Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Older IS better.
What's wrong with this being nearly a decade old? Sure, it's old-fashioned in its visual style compared to now (thank goodness!), but that's a great plus because it allows for the time and patience needed. People shouldn't expect superficial music video garbage like the US "Ghost Hunters" here, this is more in tone with the excellent UK "Ghost Hunters" from the mid-90s,...
Published on 20 Nov 2009 by Daisy Ghostly

versus
21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awful.
Putting it simply, Ghost Detectives is absolutely awful. Upon receipt of this DVD set in the mail, my first disappointment was to discover that the series was produced in 2001 [despite the DVD release being promoted as 2009]. I then thought "Oh no, this series obviously wasn't good enough for a second season to be commissioned". And after one episode you know why...
Published on 14 Nov 2009 by Gregory Kavanagh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Older IS better., 20 Nov 2009
By 
Daisy Ghostly (Odense, Denmark) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Detectives [DVD] (DVD)
What's wrong with this being nearly a decade old? Sure, it's old-fashioned in its visual style compared to now (thank goodness!), but that's a great plus because it allows for the time and patience needed. People shouldn't expect superficial music video garbage like the US "Ghost Hunters" here, this is more in tone with the excellent UK "Ghost Hunters" from the mid-90s, "Castle Ghosts" (with Robert Hardy) or the later underrated "Haunted Homes" (where skeptic Chris French also appears), and therefore a no-nonsense experience. This is actually one of the better ghost series out there, too bad it didn't go on but often good quality is not appreciated. Yes, dear old Tom sends it up a bit but this prevents it from getting too dry, and believe you me ghost sleuthing can be quite draining. In short, if you favour serious investigations by seasoned researchers over teenagers with shakycams, it doesn't get much better than the brilliant and much-missed "Ghost Detectives".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: Ghost Detectives [DVD] (DVD)
So ok.. its dated,the equipment is old, there is no flashy CG and the camera work and direction isn't particularly arty, but we have to remember this is the original televised ghost hunting show. This set the standard and served as inspiration to a lot of us. Although it comes across as fairly naive, as it was released before there was proper research done into things like "orbs", It has an honesty and realism that is missing from a lot of contemporary shows. Don't buy this if you are looking for hi-tech state of the art ghost hunting, buy this to see where it all started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Awful., 14 Nov 2009
By 
Gregory Kavanagh "sleskus" (Adelaide Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Detectives [DVD] (DVD)
Putting it simply, Ghost Detectives is absolutely awful. Upon receipt of this DVD set in the mail, my first disappointment was to discover that the series was produced in 2001 [despite the DVD release being promoted as 2009]. I then thought "Oh no, this series obviously wasn't good enough for a second season to be commissioned". And after one episode you know why. Seriously, it is totally pathetic. Nothing happens, the production is c-grade at best, and as for Tom Baker's narration - it is embarrassing. Baker's melodramatic monologue is unintentionally hilarious [unlike his deliberately hilarious Little Britain narration], and watching his eyeballs move from left to right as he reads from the teleprompt is so amateurish it's amazing. There's really nothing more to say, other than "do not waste your money on this rubbish". Spend it on Ghost Hunters(US), Ghost Adventures (US), or series 4-9 of Most Haunted (UK). That is, unless you get excited by a digital still photo of an orb (dust) as the Ghost Detectives do. Oh, and guess what the tagline for Ghost Detectives is? "Who you gonna call"! Be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Orbs and dowsers, 17 Aug 2013
By 
K Scheffler (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Detectives [DVD] (DVD)
These kinds of investigative ghost programs are interesting to watch - they all have their own schtick and can be quite entertaining at times. In this series, the investigators place considerable importance on supposed "orbs" captured on film. This was all the rage years ago, but who really considers this legitimate evidence anymore? In one program they are even convinced that that they see "a face" - of course in order to do so the "orb" had to be severely magnified with a computer program to the point of being a technicolor blotch. The unfortunate thing is that these investigations seem to cast a shadow of doubt upon what what seem to be well established and multiple-witness hauntings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Detectives [DVD] (DVD)
Me and my mom love anything to do wit the paranormal or anything spooky, looked at this and price was good and come when expected was fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Desperate, over-eager and gullible investigation team., 6 Feb 2010
By 
K. Flitter (Maldon, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Detectives [DVD] (DVD)
At least it's well intended, which is more than you can say for Most Haunted and all those other made-for-money series from the States, but I found that the team of so-called expert paranormal investigators where far too desperate to make something of nothing at every turn.
One ludicrous example was an infra red camera obviously just picking up floating dust particles at Bowden House . . . these were interpreted as being "orbs" having "no explanantion" and were "definitely paranormal". Even the resident sceptic didn't pick up on how blindingly obvious it was that this was dust, and merely said it was a possibility.
In the very first episode at the Theatre Royal in Margate, Andy Matthews takes a flash photo of the stage with his little digi camera and gets an "orb".
Now, I've been a professional photographer all my life and I know that there only has to be a dust particle close in front of the lens and the flash will light it up and it will appear as an out-of-focus blob - an "orb" - it's SO boringly common and the internet is flooded with photos of them, all taken with flash of course, as it is flash that is causing them.
They persist with this erroneous explanation of out-of-focus dust and start finding faces in them a bit later on - a sure sign of deluded wishful thinking.
We have mediums picking up on this and that, but then you've only got their word for it.
I repeat that at least they are not faking physical phenomenon in order to sell their series and it IS an attempt at a serious investigation, but not very well done. Tom Baker's tongue-in-cheek and over-melodramatic presentation makes a bit of a mockery of it too.
Get this instead - this is how it should be done.Ghosthunters [DVD] [2002]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars only worth buying if you are like m and enjoy tom baker's humour, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: Ghost Detectives [DVD] (DVD)
this is a load of crap the best paranormal series is by far paranormal state with ryan bule i gave up on most haunted years ago after carl beaty and the balled head one came onto the sean more all the ffffsss and bbbbss those two should be locked away together they are foul and taps ghost hunters is a load of rubbish unless you are interested in pluming or like to see a fat guy with tatooe's all over his ugly body as i have said try paranormal state its superb in every way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ghost detectives, 9 Dec 2009
This review is from: Ghost Detectives [DVD] (DVD)
Tom Baker plays the "Doctor" to the hilt. Unfortunately I found the program to be very amateuristic the people involved are very dedicated but.... and I leave it there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor man's "most haunted", 28 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Ghost Detectives [DVD] (DVD)
Lets face it,"most haunted" is a entertainment programme,first and foremost.This series from 2001 was made around the same time it started and didnt lead to a second series.Tom baker is intentionally or unintentionally hilarious as the host,staring madly and grinning to camera,trying invoke fear to the viewer,all that happens is it makes it comical.I bought this about a year ago for 4.99,watched it once and sold it.Iam opened minded towards the supernatural,but this series lacks the charisma of "most haunted" but is entertaining still,but not in the way it was intended.One of the two psychics,the male one(i cant remember his name)had such a irritating voice i nearly had to mute the sound everytime he spoke.If you want a more objective view of the supernatural,i urge you to buy"the ghosthunters"(not the US series),two series made in the late 1990s,taking a more cerebral approach to the subject.Shame,this poor man's"most haunted" is a turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Detectives [DVD]
7.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews