Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little More "Seoul" Than The Average Vampire Film (Arf).
Ah, Chan Park-Wook, the *primus inter pares* of South Korean film, the man behind the "Vengeance" trilogy and the legendary "Oldboy" is not a man to rest on his laurels (two Roman references - I'll stop now) after such an illustrious slew of films. Oh no. After the slightly disappointing "I'm a Cyborg - And That's OK" he's gone straight for the jugular (sorry) with this...
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by Brady Orme

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bloodless
Starts well, with typically quirky characters (a la Oldboy etc), but descends into a long and convoluted plot concerning a family murder. I got monumentally bored and disappointed (l loved Oldboy) about three quarters of the way in and didn't even bother watching the end. The film is kind of lost in the hinterlands between love story, vampire movie and thriller without...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You want to love it - but it's like the end of the hot-dog, lacking in mustard and relish we had in the middle., 15 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. C. Michael Douse "Passionate" (st albans, hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thirst [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
'Thirst' is a vapid, vane attempt at broadening his established appeal over-seas. With recycled cast and a failed attempt at recreating the juxtaposed macabre charm seen in his last popular films, 'Thirst' is left feeling like a self righteous attempt at a drunken, incoherent anecdote.

Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge fan of Chan-wook because of his mellow-toned and classically pedantic attention to detail in terms of photography and colour scheme - with every scene playing off with Takeshi Kitano reminiscent suspense, with altered sets designed by Lawrence Llewellyn-Bowen on a hang over. As with Tarsem's 'The Fall', his work has left me gasping for air after a visual feast of subtle accuracy and juxtaposed symbolism, environments, emotions and sociological faux-pas. Questioning the unquestionable taboos of world society, Chan-wook flips through conceptual situations with a rapid heart-beat, imploring the audience to accept the beauty in the disgusting.

The Vengeance trilogy, and indeed Cyborg would have us believe that Chan-Wook is a modern cinematic genius, and indeed he is - but this particular piece of work does not reflect that.

The humour is blatant, animated and too relevant to the story. The characters are merely puppets or vehicles in which the story rides. There is no depth, no alternative logic and only a few moments where the photography makes your heart skip a beat. The Moho Baroque Ensemble has produced a much lesser score than the beautifully composed 'Sympathy For Lady Vengeance' - leaving this writer with a completely unfulfilled appetite.

To conclude upon specifics; the violence is nullified by the insincerity of the characters - visually and controversially, 'Thirst' is nothing compared to the predeceasing works, with a few drips of blood here and there. The sets are much more bland - or realistic, if you'd prefer that term. Overall the film is a lot less stylised. 'Thirst' is very, very slow - but not in a David Lynch/Takeshi Kitano 'A Scene at the Sea' slow - more of an unnecessary pace which feels as though no definitive direction was taken. A very poor dynamic, perhaps due to editorial failures.

As summarised, thirst felt like a compromised effort from a group of people who tried to create something which worked much better as a concept than a cinematic presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great film from Korea, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirst [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
had high expectations after the Oldboy/Revenge trilogy and this film does not disappoint. Dark in places, great cinematography, an 'interesting' plot, superb acting with very subtle bits of humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slow but excellent vampire film, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thirst [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
starring Song Kang-Ho Shin Ha-Kyun and Kim Ok-Vin this film is around 128 minutes long in wide screen. What sets the Far eastern films apart from the Hollywood film industry is that Korea Japan and China film all tell a story with far more restraint than either Hollywood or Bollywood. The film is about a priest who only wants to do good in the community so volunteers for clinical trials at a clinic where there is a 100% fatal virus. The infection sets in and he is given a blood transfusion that turns him into a vampire. He is conflicted by the change and to keep the virus from returning and killing him he has to drink blood regularly. He finally resolves this dilemma by drinking the blood of a coma patient in the hospital he is working. He plays Mahjong with a group of friends and he fancies the wife of one and they begin an affair as she is trapped in a boring loveless relationship with a bland wifebeater. She too is infected after a steamy romp where he bites her but where the priest is rather weak she takes to her new life with gusto.

the lead actress is utterly brilliant here and also gorgeous too and she could bite me anyday. The film actually humanises vampires in a way as it is a radical change from the normal life the inflicted once had and must affect them in ways that would cause mental and physical conflict, this is what this film also explores as a sub context in the film. Wait for the end of the film where the priest finally resolves his and his girlfriends situation. A thoughtful and thought provoking film well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is an odd Korean vampire movie., 15 Feb 2012
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thirst [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Other than a strong main lead actor/character (and interesting subject matter) you would not necessarily know this is the work of genius Park Chan-wook (Old Boy, Sympathy..). It is well acted, paced and well structured if not a little arty, experimental and basic at times.

The story is a priest who volunteers himself for a disease study, ultimately becoming a vampire and pairing up with another man's wife.

I felt the film lacked emotion, purpose and conclusion, amidst great shots of colour and scene overviews. Korean film and Vampire fans may disagree but I feel this falls quite short of the intriguing, gripping, human intensity thriller/drama that it promised to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story revamped, 15 Dec 2011
This review is from: Thirst [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
One of Park Chan-Wook's best films, in this reviewer's opinion. He masterfully reworks the themes of Zola's Therese Raquin in two ways: firstly, moving the action from 19th century France to modern day Korea (the bingo game becomes mah jong, etc.), and secondly, expressing the book's themes of repressed lust, of both the murderous and the intimate variety, and atonement through the vampire myth (with a Christian twist). I see this film as standing alongside the likes of Let the Right One In as it represents and investigates the vampire in a mature and unique way after the teenage angst machines that Twilight and other series have produced.

The real delight for me, though, was the performances of the two main characters. They make us laugh at their antics, pity their suffering, despise them for their crimes, and ultimately love them as incredibly well-rounded, plausible individuals. A fine example of Korean cinema - don't expect merely a horror film, a love story, a gothic thriller, or anything that limits itself to a conventional genre. Fans of Park Chan-Wook's Vengeance Trilogy might be expecting more stylized action and a fast-moving plot, and if that's what's important to them then this film will disappoint. If they're just looking for a damn good movie, then they've found it in Thirst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Director's commentary, 17 Mar 2010
By 
S. Wallace (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thirst [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an excellent film. Eery, original and blackly comic with two excellent lead performances. But do not pay attention to the special features listed at the back of the blu-ray's case, as it mentions there is a director's commentary when in fact there isn't. A shame since Park Chan-Wook is an interesting guy with commentaries on his vengeance trilogy set of movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little More "Seoul" Than The Average Vampire Film (Arf)., 30 Dec 2009
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Thirst [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ah, Chan Park-Wook, the *primus inter pares* of South Korean film, the man behind the "Vengeance" trilogy and the legendary "Oldboy" is not a man to rest on his laurels (two Roman references - I'll stop now) after such an illustrious slew of films. Oh no. After the slightly disappointing "I'm a Cyborg - And That's OK" he's gone straight for the jugular (sorry) with this take on Vampire mythology. And it's not a film to do things by halves either.

Sang-hyun (Song Kang-ho) is a christian priest who wishes to uphold his strict morality and respect for human life by volunteering for research project that's attempting to destroy a lethal virus that's threatening civilisation as we know it - However, the virus contained in the vaccine starts to have untold consequences for his health.... Hence, he receives a blood transfusion. By some strange quirk of fate (very strange), he receives vampire blood by mistake. soon Sang-hyun is showing the usual bloodsucker symptoms which, let's face it, isn't something a pious priest should have to face. And as luck will have it a friend's spouse (Kim Ok-vin) approaches him for help in escaping her sorry facade of a life. Sensual experiences follow, experiences that may just launch him headlong into sin and shatter his faith. Yes, I'm not one to use the old "it's such-and-such meets such-and-such" chestnut when trying to sum up a film, but it's "Nosferatu" meets "Nine-And-A-Half Weeks" and by golly does it whip up a Kaleidoscope of tension. And, why do women find vampires so sexy? (answers please on a postcard).

The film has received praise across the board from critics, and it damn-well deserves it too. And hats off to Pallisades Tartan for picking it up for distribution, as before this film it's been old Tartan re-releases (which believe me I would never, ever criticise). Watch now, and shun that successful franchise set in Oregon or wherever with trees and stuff. Glittery types be damned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great comedy horror - well worth a look in!, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. M. R. Gunn "gattmunn" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thirst [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
First off - this is a reviw of the cinema film, not the Blu Ray or DVD versions.

I am slightly more positive about the film than the previous writer. I thought the film was excellent and enjoyable. I felt that it was more of a black comedy, quite akin to Coen Brothers classics, such as Fargo than serious horror and found myself giggling all of the way through. There was some belly laughter moments such as the farting scene. I agree that it is difficult to get close to the characters, but I think that serves to allow for some of the more difficult moments to be accepted as comedy, such as the punch in the face, leading to a broken neck.

I would say that it felt like a long film, although I was not clock watching, but was very aware of how long I had been in the cinema.

The scenes were a little disjointed, which left you finding it a bit difficult knowing exactly where you were at all times. The end was pretty clean, amusing and a good roundup to an all round great and entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT ONE OF HIS BEST, 26 Jan 2010
This review is from: Thirst [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
First off this is a black comedy albeit with a lot more on top of that and having a lot of other korean films will not disuade you of the fact. Its part vampire film part love story but strays into other territorys as well, but as the director himself says most of his film are mainly thriller genre pieces that stray. I thought it was brilliant and one of park chan-wooks best yet and would recommend it to anyone a little tired of the current western idea of reinventing the vampire genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars park chan wook back to his best, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. I. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thirst [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
i've been a fan of this director for a while now, and although some of his films are a bit hit and miss, he is consistantly very good, and this film is definately one of his better, once again showing hollywood how its supposed to be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thirst [DVD] [2009]
Thirst [DVD] [2009] by Chan-Wook Park (DVD - 2010)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews