Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative compilation album
If you're reading this review and thinking about buying this album stop reading this review and get your charge card out.
This is, bar none, the best compilation album I've ever come across. I'm shamed to admit I was unfamiliar with many of the tracks and artists until I saw the film. In hindsight I now understand the magnitude of the gaping whole this was in the...
Published on 21 Feb 2005 by Jay Hoolihan

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another funky, fun Tarintino soundtrack
This album at first glance is not appealing at all, and in many respects is a great dissapointment when compared to its predecessors. It lacks the completness of the Pulp fiction and Resovoir dogs soundtrack. This however soon diminishes when you listen to the album, it grows on you! Tracks stand out like 110th street, Midnight Confessions and Strawberry letter 25...
Published on 31 Dec 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative compilation album, 21 Feb 2005
By 
If you're reading this review and thinking about buying this album stop reading this review and get your charge card out.
This is, bar none, the best compilation album I've ever come across. I'm shamed to admit I was unfamiliar with many of the tracks and artists until I saw the film. In hindsight I now understand the magnitude of the gaping whole this was in the development of my muscial appreciation. A vista of 70's soul-funk really opened up for me post-Jackie-Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Peerless selection of Soul & Old-Skool R'n'B, 16 Dec 2009
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A few years ago, I went to an Edinburgh Festival version of Sexual Perversity in Chicago. It was a mediocre version, but what was interesting about it was that the director had clearly heard this soundtrack & liberally used it throughout the play to add atmosphere & a sense of style to an otherwise limited performance.

And that's the brilliant thing about this soundtrack - it is the best thing about the film to the point where the film seems like a music video for it! The songs are rich in ethos & varied, so that there are always new angles to discover on each of the tracks. Furthermore, you can use the songs to add texture to any endeavour & end up with a masterpiece!

For instance, there is the song Across 110th Street, which is a rags-to-riches soul song. Then there is Street Life, which is loud, brash Motown & finally there is 'The Lion & the Cucumber', which defies description! All the songs are the 1 in 10,000 variety that are good on their original albums, but utterly amazing put together on one album.

As for dialogue, it has been said that it is not as plentiful on this soundtrack as on Pulp Fiction & Reservoir Dogs. That is true, but what is on here is intriguing enough.
Track 2 is recognizable for anyone who's heard the song off Human Traffic (as it contains the sample used for "It ain't Gonna be me").
Track 4 is a bit I missed on the film, but is about Samuel L. Jackson's collection of 'Beach Bunnies' that he keeps in L.A. Rather like the 'Royale with Cheese' scene in Pulp Fiction, it is a classic example of Tarantino using screen-time on dialogue, rather than just moving the plot along with it.
Finally, Track 15 is the pick of the bunch, with the classic Tarantino line "Smoking weed will rob you of your ambition..." "Not if your ambition is to get high and watch TV!"

This all said, there are weaknesses with this compilation. Songs like Natural High & 'Inside Your Love' are brilliant, but not profound songs & become nauseating after a few listens. Equally some of the songs lack grit (e.g. 'Strawberry Letter 22') & though they are intriguing, they are also a bit wet behind the ears.

However, get most soundtracks from films and they are 90% lame, with only a very occasional good track. On this compilation, you will find NO duds & an immense variety of surprises. Truly, it is an soundtrack that is the equal of Pulp Fiction & even Trainspotting.

So, to sum up: if you're looking for the spirit & soul of Tarantino, you could do a lot worse than buying a copy of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino's best soundtrack?????, 15 Oct 2013
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really love this soundtrack...it is full of cool sounds from the 70's and is really indicative of the time......I think its probably his best soundtrack even though I don't think that this is his best film....I highly recommend this set of songs and its set me off on a period of discovery regarding the different artists included on it.....SUPERCOOL!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 19 Jun 2004
By A Customer
Much like the film, the soundtrack to Jackie Brown is criminally underrated. Possibly due to the fact that Pulp Fiction is almost perfect, possibly because people expect more surf music and uber quotable dialogue on the CD. This is QT's Blaxploitation film and that's reflected in the music in a big way. If you're into that kind of thing, it's a good collection of 70's funk, soul and a few oddities like Johnny Cash's "Tennesee Stud" and "Detroit 9000". The only real flaw is Pam Grier's "Long time woman" which sounds very much like an actress singing.
Give the dialogue a chance and it's very cool, laid back and you might even find yourself murmering "if you know Beumont..."and so on. The same goes for the music, it's a grower, trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible film soundtrack, real 70's feel., 8 Dec 2013
You get a real feel for the film when you listen to this soundtrack. Tarantino puts a lot of effort into compiling his soundtracks and you can tell. The tracks really string together and this is one of my favourite film soundtracks.

A must have for your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking tunes, 8 Oct 2013
Good oldies in this compilation that takes you back to the scene in the film, would recommend to anyone with a bit of an eclectic taste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic soudtrack., 18 Jan 2014
By 
S. Kesic (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb tunes with a few nice soundbites from the film chucked in too. I was delighted to rediscover this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb!, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Jl Hurst - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another of the best movie soundtracks around, being a bit of a tarantino buff im very self indulgent in my love for his movies and movie scores!
certainly one for the collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top listing, 23 May 2013
By 
Paul Higbee "Old Dancer" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched the movie and then bought this with a few bonus tracks, all good to hear some old tracks and some hard to get. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a typical Quentin Tarantino film, a great film although not his best. Some would agree with that statement and some would disagree but opinions will always be just that, opinions and we all know what Clint Eastwoods' character Dirty Harry says about opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jackie Brown - Music From The Miramax Motion Picture
Jackie Brown - Music From The Miramax Motion Picture by Jackie Brown - Music From The Miramax Motion Picture
Buy MP3 Album3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews