Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not the very best of ashes, but who cares
Fitting twent-five days of exciting test cricket into an 11 hour dvd box will allways be difficult. Only he who uses the cutting knife with great care and with a good feel for the body he's hacking into will succeed. In this case this delicate task has been extremely well mastered. Not all fours, not all those little frantic moments are included, instead the great...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by tommy who

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's just the Channel 5 coverage
I bought this DVD on the basis that I thought it contained the "turning points" of a days play. Unfortunately it is just the 4's, wickets and milestones that you get on the Channel 5 highlight show, maybe with the odd dropped catch or outside edge.

I was hoping for some full overs which show the pressure being created before e.g. Lords 2nd Innings Hughes c...
Published on 27 Jun 2010 by MrFouldsy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not the very best of ashes, but who cares, 22 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
Fitting twent-five days of exciting test cricket into an 11 hour dvd box will allways be difficult. Only he who uses the cutting knife with great care and with a good feel for the body he's hacking into will succeed. In this case this delicate task has been extremely well mastered. Not all fours, not all those little frantic moments are included, instead the great narrators, Geoff Boycott leading the way, are given room to show that cricket is a game not only of good quality players but also of masterfull entertainers who do the crickety talking whilst the balls fly and the wickets fall. Not a foot is put wrong. You start at disc one, ending before you know it at disc three with those two summer months completely revived in your brain and even the slightest of sun tans returning to your wintery skin. Who could ask for more, between now and the next ashes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent dvd for non-Sky subscribers, 21 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
As I'm one of those lifelong cricket lovers who the ECB have decided they don't need any more, my cricket fix for the last five years has been Test Match Special on the radio. I have seen very little cricket recently and so watching this dvd was a revelation. Others who saw the matches live might not be quite so impressed, but I enjoyed reliving a result that's only happened twice since the days when all we had to contend with was the likes of Kim Hughes and Rodney Hogg, with the added benefit of vision.

I felt the coverage was well-judged to bring out the drama and it didn't come over as a highlights bundle in which every day has thirty minutes coverage regardless of how interesting that day was. Key turning points are often presented at length. As others have said it's not all four, four, wicket, four as highlights often are with no feeling of the build up of events. This was an unusual series in that the result of each match was decided during brief periods of play. Context is everything and this dvd shows the twists of what I thought was a well-fought Test series between two equally matched sides. I wish all series were like this one, and it was nice to finally put some faces to names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent record of a superb series, 9 Nov 2009
By 
C. J. Maley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
This 3 DVD set is an excellent record of what, in my personal opinion will go down as one of the best Ashes series of all time. The commentary team are all very professional and convey the excitement and tension of the 5 Test matches with consumate ease and skill. Geoffrey Boycott's pithy commentary style is, for me the best since Richie Benaud retired, and I never tire of his cry of "SHOT"!! each time a 4 or occasional 6 is scored. All in all this is a great buy for anyone, whether a cricket fanatic or an occasional fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent presentation, 10 July 2010
By 
Tony Roberts (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
Having bought the 2005 Ashes series DVD a while back, I thought it a good idea to buy this one once the memories of this topsy-turvy series began to fade from me. I didn't see all the action on TV when it occurred (I refuse to bow to corporate greed and invest in Sky so I have to be satisfied with Channel 5 highlights).

This is a well presented package with Mark Nicholas, Geoff Boycott, Matthew Hayden and Simon Hughes providing the commentary and analysis, as well as explaining the day's events. There are 3 DVDs, the first providing the 1st and 2nd tests, the second the 3rd and 4th, and the last having the 5th test. As a result there are more highlights of this game as well as more commentator input and explanations.

Its very professional and of course the action makes it memorable. How a series could swing from highs and lows on both sides from match to match is incredible, and you get drawn into the nail-biting tension of the 1st test as England try to save the game; the 2nd test where the Australians are outplayed; the 3rd where Australia mount a rearguard action on the last day in an effort to save the match; the 4th where Australia show just why they are the world's number one, and the 5th test where all hangs on the game and you enjoy the great batting, bowling and fielding of both sides.

Definitely one to buy for all fans of cricket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's just the Channel 5 coverage, 27 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD on the basis that I thought it contained the "turning points" of a days play. Unfortunately it is just the 4's, wickets and milestones that you get on the Channel 5 highlight show, maybe with the odd dropped catch or outside edge.

I was hoping for some full overs which show the pressure being created before e.g. Lords 2nd Innings Hughes c Strauss b Flintoff. Sometimes the journey is more important than the destination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic series, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
This was another of those brilliant classic Ashes series which England won but it was so tight. How England managed to salvage a draw at Cardiff was beyond belief and had they lost it, it would have been a totally different story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Pulsating Ashes Contest, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
England fans who endured 17 years of Aussie Ashes domination and the thumping 5-0 result in 2006-07 will enjoy this set immensely. Even some Aussie fans may given the series swayed one way and then the other with the ultimate outcome not certain until the final test. My favourite highlight amongst many individual efforts from players in both sides was the injured Andrew Flintoff run-out of Ricky Ponting, definitely a player for the crucial moment given the danger posed by one of the greatest batsmen the game has known, perhaps a defining moment in the contest. As we head into the second phase of the 2013 series with both sides arguably not at their peak this set along may provide some reflection on what were two very strong sides playing attractive and tough cricket just a few seasons ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Was expecting more coverage., 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
Yeah, its okay. I was expecting a bit more coverage of the games.

It was never really a series that set the world on fire I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, 11 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
Only two of the 5 tests are watchable due to scratched discs and this was supposed to be new - very poor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Too much Mark Nicholas, 29 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD] (DVD)
'The Greatest Series' box set of England's 2005 Ashes win set the bar pretty high for sporting dvd's, not only for the outstanding cricket, but also the memorable commentary.
'The Ashes 2009' is comparable in cricketing quality but suffers in comparison due to the lacklustre and occasionally 'just plain bad' commentary.
I missed Atherton, Lloyd,Grieg, and even Botham. Mark Nicholas doesn't really commentate at all. Rather he delivers a series of staccato outbursts, which he seems to imagine are 'sound-bites', but which, in reality, are jarring.
Fortunately the cricket speaks for itself. Very eloquently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ashes 2009: The Official Story [DVD]
4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews