Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars history of modern britain
Very interesting and thought provoking, especailly in these contemporary recession times, as I found the historial information relevant to understanding how our society evolved from post World War II shortages and hardships, to our present self indulgent, materialistic status. A great alternative dose of reality television, that will entertain and uplift the more...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by Anne Quinn

versus
2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A series spoiled by its left-wing bias
I have watched the series twice and whilst I enjoyed some aspects of it, I was irritated by Marr's left-wing bias which unfortunately made this a rather selective and distorted account of post-war Britain.
Published on 31 Mar 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars history of modern britain, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Anne Quinn (Dublin. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Very interesting and thought provoking, especailly in these contemporary recession times, as I found the historial information relevant to understanding how our society evolved from post World War II shortages and hardships, to our present self indulgent, materialistic status. A great alternative dose of reality television, that will entertain and uplift the more enlightened viewer.The presentation by Marr is excellent, a little dramatic in places, but this helps to lighten the current affairs subject matter and liven the dated, but interesting film clips. Definately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 25 Jan 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A fantastic series tracing Modern British History from post world war two to the first few years of the new millenium. Each episode deals with a spefcific time period and looks at the impact of individuals and events that have shaped modern Great Britain.

The episodes are as follows:

Advance Britannia - Covering 1945-1955
The Land of Lost Content - Covering 1955-1964
Paradise Lost - Covering 1964-1979
Revolution! - Covering 1979-1990
New Britannia - Covering 1990-2007

This is excellent and informative and I would recommend this as essential viewing in schools as it cover the history in a realsitic warts and all way and doesn't shy away from the nastier pieces of our past.

Andrew Marr is as ever an interesting writer and presenter of this series and makes the information interesting and at times humorous. I highly recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - Marr at his best, 20 April 2012
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Andrew Marr is up to his usual amazing standard of insightful, gripping, and thought provoking history packaged in such a way so that anyone can watch it and enjoy it. Watch it in conjunction with Britain 1945-2007 (Access to History)for one of the most bearable and productive A level history revision sessions you will ever have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Marr - History of Modern Britain Series 1, 2 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Although I lived through much of this period I had little knowledge of what happened! Andrew Marr is adept at drawing out the important aspects of history and I wanted a permanent record for the next generation as well as for me. No doubt I shall watch it again and again. First class acquisition and the excellent Amazon service as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Kenneth Martin (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
An excellent series, but quite disturbing because it presents the hard reality of life and not as I remember looking through the rose tinted glasses of old age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BBC at its best, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. A. A. S. Jukes (Calne, Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I don't know precisely how one comes to be called a 'national treasure', but Andrew Marr deserves the title. I have shown this series to my A-level students and they have become Marr fans en masse. Beautifully filmed, thoughtfully scripted, clearly explained, it gives texture and feeling to the events which shaped us. This is the BBC at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for Marr, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Amazing, perfect for A level History. Very we'll put together, easy to listen to. A purchase not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 31 Mar 2013
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The DVD is brilliant with a refreshing look at the history of Great Britain with the outstanding Andrew Marr who provides an insightful view to the decisions that lead Britain's "...bump down in the world". A modern, mature Jackanory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and interesting, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
These programmes were broadcast a year ago but remain fascinating episodes about GBs post war history. Marr is an entertaining presenter, mixing judicious comment with interesting anecdote. It is far better than his more recent series on the period between the wars. I recommend this thoroughly - even for my A level students. It is a well presented and valuable resource, with a book to match! Anyone interested in modern British history should watch the series. You will enjoy it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Helped me pass my a-levels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andrew Marr's History of Modern Britain [DVD] [2007]
£7.10
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews