Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


355 of 361 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great boxed set - although it lacks the 10th Doctors final 'Season 4.5' specials
This Dr Who boxed set has all the first four seasons of the 'new' Dr Who starting with 'Rose', when Rose Tyler first meets the 9th Doctor. Inside the lidded cardboard box there's four large [2cm wide] DVD cases, one for each season. There's Special Feature's on every DVD disc - these include audio commentaries [some episodes], in-vision commentaries [some episodes], and...
Published on 25 Dec 2009 by Keith_Joseph

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Received from 720 Games with broken disc
I definitely do not rate 720 games as 'providing a high standard of customer service' as they state on their storefront!

Not only did they take 9 days to deliver but when immediately informed of the broken disc it took them 6 days to bother replying and said they 'could not understand how this happened as it was perfect when listed (fair enough) but went on to...
Published 2 months ago by Carolana Hinsley


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

355 of 361 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great boxed set - although it lacks the 10th Doctors final 'Season 4.5' specials, 25 Dec 2009
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This Dr Who boxed set has all the first four seasons of the 'new' Dr Who starting with 'Rose', when Rose Tyler first meets the 9th Doctor. Inside the lidded cardboard box there's four large [2cm wide] DVD cases, one for each season. There's Special Feature's on every DVD disc - these include audio commentaries [some episodes], in-vision commentaries [some episodes], and audio descriptions [all episodes]. The final DVD in each season is just the 'cut-down' BBC Confidentials. My son [13] and daughter [15] loathe these how-its-done bits with a passion - they want to believe it's real. They do however like the well produced and illustrated large colour booklet of Episode Guides [around 30 pages] thats included in the box.

This 23 DVD set has only English 5.1 audio with subtitles as English SDH [Deaf & Hard-of-hearing]. There's 9h 27m [5 DVDs] of video in season 1, 11 hours in season 2 [6 DVDs], 9h 45 mins [6 DVDs] in season 3 and 11h 21 minutes [6 DVDs] in season 4. It's rated 12: 'suitable for over 12s only', which is a bit odd as preteens are often Dr Who's strongest fans, with the Doctor's rock-solid moralistic overtones striking a chord within them, although I suppose some episodes particularly 'Blink', 'Silence in the Library', 'The Empty Child', and 'The Unquiet Dead' are a bit scary for some under tens. However, this didn't stop my son at 9 loving the first season on BBC TV, although my daughter was moved to tears watching the emotionally charged 'Fathers Day'.

This 1-4 season set has just the three Christmas specials between the seasons: 'The Christmas Invasion', 'The Run-away-Bride', and 'Voyage of the Damned'. These Xmas specials are essential for continuity, hence their inclusion. The last episode in this set is 'Journey's End', the finale of season 4. The later tenth Doctor Season 4.5 specials: 'The Next Doctor', 'The Dead Planet', 'The Waters of Mars' and the last two 'End of Time' Xmas 2009/NewYear 2010 finale episodes are not in this boxed set, and they have been released separately in a Complete Specials set, also with a load of extras.

So this series 1-4 boxed set is a great collection of fifty-six Dr Who episodes, with a lot of extras dotted around on the DVDs like 'Davids video diary', 'On set with Billie Piper', 'The adventures of Captain Jack', plus out-takes and the 'children in need' specials, and very usefully it's all quite compact at 10x14x19.5 cm, easily 6*... For young Dr Who fans also check out the The Sarah Jane Adventures, and perhaps the BBC's Roman Mysteries as well that are quite sympathetic to this spin-off series. In fact I actually prefer The Sarah Jane Adventures to the excellent 'adult orientated' Torchwood, probably as Sarah Jane's ethos is far more in keeping with that of the Doctors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best boxed set I ever bought!, 12 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I won't go into the details of the actual episodes contained within this amazing boxed set - if you're reading this review, chances are you already know what a great series it is, but if not, just check out the many other brilliant reviewers on here, as they do it far better than I could.

I purchased this box set for just under 47 which, considering I was about to buy all four series boxed sets individually, is a great saving. Clearly this boxed set does not offer anything new to the fans who already own the individual series sets, but if you're new to Doctor Who like I am and looking to start your collection, then this is a perfect opportunity to own a slice of great British TV programming.

Some people have commented on the use of plastic DVD cases over the cardboard folders - I personally prefer the plastic versions contained in this set, as I find that cardboard cases tend to get a bit dogged eared after repeat viewings - and I certainly intend to give these DVDs many, many viewings! They're also more compact - about half the thickness of the individual cardboard cases, which is very welcome if you're short on shelf space. The box that contains the DVDs is deceptively small - almost of TARDIS-like proportions, the whole thing being roughly the same thickness as two of the cardboard individual series boxed sets. You also get a rather nice booklet which contains episode guides for all 4 series in one volume rather than four individual booklets.

So, anything bad about this boxed set? Definitely not! I'm still baffled by the decision to only offer cut down versions of the Doctor Who Confidential programmes, but at this price I'm not complaining!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Kevin Mahoney "KM" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I've been a fan of the series for quite some time, something of a guilty pleasure. The individual box sets come with better and prettier presentation in their cardboard cases, however the plastic amaray that are supplied with this box set are far from a reason to avoid this box set. I couldn't be happier with my purchase and for the bargain price offered and I would advise any fan of the show to purchase without a second thought. OK so it doesn't include the specials (The next Doctor, Planet of the dead, Waters of Mars, End of Time) Neither do the individual series box sets. Don't give it a second thought- if your a fan this is the set for you. After buying my copy I purchased another 2 for gifts, both of which have been very, very well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 10 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
As a relative newcomer to the Who-universe, I absolutely love this boxset. It's great for catching up with the 9th and 10th Doctor's adventures and to relive our favorite moments such as "The Empty Child/The Doctor Dances," "Girl in the Fireplace," "Blink," and "Silence in the Library." Please note that although the description says the DVDs are coded in Region 2, it is actually in dual Regions 2 and 4 PAL so this is great news for viewers Down Under! They don't sell this as a boxset here in Australia and it would have cost a fair bit more money and effort to find and collect all the series 1-4 DVDs. Yes, as others have mentioned, the actual DVDs are in plastic cases and don't include the 2009 Doctor Who Specials (not really considered a "series" as such), but the outer box is fantastic (with the DW logo and TARDIS) and we get a booklet outlining each series/episode as well as commentaries from the producers/writers/actors. Much recommended and hope you enjoy the journey. Allons-y!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who 1-4, 10 Jan 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Simply a repackaged form of Seasons 1-4 of Doctor Who, this is a compact DVD set that is always a joy to watch. With all episodes from Seasons 1-4, David Tennant's Video Diaries and other special features, makes this box set a joy. The only thing that would have made it better, if they would have included the full Doctor Who Confidentials rather than just the cutdowns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Age of the Doctor, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Jon Thompson (Van Nuys, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This box set constitutes almost the complete saga of the Doctor at his peak in every respect. After 26 years of staggering through limited production budgets, barely credible special effects and a great deal of struggling to convert the drama to dialogue rather than action (which they couldn't really afford and couldn't make quite effective enough), and finally being cancelled and supposedly forgotten, the new Doctor's first 4 seasons constitute a massive epic storyline that takes us from the return of the Doctor (immediately after the end of the Time War in which Gallifrey is destroyed) when he is basically a freshly mustered out warrior, through his growth, development and maturity and (if you also obtain the year of "specials" that occupied the gap between series 4 and 5), eventual "death" (regeneration).

It is that very rare case where the character meets the actor in perfect symmetry. David Tennant's approach to the role (with producer Russel T. Davies' guidance and support) makes this a single, massive story arc, in which the Doctor deals with rage, falls in love, finds his charm, suffers pain and loss, assumes a virtual godhead and finally understands his own limitations.

While many of the tales are typical series "monster of the week" stories, the entire story arc continues to grow and develop throughout.

By the time you reach the approach of his regeneration your heart will be breaking and you will greive as if he had died.

Whenever I try to recommend the Doctor to anyone who hasn't a clue what I'm nattering on about, I always encourage them to start at Season 1, Episode 1 and go straight through to "The End of Time" in order to "get it". Those that have done so understand why I adore this show.

Now you can get most of that in one neat package. Loverly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Box, Big Contents, 25 Dec 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I got this as a Christmas present (today!). I knew I was getting it, and I was quiet excited, because it has all the special features on it that the individual box sets have, and I've only ever owned the individual releases, with the bare minimum. I was expecting it to be quiet big, but its a diddy thing! Saves A LOT of shelve space. A very good set. Buy THIS, not the individual box sets. This box set is exactly the same as what you would get if you did.

This box set also includes The Christmas Invasion, The Runnaway Bride, Voyage of the Dammned, A Doctor Who Confidential Cut-down for every episode, Time Crash, and the Doctor Who Music and Monsters concert.

I keep saying, Buy this, NOT the individual box sets, they are EXACTLY the same, it saves shelve space and looks amazing, and it is also CHEAPER.

Merry Christmas Everyone, and a Happy New Year 2012!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice boxed set, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this set on a whim. I had only seen one or two episodes of Doctor Who in my life, but a friend of mine is absolutely crazy about it so I thought "why not". I think it's quite cheap considering what you get... Not only 4 full seasons but lots of extras and a very nice booklet as well.
The series itself is crazy, often completely cheesy and ridiculous, but it has tons of heart and fun and sweetness and that makes it thoroughly entertaining. I've certainly enjoyed it so far (currently halfway season 2).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure, fun and wonderful acting., 18 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Highly entertaining, i wont give any plotrs away:
This was the first time I ever saw Catherine Tate and she is brilliant - wish she had been in more episodes, the year with her was just like the good old Dr Whos i grew up, adventures into over worlds, solving problems, facing the baddies. Great stuff.

The other years were brilliant too, Billie Piper and Martha JOnes - pity Martha only did one year as well, really glad she has kept being cameos in Torchwood etc since.

The Doctors here are wonderful.

If you liked Dr Who as you grew up in the seventies as I did, I hope you enjoy this as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable value - So thrilled !!, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This product must rate as the best vaule for money that I have ever spent on Amazon ! - The DVD box set of 4 seasons came brilliantly packaged and exactly as advertised. One big box (good quality cardboard with good quality print) containing 4 individual plastic dvd box sets - each plastic box set containing 1 full season of Dr Who. The box set includes a programe and dvd guide pamphlet (well written and informative). I was so impressed with the value for money and packaging i wish i knew how to better let prospective buyers know how awesome this deal is!

This is seriously the best deal i have yet found on Amazon ! - so darn chuffed with my purchase I feel like the cat that got all the cream :-)

And just to top it all off - My set arrived 1 full week earlier then advertised and came all the way south of the Equator from the UK :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad1323cc)

This product

Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD]
Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] by Christopher Eccleston (DVD - 2009)
35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews