Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss this wonderful series
Merlin is a joy. The first series was great, but the second series is much better on many levels. The positives the first series had are still there:

- an attractive and talented group of young actors playing the 4 main roles - Merlin, Arthur, Morgana and Gwen.

- great support from the older members of the cast such as Richard Wilson, Anthony Head...
Published on 19 Nov 2009 by LadyD

versus
5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still unfulfilled potential - the writing lets this series down
I am sure I am not alone in having to criticise Series 2 for weak writing. The production is otherwise superb with stunning cinema-photography, lighting and sound, consistently impressive acting performances and music that performs its purpose while never shining. The scripts and story lines however have betrayed the second series. It obviously had a bigger budget but,...
Published on 16 Nov 2009 by T. MILLEA


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss this wonderful series, 19 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Merlin is a joy. The first series was great, but the second series is much better on many levels. The positives the first series had are still there:

- an attractive and talented group of young actors playing the 4 main roles - Merlin, Arthur, Morgana and Gwen.

- great support from the older members of the cast such as Richard Wilson, Anthony Head and John Hurt

- beautiful music, locations, and costumes

- great stories that combine humour, action, adventure and magic without anything that would stop younger viewers from watching

- a wonderfully written and played central relationship between Merlin and Arthur that is the heart of the show.

But the second series also has:

- better special effects (which were decidely ropey in places in series 1)

- more varied storylines (S1 had a lot of Merlin and Arthur saving each others lives)

- a step up in the quality of the acting. In particular Bradley James (who plays Arthur) and Colin Morgan (Merlin) have matured into their roles. They have both delivered outstanding performances this series.

- some fantastic guest stars (watch out for Sarah Parish as a troll and Charles Dance as a very creepy witchfinder)

- better writing (cannot agree with the other reviewer who thinks this has deteriorated)

- some scenes - all the more moving because they are used sparingly - that deliver a real emotional punch.

My whole family - including my 2 early teens kids - love this show. My children have never been as emotionally invested in any drama as they are in this, and they are not alone. Most of their school friends seem to watch it too. What this show does, that so few actually manage, is to deliver something that kids love, but with another level to it for adults to appreciate.

Merlin has deservedly been a huge international success and has sold to almost every territory in the world (twice as many as Dr Who). It was also the first british drama to air on a major network (NBC) in the US for over 30 years. Well done to all involved. I recommend it heartily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic continues - and it's well worth witnessing., 15 Nov 2009
This review is from: Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Season two has been airing on television since early September and has just passed the halfway mark, and so far has carried on its tradition of excellence.

The four young actors playing the leads are growing along with their characters, and it's wonderful to get a chance to see some new young actors while they are still just being discovered on the path to what will no doubt, for some of them, be stellar careers. Colin Morgan (Merlin) in particular is an incredible find, and the on-screen chemistry with Bradley James (Arthur) has been enough to garner the love and loyalty of fans across three continents, without taking into account the two female leads (Katie McGrath and Angel Coulby) and the suberb stage and screen veterans Anthony Head and Richard Wilson. The cinematography is rich and sumptuous and lends a wonderfully authentic feel to a world that is at best a creation of myth and fantasy, with plot, nuance and humour to be enjoyed on a number of levels by young and old alike. In this half of season 2, there is also a particularly spectacular spot of acting from guest star Sarah Parish, another actress who also clearly deserves more recognition.

So if you haven't seen it yet - you're missing a treat, so put aside your scepticism, open your heart and prepare to be warmed and entertained by the little British gem that is Merlin.

As a note to the cost - it's easy to get spoilt with the price of huge US 24 episode sitcoms that get released season by season often for the same price as half a season of British television, but when you consider that the continuance of a show rides on its viewing statistics and sales, it's a small price to pay to keep the first British family show in years to go overseas on our screens, and encourage the production company to keep going. If the bullet is still too hard to swallow - wait for the whole season to be released some time next Spring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin:Series 2;Vol 1, 4 Mar 2010
By 
S. Slattery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Merlin is an amazing show! I was very impressed with the DVD boxset and all the jam packed special features provided with it! Great product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin series 2, 8 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. M. Blackman (Kent uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't know what to expect from this series, but I find it very entertaining young Arthur and Merlin are great together, we enjoy the talking dragon. It suits all ages some maybe a bit frighting for very young children, BBC has done a really good job can't wait for the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. N. Simpson "books, books, books" (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Family viewing at its best. the perfect dvd for escapism. i love merlin! its one of the few things on tv that both myself and my kids enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MERLIN SERIES 2 VOL.1, 19 Jan 2010
This review is from: Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This item was given to me as a present. It is an excellent series and the discs having wonderful pictures of the cast on them. It is from the TV series and just makes you want to buy the next set. The dvd set makes a good present or a good addition to your own collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Merlin, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Aussie Fella (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a great series. Well done BBC! I highly recommend it. Action, drama, comedy, romance, fantasy, adventure - it's got it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Magical, 25 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Series two starts where series one left off. Series one established extremely convincing friendships and relationships as well setting down the foundations to be explored in series two, and series two certainly doesn't disappoint.

In my opinion, each episode has gone from strength to strength. Series two, volume one has six episodes.
The first episode, The Curse of Cornelius Sigan, is a visually empowering episode, that shows off some vastly improved special effects. If the CGI gargoyles don't take your breath away, then the acting and the touches of humour should.

The second episode, The Once and Future Queen, subtly hints at the relationship between Arthur and Gwen to come, and is done beautifully so. This is my favourite ep of this volume, mainly because of the presence of the hilarious Sir William of Daira (oh, if only he were to come back!) and also the lighting and tones makes this episode wonderfully choreographed.

The Nightmare Begins is a Morgana-centric ep and brings back a familiar character.

Lancelot and Guinevere sees the return of the wonderful Lancelot, complete with his cheesy but much-loved lines, as well as setting up a love traingle between Lancelot, Gwen and Arthur. Full of angst and touching moments between Merlin and Arthur, it's an extremely enjoyable episode.

Enjoyable also, is the episode Beauty and The Beast, which offers some much needed humour. It shows King Uther (played by the wonderful Anthony Head) being enchanted by a troll, played by the brilliant Sarah Parrish. A two-parter, it is definitely worth it.

What I like about this volume, is that it builds upon the relationship between Merlin and Arthur, who have such a wonderful friendship. Their dynamic is really a great one, so to have that constantly explored is such a treat. Wonderful too is the subtle build up of the relationship between Arthur and Gwen, for we all know where their destiny lies.

Unfortunately, there is hardy any Morgana is series 2, which has to be my biggest complaint. In fact, often there isn't enough of the girls. I know this show is primarily focused on Merlin and Arthur, but the girls seem to be background decorations for the most part, which is a shame because they're amazing characters. Hopefully, this will change next series. I don't have any other complaints- I think storywise the episodes have improved from last series, and visually the series is stunning.

Special features:

Episode one and four is commentated by Colin Morgan (Merlin) and Bradley James (Arthur) and episode two Angel Coulby (Gwen) and Anthony Head (King Uther). There's nothing from Katie MgGrath (Morgana) or Richard Wilson (Gaius). Hopefully next volume. The commentaries are such a delight to watch/listen to. You get such an insight from the actors.You'll find these on the menu- there is a barrel that says 'audio commentaries' (the set up was different last year. In fact, they've changed the whole intro bit, and although spectacular, it does take longer to load the menu).

There are The Secret and Magic behind-the-scene-specials that was shown on BBC 3/i Player. These are very good and fun to watch. Unfortunately, there's no Cast Video Diaries, but maybe next volume.

There's wallpapers and a photo gallery as well as a cast and crew introduction to this series.

Subtitles in English for the hard of hearing.

For those who enjoyed the first series, I'd definitely recommend this volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MERLIN SERIES 2 VOLUME 1, 23 May 2014
By 
Mr. James Nelson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Good amusing entertainment and value for money. The series is well acted and the special effects are brilliant, especially the supernatural elements. Will gradually purchase the whole set, hopefully.

Jim Nelson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good DVD, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] (DVD)
As with the BBC this is an excellent drama series with a very good storyline which I have enjoyed watching again. Would certainly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD]
Merlin - Series 2 Volume 1 [DVD] by Colin Morgan (DVD - 2009)
10.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews