Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
31
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2010
This DVD seems to have got some bad reviews.
Personally I don't see why. If you were lucky enough to see this show live then I would highly recommend buying it as there's plenty of bits i'd forgotten about.
If you didn't see the show then would still recommend it as it's more classic Coogan.
The show doesn't tske itself too seriously & comes across as a light hearted almost theatrical overview of his much loved characters.
I thouroughly enjoyed it & it brought back memories of the live show :-)
Yes there is nothing technically new in this show but well worth a purchase especially when it's on special offer.
I think other reviewers have been over critical. It's fun, light hearted & will make ya laugh. Especially his little song at the end....(you know the one) Nice one Mr Coogan keep up the good work :-)
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2010
Despite the very negative reviews that this show has recieved, I honestly believe that this show is just as good as The Man who Thinks he's It. Pauline perhaps overdoes the innuendoes, but her entrance is brilliant. Tommy Saxondale transfers well, although he is understandably different from how he appears on television. Duncan Thickett has developed a darker (to say the least!) personality to the bumbling stand-up comic we used to know, but it just makes the character funnier. Paul Calf is equally as funny as he used to be, there isn't much more I can say about the character. As mentioned by practically everyone else, Alan Partridge is the star of the show. His entrance, a medley of Queen songs, is very funny, as is his "sensitive" interview with a rape victim, and then his hilarious play about the life of Sir Thomas More.
Perhaps the funniest moment, however, is the final section of the show in which he plays himself, and finishes with a rather naughty song. Overall, it is hugely entertaining, and I believe it is a brilliant show.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
Went to see this tour at NIA. Im a big coogan fan and Partridge fan. After laughing so hard at Duncan Thickett and Steve Oram (on between acts with some real crazy stuff) plus Tommy Saxondale and Paul Calf i expected Partridge to be his usual self.

which he was. Great during all the chat and fumbling around with technology, but what was the Henry VIII bit all about, nearly sent me to sleep. Luckily the song at the end saved the day.

The show itself was a great night out, with a year to wait until the DVD my expectations were high of the DVD actually capturing the night.

On to the DVD. Where is Steve Oram ????? Wheres the brillinat last song(oh it gets a snip in the extras but wheres the intro with the copper ? ).

Instead we get some editors clinically cut personal choice of specific acts. Come on Coogan, release the full show with the Steve Oram bits.

My conclusion.... next time he's about go and see 'the show', but forget telling your mates about half of the best bits before the DVD comes out. Because an hour of the 'show' wont be on the disc.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
Alan Partridge is a character that never fails to disappoint, sadly this is his lowest point!
This tour smacks of a cash in rather a show lovingly written with attention to detail!
It's funny enough, but the poor relation to Live N Lewd and The Man Who Thinks He's It which were both much better, and both had the bonus of between performance cameos from John Thomson and Simon Pegg!
This third installment really does reveal the lazy format which Paul and Pauline Calf's sketches are written within and you feel you've heard it all before! Overall it's watchable but nit great
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
5 stars alone for pauline calf reading extracts from her book "she shat herself"! Tommy Saxondale is a tiresome character, doesn't work live at all. Duncan Thicket is one of my favs but too short in this show. Alan is good, but Alan is always good. Overall (so called) sub-standard Coogan is miles better than the rest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Very funny performance of one his tours where Coogan plays a group of characters, then returns in the second half for a presentation by Alan Partridge (sponsored by whiskers) where we once again re-live the JFK assasination when Partridge's hand-mouse begins to malfunction - live onstage.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
Very poor cobbled together effort. There is absolutely no irony in the title. It is mostly made up of the less successful characters. The Alan Partridge segments only just manage to save this from being binned.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
I'm an Alan Partridge fan first and foremost - he is the greatest British comedy character of all time, however Coogan has also blessed us with other pieces of comedy gold with Saxondale, the Calf's and even Duncan Thickett's bad comedy routine.

So, having waited too long to see Coogan live once again (The Man Who Thinks He's It was genius) I went to see this show in Glasgow.

To say I was disappointed is an understatement. The first half of the show (ie the non Partridge characters) is simply not funny. Too much of it was formulaic and predictable and has been done better in the previous live show.

Paul Calf is maybe the most disappointing of the older characters, and it's safe to say that Tommy Saxondale won't be appearing on stage again anytime soon. Very poor indeed.

Having said that, most folks (myself included) were there for Partridge, which is slightly better. Once again however, this has been done before and much better on the Man Who Thinks He's It show. Of course there are a few funny moments (brought to you by Whiskas) but overall, a real disappointment, both on the night and also sitting watching again on this dvd.

I bought this as a Partridge completist, however if I was a new fan of Coogans, I would fail to see what all the fuss is about. And to be honest, I'll never watch this in full again.

Come on Steve, surely it's time now for the long mooted Alan Partridge movie?

Back of the net!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
I saw this show when the tour came to Bristol. I am predominantly a Partridge fan but also enjoy Saxondale plus Coogans Run as well as I'm Not An Animal. His performance in 24 Hour Party People is also very good.

It is difficult to describe with this show just how far, poles apart, the good bits are (Partridge) against the bad (i.e. the rest including Tommy Saxondale). Also the last song is nothing other than poor taste and down right insulting. With hindsight I would have stayed in the bar until the Partridge bit and left the building at the first chords of the last song.

However, for any Partridge fan, I think it's still worth paying the price for this DVD as this bit is brilliant. I fully appreciate the frustrations Steve Coogan must have with playing such a renowned and loved character and, in the main, that is what his audience wants to see. It's his meal ticket. It would be like going to see the Rolling Stones and them not playing Brown Sugar.

Thankfully, the Partridge part of the gig shows there's plenty more life in this character yet. And to paraphrase the man himself - GIVE US ANOTHER SERIES YER $*%T!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2009
As a huge Steve Coogan fan, noone was more disappointed than me with this last show. It was towards the end of the tour when I saw him, dispelling the myth that it got better as the tour went on. It's quite easy to sum the show up: 1st half was just plain boring, I ended up clock-watching for the interval- my friend left to get a drink to miss the queues. The 2nd half was better but only because of Alan, and even this was not the best..

My advice would be to buy "The Man Who Thinks He's It", his tour from the late 90s. This is one of the funniest shows I've ever seen. Absolutely brilliant. Coogan at his best.
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)