Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series but be careful when ordering.....
This is a great series and should be used in all school curriculums of modern history. It will inspire you, whet your appetite to find out more. It will dispel a few myths (like Churchill wasn't such a great leader in his earlier years) and make you aware of little known facts (i.e. Air Chief Keith Parks of the RAF and mastermind of us winning the Battle of Britain, was...
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by Dave Clews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
OK
Published 3 days ago by Alistair McClean


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Enjoyable and Thought Provoking, 13 Feb 2011
By 
B. Etgen (Sacramento, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Andrew Marr Collection: History Of Modern Britain (Series 1) & The Making Of Modern Britain (Series 2) (DVD)
For me, this was as enjoyable the second time through as the first. I am amazed at how much history there is and how honestly presented it is, even the coverage of Maggie, in such a short series. In about 5 hours, enough of the evolution of cultural life is woven into the story to also feel the sea change in expectations and life style.

As an American, I was very pleased with the time spend developing the role of the USA, for good or ill, in modern British history. An American can watch this series without fear of being painted with too broad a brush.

Midway through the series, I was stuck with how much like James Burke, Andrew Marr manages to be. To me, this is a sincere complement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most excellent series, 26 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Andrew Marr Collection: History Of Modern Britain (Series 1) & The Making Of Modern Britain (Series 2) (DVD)
Having grown up in the '40's and '50's, I can honestly say that Andrew Marr has somehow captured exactly the feeling of the times. Both series are not only extremely informative but enjoyable as well. He has a terrific style and I thoroughly recommend this to anyone interested in 20th century British history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Fascinating, 14 Feb 2011
By 
bob "bob" (surrey, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Andrew Marr Collection: History Of Modern Britain (Series 1) & The Making Of Modern Britain (Series 2) (DVD)
I never like history at school but Andrew Marr's DVD are entertaining and fascinating. They explain so much on what led up to how we live today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars history made easy, 17 Jun 2010
By 
Lynn Allen (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Andrew Marr Collection: History Of Modern Britain (Series 1) & The Making Of Modern Britain (Series 2) (DVD)
I brought this for my daughter who is studying AS History and she has found it an excellent aid to her learning. Andrew Marr's delivery is excellent, the pace is good and the whole family have been fascinated by it. Higly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Andrew Marr Collection, 30 May 2010
By 
This review is from: The Andrew Marr Collection: History Of Modern Britain (Series 1) & The Making Of Modern Britain (Series 2) (DVD)
A well presented history of Britain, touching on some subjects that have long been forgoten, as well as the well remembered stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 28 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Andrew Marr Collection: History Of Modern Britain (Series 1) & The Making Of Modern Britain (Series 2) (DVD)
Very good series that can be watched time and again. Provided an excellent introduction to a history of the twentieth century. The accompanying books to the two series complement the DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars marrs history of modern britain, 22 Sep 2010
This review is from: The Andrew Marr Collection: History Of Modern Britain (Series 1) & The Making Of Modern Britain (Series 2) (DVD)
this is an excellent double dvd set which clearly expounds our immediate story and explains where we now are internationally and nationally. Marr is very clear and informative and the illustrations are excellent and are both relevant and of good quality. Worth watching more than once and worth keeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Andrew Marr Collection: History Of Modern Britain (Series 1) & The Making Of Modern Britain (Series 2) (DVD)
Love this series watched it a number of times always something new learnt Andrew Marr does a brilliant job that engage the audience,
recommend to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Marr Collection, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Andrew Marr Collection: History Of Modern Britain (Series 1) & The Making Of Modern Britain (Series 2) (DVD)
This was a gift for my husband. He had read about it in the newspaper and was delighted to receive it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Andrew Marr Collection, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Andrew Marr Collection: History Of Modern Britain (Series 1) & The Making Of Modern Britain (Series 2) (DVD)
Very informative and well presented by Andrew Marr. I have always liked his style of presentation and this collection does not disappoint there. Enjoyable to watch and a real eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews