. But one thinks of the filming of the tense and pitiful portrayal of the first footage of komodo dragons hunting a water buffalo and stalking the animal for weeks as the poison they have injected through bites disable the creature. The tricks of Dolphins to catch mullets by stirring up ocean mud and the killer whales coming to shore to catch seals are equally memorable. Although the stars series are the three Kenyan cheetahs.

Another review on this page suggests that "Life" has a quality of De ja vu and has been done better in the series "Blue Planet" or "Planet Earth". A churlish argument in my view since much of Attenborough's work is complimentary and while I accept that the two aforementioned series are magisterial, "Life" stands in its own right as a thrilling addition to his oeuvre. This is the only programme that my children will actively leave various X Boxes and Play stations to sit down and watch. They will also not complain if it clashes with some celebrity nonsense or trivia on another channel. Attenborough's programmes challenge, stimulate, provoke and most importantly make you think. They are also populist, intelligent, hugely watchable and thus viewed by millions across the the world. He has done broadcasting a massive service and we all owe him the most profound debt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nature In All Her Glory!, 1 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Life [DVD] (DVD)
I am watching the series each week & bought the dvd the day it was released. There are so many wonderful scenes it's all but impossible to pick out just one. But if I had to choose a favourite, it would have to be those young meerkats falling asleep standing up.

'Life' is filled with such gems, those clever dolphins, that selfless octopus, the stalk-eyed flies, the elephant family, that incredibly cute little shrew, that young ibex outwitting a predator it's never seen before, the cheetahs working together to bring down an ostritch, etc, etc, etc,.

This is definately one for the dvd shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful life, 8 Feb 2011
This review is from: Life [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD set is so wonderful,I bought it as a present and my boyfriend loves it we have watched it time and time again, alittle piece of the world .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing use of technology, 18 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life [DVD] (DVD)
Planet Earth got me hooked with just its first few frames. beautifully shot, it was a truly seminal work of art and a milestone in natural history filmmaking. i remember sitting there in front of the TV, with my jaw down on the floor.

Life is close to Planet Earth's perfection, although somehow it lacks a small degree of the excitement and wonder that Planet Earth managed to capture. still, it is awe-inspiring to see what modern technology can do for natural history filmmaking. amazing shots, impossible angles -- most incredible are the shots that take us flying among the butterflies in a forest. the camera literally floats along with the beautiful insects. later the making-of featurette that follows every episode explains how they did it. there are many more mind-boggling shots that get you wondering just how the heck they managed to do it. the technology allows the filmmakers to really immerse us in the natural world, and we don't just feel like a mere spectator sitting in our living rooms watching life as it happens, but we are really made to feel we were right there.

i've since gone back to the other older BBC series, and can see just how much different the technology was back then. the amazing resolution of the pictures, the camerawork, etc are now in this day and age so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must have for all blu ray owners!, 30 Dec 2011
By 
M. Kearney (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The quality of this blu ray is absolutely outstanding!

The quality of the series itself is beyond question - the vast array of animals covered, and with it their obscure behaviours that we couldn't have imagined, makes this series so good. There is a vast amount of detail in every episode, all presented in David Attenborough's inimitable style.

The quality of the blu ray presentation itself is a benchmark by which others should be judged; whether it is the vibrant, rich colours of the rainforest's chameleons, the detail on the eyeballs of a preying mantis, or a shot of the Antarctic in all of its glory - every scene looks remarkable.

The sound is also outstanding, particularly on surround sound. When there is an underwater shot of fish or whales, every bubble and splash can be heard. When a lizard bites into an insect there is a distinctive, sickening crunch. And when a tarantula is moving in on it's prey, the bristling of the hairs on its legs can be heard clearly. All the while, bird songs and various other wildlife noises can be heard clearly on the other speakers.

All in all, this is the best nature documentary I have ever watched, and the best blu ray I have ever experienced. Buy this now and you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Life [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a fantastic documentary(-series). The photo and David Attenborough narration absolute top notch and the "on location"-extras are very interesting. There are some flaws in the video encoding here ant there and there is some overlap with the Planet Earth series, but these are minor points. If only all documentaries where this well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for quality AND content., 30 Nov 2010
By 
R. J. Binks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you watched 'Life' on TV and are wondering right away if it's worth splashing out the extra money on the blu-ray, then absolutely yes. The cameras they filmed this series on are beasts and HD really does them justice, i still am flabbergasted by some shots, both at the quality and how they GOT them.

If however you're looking for something to flesh out your blu-ray collection and haven't yet seen life, then you're in for the biggest treat of all. Learning about animals is only one part of the appeal of the series. Theres education, Visual Treats, and convincing drama. This is possible because of the superb editing and voice over, they build up characters for the animals and you begin to really be interested in their storys, even if they are only 5 minutes or so each. Right now i'm watching a new episode and am typing without looking at the screen for the most-part to see if this little animal will escape, it's that good.

As an added bonus, the 'On location' segments at the end of every episode are mini-docs following the crew themselves as they attempt to get the amazing footage you've been sitting in awe at. These sections are filmed in a mix of HD and SD, but it really doesn't effect what is an appealing extra for me as a student filming docs myself. The one following the crew trying to film komodo dragons was especially good.

Overall, 100% reccomended, i'm only 1 disk of 4 in, and i already feel i've got my monies worth.

Rory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life [Blu-ray] [2009], 14 Jan 2010
By 
Michael (Penrith, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Arrived promptly. Great value, a real collectors item. A must have for scientists and nature lovers. Also great photography and an incalculable number of man days per episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Life [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by David Attenborough (Blu-ray - 2009)
£12.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews