Customer Reviews


247 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


364 of 371 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great boxed set - although it lacks the 10th Doctors final 'Season 4.5' specials
This Dr Who boxed set has all the first four seasons of the 'new' Dr Who starting with 'Rose', when Rose Tyler first meets the 9th Doctor. Inside the lidded cardboard box there's four large [2cm wide] DVD cases, one for each season. There's Special Feature's on every DVD disc - these include audio commentaries [some episodes], in-vision commentaries [some episodes], and...
Published on 25 Dec 2009 by Keith_Joseph

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Received from 720 Games with broken disc
I definitely do not rate 720 games as 'providing a high standard of customer service' as they state on their storefront!

Not only did they take 9 days to deliver but when immediately informed of the broken disc it took them 6 days to bother replying and said they 'could not understand how this happened as it was perfect when listed (fair enough) but went on to...
Published 9 months ago by Carolana Hinsley


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

364 of 371 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great boxed set - although it lacks the 10th Doctors final 'Season 4.5' specials, 25 Dec 2009
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This Dr Who boxed set has all the first four seasons of the 'new' Dr Who starting with 'Rose', when Rose Tyler first meets the 9th Doctor. Inside the lidded cardboard box there's four large [2cm wide] DVD cases, one for each season. There's Special Feature's on every DVD disc - these include audio commentaries [some episodes], in-vision commentaries [some episodes], and audio descriptions [all episodes]. The final DVD in each season is just the 'cut-down' BBC Confidentials. My son [13] and daughter [15] loathe these how-its-done bits with a passion - they want to believe it's real. They do however like the well produced and illustrated large colour booklet of Episode Guides [around 30 pages] thats included in the box.

This 23 DVD set has only English 5.1 audio with subtitles as English SDH [Deaf & Hard-of-hearing]. There's 9h 27m [5 DVDs] of video in season 1, 11 hours in season 2 [6 DVDs], 9h 45 mins [6 DVDs] in season 3 and 11h 21 minutes [6 DVDs] in season 4. It's rated 12: 'suitable for over 12s only', which is a bit odd as preteens are often Dr Who's strongest fans, with the Doctor's rock-solid moralistic overtones striking a chord within them, although I suppose some episodes particularly 'Blink', 'Silence in the Library', 'The Empty Child', and 'The Unquiet Dead' are a bit scary for some under tens. However, this didn't stop my son at 9 loving the first season on BBC TV, although my daughter was moved to tears watching the emotionally charged 'Fathers Day'.

This 1-4 season set has just the three Christmas specials between the seasons: 'The Christmas Invasion', 'The Run-away-Bride', and 'Voyage of the Damned'. These Xmas specials are essential for continuity, hence their inclusion. The last episode in this set is 'Journey's End', the finale of season 4. The later tenth Doctor Season 4.5 specials: 'The Next Doctor', 'The Dead Planet', 'The Waters of Mars' and the last two 'End of Time' Xmas 2009/NewYear 2010 finale episodes are not in this boxed set, and they have been released separately in a Complete Specials set, also with a load of extras.

So this series 1-4 boxed set is a great collection of fifty-six Dr Who episodes, with a lot of extras dotted around on the DVDs like 'Davids video diary', 'On set with Billie Piper', 'The adventures of Captain Jack', plus out-takes and the 'children in need' specials, and very usefully it's all quite compact at 10x14x19.5 cm, easily 6*... For young Dr Who fans also check out the The Sarah Jane Adventures, and perhaps the BBC's Roman Mysteries as well that are quite sympathetic to this spin-off series. In fact I actually prefer The Sarah Jane Adventures to the excellent 'adult orientated' Torchwood, probably as Sarah Jane's ethos is far more in keeping with that of the Doctors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 10 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
As a relative newcomer to the Who-universe, I absolutely love this boxset. It's great for catching up with the 9th and 10th Doctor's adventures and to relive our favorite moments such as "The Empty Child/The Doctor Dances," "Girl in the Fireplace," "Blink," and "Silence in the Library." Please note that although the description says the DVDs are coded in Region 2, it is actually in dual Regions 2 and 4 PAL so this is great news for viewers Down Under! They don't sell this as a boxset here in Australia and it would have cost a fair bit more money and effort to find and collect all the series 1-4 DVDs. Yes, as others have mentioned, the actual DVDs are in plastic cases and don't include the 2009 Doctor Who Specials (not really considered a "series" as such), but the outer box is fantastic (with the DW logo and TARDIS) and we get a booklet outlining each series/episode as well as commentaries from the producers/writers/actors. Much recommended and hope you enjoy the journey. Allons-y!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best boxed set I ever bought!, 12 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I won't go into the details of the actual episodes contained within this amazing boxed set - if you're reading this review, chances are you already know what a great series it is, but if not, just check out the many other brilliant reviewers on here, as they do it far better than I could.

I purchased this box set for just under £47 which, considering I was about to buy all four series boxed sets individually, is a great saving. Clearly this boxed set does not offer anything new to the fans who already own the individual series sets, but if you're new to Doctor Who like I am and looking to start your collection, then this is a perfect opportunity to own a slice of great British TV programming.

Some people have commented on the use of plastic DVD cases over the cardboard folders - I personally prefer the plastic versions contained in this set, as I find that cardboard cases tend to get a bit dogged eared after repeat viewings - and I certainly intend to give these DVDs many, many viewings! They're also more compact - about half the thickness of the individual cardboard cases, which is very welcome if you're short on shelf space. The box that contains the DVDs is deceptively small - almost of TARDIS-like proportions, the whole thing being roughly the same thickness as two of the cardboard individual series boxed sets. You also get a rather nice booklet which contains episode guides for all 4 series in one volume rather than four individual booklets.

So, anything bad about this boxed set? Definitely not! I'm still baffled by the decision to only offer cut down versions of the Doctor Who Confidential programmes, but at this price I'm not complaining!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who 1-4, 10 Jan 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Simply a repackaged form of Seasons 1-4 of Doctor Who, this is a compact DVD set that is always a joy to watch. With all episodes from Seasons 1-4, David Tennant's Video Diaries and other special features, makes this box set a joy. The only thing that would have made it better, if they would have included the full Doctor Who Confidentials rather than just the cutdowns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Kevin Mahoney "KM" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I've been a fan of the series for quite some time, something of a guilty pleasure. The individual box sets come with better and prettier presentation in their cardboard cases, however the plastic amaray that are supplied with this box set are far from a reason to avoid this box set. I couldn't be happier with my purchase and for the bargain price offered and I would advise any fan of the show to purchase without a second thought. OK so it doesn't include the specials (The next Doctor, Planet of the dead, Waters of Mars, End of Time) Neither do the individual series box sets. Don't give it a second thought- if your a fan this is the set for you. After buying my copy I purchased another 2 for gifts, both of which have been very, very well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Age of the Doctor, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Jon Thompson (Van Nuys, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This box set constitutes almost the complete saga of the Doctor at his peak in every respect. After 26 years of staggering through limited production budgets, barely credible special effects and a great deal of struggling to convert the drama to dialogue rather than action (which they couldn't really afford and couldn't make quite effective enough), and finally being cancelled and supposedly forgotten, the new Doctor's first 4 seasons constitute a massive epic storyline that takes us from the return of the Doctor (immediately after the end of the Time War in which Gallifrey is destroyed) when he is basically a freshly mustered out warrior, through his growth, development and maturity and (if you also obtain the year of "specials" that occupied the gap between series 4 and 5), eventual "death" (regeneration).

It is that very rare case where the character meets the actor in perfect symmetry. David Tennant's approach to the role (with producer Russel T. Davies' guidance and support) makes this a single, massive story arc, in which the Doctor deals with rage, falls in love, finds his charm, suffers pain and loss, assumes a virtual godhead and finally understands his own limitations.

While many of the tales are typical series "monster of the week" stories, the entire story arc continues to grow and develop throughout.

By the time you reach the approach of his regeneration your heart will be breaking and you will greive as if he had died.

Whenever I try to recommend the Doctor to anyone who hasn't a clue what I'm nattering on about, I always encourage them to start at Season 1, Episode 1 and go straight through to "The End of Time" in order to "get it". Those that have done so understand why I adore this show.

Now you can get most of that in one neat package. Loverly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Box, Big Contents, 25 Dec 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I got this as a Christmas present (today!). I knew I was getting it, and I was quiet excited, because it has all the special features on it that the individual box sets have, and I've only ever owned the individual releases, with the bare minimum. I was expecting it to be quiet big, but its a diddy thing! Saves A LOT of shelve space. A very good set. Buy THIS, not the individual box sets. This box set is exactly the same as what you would get if you did.

This box set also includes The Christmas Invasion, The Runnaway Bride, Voyage of the Dammned, A Doctor Who Confidential Cut-down for every episode, Time Crash, and the Doctor Who Music and Monsters concert.

I keep saying, Buy this, NOT the individual box sets, they are EXACTLY the same, it saves shelve space and looks amazing, and it is also CHEAPER.

Merry Christmas Everyone, and a Happy New Year 2012!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near enough perfect, 3 Feb 2010
By 
R. Luke (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The boxset is pretty much what you'd expect, all four series of 'new who' with a lot of interesting special features and extras. The inclusion of the Doctor Who Confedentials was a nice surprise and allows you to go deeper, behind all the bells and whistles of the show to see the intrigute cogs that make up the episodes, the cast and crew, behind-the-scenes and the work that goes in which makes Who all the more special

Aesthetically the boxset is very well put together and the discs are labelled easily enough for you to pick out a favourite episode. The episode guide was a nice inclusion as well, a brief synopsis of each episode is given and each sereies is divided by an introduction from some of the writers, producers or David Tennat himself

The one thing lacking is the 2009 Specials but honestly I never thought they would have been included anyway. Recently I just bought them on blu ray for the high def experience so thats one obvious reason why they weren't packed into the boxset. A very minor but expected exclusion and definately not enough to warrant anything less than 5 stars for this product; a must have for any Doctor Who fan! You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The (almost) complete Doctor Who DVD set, 27 Nov 2009
By 
Small Fry (Inbred, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Its the adventures of the 9th and 10th Doctors, its already been on TV, so theres no need to cover old ground about the content, suffice to say if youre reading this, then you'll probably know how good the main content will be. For the price this is great, far cheaper than buying individual series boxes, so why loose a star?

Its advertised as being the complete Doctor Who's, but its not....

Good to know: Its not as big as the picture would lead you to believe. The box looks nice enough, and inside instead of the beautifully packed individual series sets most fans will be used to; there are some cheaper looking plasitc multi DVD cases. Theres a nice booklet with a run down of the various episodes. The set includes all series and specials and the associated Doctor Who Confidentials up to the end of series 4 (clues in the box set title here folks.) The 2009 / post series 4 trilogy of specials are not included.

So of the New Doctor Who stuff you'll just need to get the Planet of the dead/Waters of Mars/End of time specials (and Dreamland {if you really think it counts}) when/as they become available. So if youre looking for the entire stories of the 9th and 10th doctors then you'll probably not be dissapointed. But it would have made for a more complete story to include everything up to the hand over to the 11th Doctor. Sorry but this alone is enough to loose a star, and I'm being generous here! The BBC are releasing in spring 2010 the box set of all the new series specials: Doctor Who - The Complete Specials [DVD]. Why could the BBC not have waited a few months to include everything?

So if you're looking for the First 4 series of the new Doctors for a cheaper bulk price, then don't hesitate, buy it now!

Just remember in a year or two there will probably be a series 1 to 6 box set, then the anniversary series 1 to 9 box sets so the BBC can cash in some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most entertaining and imaginative Sci-Fi series i ever saw., 7 Jan 2010
By 
Luis Peres "Luis Peres" (Portugal - Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This review comes from someone who was never a Doctor Who fan.
In fact, up until the modern series i couldn't understand why this character was so famous as i had bought a couple of dvds from the old Doctor Who episodes and altough i enjoyed them i wasn't crazy about it enough to buy more.
Then, one day i saw a couple of random episodes from this new version first series and i loved it.
I loved it not just because of the characters but for the wacky sense of humor and amazing graphic style wich gave the show a very unique personality.
Above all i was really suprised by the variety and amazing imagination in the stories. What i love the most in this series is the fact that one episode can be set in Victorian England and the next can be a story about an alien planet millions of years in the future. And all this without breaking the sense of continuity either in the style of the stories or in the way characters are presented.
Another thing that fascinated me, was the way in wich the show balances a wacky style of humor with just plain human drama like if this was the most easy thing to do. It's amazing. And the characters really connect to the viewer.
When the first new Doctor was gone, i thought the series would not just be the same, but then the new one came in the second series and by the end of the first episode i couldn't even remembered he was a new guy.
I've seen many sci-fi in my life. I love Space 1999, Babylon 5, Firefly and the new Battlestar Galactica, but i think i had never seen anything like this new Doctor Who. This is trully an original product that should be checked out by anybody who's interested in really good sci-fi.
Specialy if you were never familiar with this character or don't even particulary liked it before this new series.
And this is the box to buy.
Graphicaly and in size the package is just perfect. Excelent design and surprisingly the whole 4 seasons are packed as a very small box wich is perfect to pack along with any dvd colection. You can even use this box as a decorative object if you like.
I cannot reccomend this box more. I cannot imagine anyone interested in good science fiction not grabbing this product right away. Specialy if you don't even know what Dr Who is all about.
Just get it.
It's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD]
Doctor Who: Series 1 - 4 Collection [DVD] by Christopher Eccleston (DVD - 2009)
£35.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews