Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're All Essential
The Essential "Weird Al" Yankovic was always going to be a problem. How to condense 30 years of laughs into just 2 CDs? Well the answer in this case was to let Weird Al choose for himself and so he has. Some people would say that his most recent album release 2006 Straight Outta Lynwood is over-represented here, but as a big fan I feel that it is important for people to...
Published on 15 Dec. 2010 by Louise Hunter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Some tracks are excellent, Al has a weird sense of humour and does a lot of songs for movies, funny
Published on 24 Mar. 2013 by Hellmutt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're All Essential, 15 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Essential Weird Al Yankovic (Audio CD)
The Essential "Weird Al" Yankovic was always going to be a problem. How to condense 30 years of laughs into just 2 CDs? Well the answer in this case was to let Weird Al choose for himself and so he has. Some people would say that his most recent album release 2006 Straight Outta Lynwood is over-represented here, but as a big fan I feel that it is important for people to realise this is more than a museum piece retrospective. This is an artist who in my opinion is turning out better and better songs all the time. Granted the middle school belly laughs about snot and food and TV shows is fading into the background a little, and that will never please some people of course. The humour Al sings about now may be more subtle but it is no less universal;everyday moments of angst and shame and longing and regret. This collection brings together the old and the new in a great volcano of spirit and shameless silliness.
From "Another One Rides the Bus" which was his breakthrough piece to "White and Nerdy" where Al rises to geek superstardom and finally becomes either cool or so above cool that coolness becomes irrelevant this is an album for anyone who has ever felt like the odd one out. It is a joyous celebration of the mildly dysfunctional and a wonderful way to banish a bad mood. There is a good mix of parodies and original compositions on the album and the content represents what Al himself feels to be his greatest works. Who am I to disagree? There is something here for everybody from one of the greatest performers of the last 50 years. Family friendly multi generational appeal.. you cannot go wrong with "Weird Al" Yankovic (thats Yankovic by the way, sounds like ~vick, not ~vich ok? ;))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Title Says It All, 23 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Essential Weird Al Yankovic (Audio CD)
The ESSENTIAL "Weird Al" Yankovic is exactly what it says, it's got the best of the best on this album from "Another One Rides The Bus" right up to "White & Nerdy." Just one hilarious song after another, Yankovic is truly crowned the king of Parody...it's just a shame he didn't have more UK releases, anyone with a sense of humour will enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird Al: THE Essential Collection, 25 Nov. 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Weird Al Yankovic (Audio CD)
A great introduction to the music career of Weird Al. Spread over two discs you get some of his greatest hit's from 1981's Another rides the Bus to 2006's White and Nerdy.

I can't recommend this album enough as the music is hilarious and smart and very catchy and in addition the CD is excellent value for money. There are some notable exceptions missing from the album such as Pretty fly for a Rabbi but obviously these can be purchased on his other albums which have merit in themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5*, 12 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential 3.0 (Audio CD)
This compilation album brings the talent of 'Weird Al' Yankovic into a single place where the fabulous range of songs he has recorded over several albums can be listened to without hassle, and in one place. There are in my own opinion a few songs that have been missed; germs and pretty fly (for a rabbi) are two obvious omissions (though they can be bought on 'Running With Scissors'), but this is still a 5 star collection I feel is worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album changed my life., 28 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Essential Weird Al Yankovic (Audio CD)
I was feeling blue but the sweet melodic tones of Weird Al Yankovic, coupled with his emotionally fueled lyrics changed me. I no longer feel the need to pump heroin through my veins on a nightly basis just to feel validated in life. Since this album came out I've been sticking to lesser drugs like crack and meth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Album, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Weird Al Yankovic (Audio CD)
My 2nd weird al album and all the songs on it are wicked and the way he has put the songs together still manages to amaze me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Weird Al Yankovic (Audio CD)
Some tracks are excellent, Al has a weird sense of humour and does a lot of songs for movies, funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Weird Al Yankovic (Audio CD)
Nice parodies on great hits. When you love it, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this album it's great value for money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was weird... but then it is ..., 5 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Essential 3.0 (Audio CD)
It was weird...but then it is his name ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Weird Al Yankovic
The Essential Weird Al Yankovic by Weird Al Yankovic (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews