Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a Top Gear DVD! Simples!
I have to totally disagree with the negative review.

This DVD is a nice extension to the Top Gear series.

Yes, there is no Clarkson or May but Hammond leads the charge superbly.

There are some fantastic stunts, beautiful cars and the whole thing is pinned down by classic Top Gear humour.

If you like the show, then you¹ll like...
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by J_Caine

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, a dud
I love Top Gear and think Richard Hammond is an excellent presenter. However the script and stunts on this DVD are way below the standard of the Top Gear series.
One exception being the driving through brick wall in slow motion which is fascinating. The description on the DVD is Top Gear Uncovered -- a look behind the scenes. There was none of that. The DVD is...
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by DigitalAuthor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, a dud, 1 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special (DVD)
I love Top Gear and think Richard Hammond is an excellent presenter. However the script and stunts on this DVD are way below the standard of the Top Gear series.
One exception being the driving through brick wall in slow motion which is fascinating. The description on the DVD is Top Gear Uncovered -- a look behind the scenes. There was none of that. The DVD is intended as a joke, a sort of weak parody of TG. But sadly it does not pull it off. It is mainly just silly, and the attempted humour is very repetitive and obvious, and aimed at schoolboys. Of course Top Gear is full of schoolboy humour -- but TG is well written and funny. I did manage to watch all the way through to the end of this boring DVD, but only due to Richard Hammond's personality which made the best of the poor material. At least I have got one Christmas Present sorted out now -- just got to decide who deserves this dud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 3 Jan 2010
This review is from: Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special (DVD)
Bought for my husband as a requested Xmas present (an avid fan of TG for many years), was not at all what he expected and was very disappointing overall - really a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a Top Gear DVD! Simples!, 20 Nov 2009
This review is from: Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special (DVD)
I have to totally disagree with the negative review.

This DVD is a nice extension to the Top Gear series.

Yes, there is no Clarkson or May but Hammond leads the charge superbly.

There are some fantastic stunts, beautiful cars and the whole thing is pinned down by classic Top Gear humour.

If you like the show, then you¹ll like this DVD.

It¹s as simple as that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. L. Duffy "Mr. L. Duffy" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special (DVD)
I am a TG fan and I was expecting a bit more from this DVD, but it was just a let down from start to finish. It just seems like they wanted something out in time for Christmas and this is all they could come up with. The idea behind it is weak and poorly executed. Hammond comes across badly in it. He tries for Clarkson humour but it just doesn't work.
If you are looking to buy a TG DVD for Christmas get the Clarkson Duel one or The Challenges Vol3. This DVD is one you will watch once then never look at again, well I won't anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TG at its best, 22 Nov 2009
By 
Rolly (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special (DVD)
I admit to being a big fan of Top Gear. I bought this not sure what to expect, and I have to say I really enjoyed it. A few laugh out loud moments (check out the Ice cream hover craft - hilarious!!) and also some really gorgeous bits - like the dakar race in the desert and the wonderful supercar stuff in Italy. TOTALLY recommend this to any TG fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Aimed at 10 year olds, 14 Jan 2010
By 
P. Harlow (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special (DVD)
If you're thinking of buying this for the humour and high production values you see in Top Gear, don't bother. This DVD is clearly aimed at ten year olds, who will be impressed by the low budget stunts and the C-BBC presentation Richard Hammond delivers. I found it cringingly embarrassing to watch and gave up about half way through. I only paid 3.99 for my copy from Asda and it was still a waste of money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 30 Dec 2009
This review is from: Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special (DVD)
As a Top Gear fan I was looking forward to this DVD, however I must admit to feeling a little cheated. At only 63 minutes long it falls well short of my expectations and the content isn't up to much either. Apparently Hammond intends to show us in a lighthearted Top Gear way how to become a Top Gear presenter. I will admit there is some entertainment value in here but frankly it's not enough, it looks like the nicest of the three presenters has finally sold out and scrambled a DVD onto the shelves with the sole intention of cashing in on the Christmas panic. I'm not impressed..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like Top gear, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special (DVD)
Top gear is good program
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, no top gear and no Top Gear either, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special (DVD)
Nicely done excersize in milking a cash cow. This DVD really feels a bit hollow, like this were some items that could've been on a show and done with much more humour and vigour with all three presenters.
But its fun to watch, nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geta for any top gear addict, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special (DVD)
purchased for husband who watches evety repeated episode of top gear, now he can watch it on his pc and I get the tv back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gear - Richard Hammond Uncovered: The DVD Special
£2.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews