Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The boy did well
Listening again to "Rock with the Caveman", it's difficult to imagine the reaction it got in late `56. But there hadn't been any home grown singers attempting to take on the yanks at their own game apart from some not so young jazzers trying to make a quick buck out of the new craze. And if that's rude to Tony Crombie let's hastily add that he was no different to anyone...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by Dangerous Dave

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good listening
Thought it would be better The second CD is better the tunes from films and musicals which is more to my taste
Published 5 months ago by Mrs. M. Crichton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The boy did well, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Listening again to "Rock with the Caveman", it's difficult to imagine the reaction it got in late `56. But there hadn't been any home grown singers attempting to take on the yanks at their own game apart from some not so young jazzers trying to make a quick buck out of the new craze. And if that's rude to Tony Crombie let's hastily add that he was no different to anyone else in the music industry, just somewhat better at producing the goods. Steele's single didn't even boast a lead guitar; they were in such short supply in those days. Instead the lead role was played by Ronnie Scott on sax who'd obviously heard a few genuine US R&B honkers since he was the one who brought what excitement there was to the disc.

The second single "Doomsday Rock / Elevator Rock" followed broadly the same pattern with lots of exhortations to "rock". They'd found a lead guitar but he was still a bit on the timid side so the sax largely carried the day again. Steele indulged in some semi-theatrics on the A side which maybe was an early sign of things to come.

The third single was a cover, setting the pattern for many of Tom's later releases and indeed, for much of later Brit rock'n'roll. The song was "Singing the Blues" from Guy Mitchell though there was another version around from US country singer Marty Robbins which just happened to be the best of the three. The fact that there were some country fiddles in the background rather than a demonic whistler didn't do it any harm either. Robbins also does a very neat yodel at the end of the bridge. Steele and Mitchell vied for the chart honours in the UK leaving old Marty sunk without trace. And I would also observe that the Steele version had him sort of slurring the words at the beginning of each verse unlike either of the other singers. Was this an attempt to sound like Elvis? Never mind, the song did very well for him, giving him his first numero uno.

Single number four was a cover of another Marty Robbins number "Knee Deep in the Blues" which featured a reappearance of the whistler who was obviously being viewed as a kind of lucky charm. The flip, "Teenage Party" wasn't a bad rocker rather helped by the fact that the lead guitar was getting a bit more assertive.

And so it went. As the `50's wore on we were treated to less rockers, more light pop plus the occasional ballad, with the odd novelty cum comedy number thrown in. Steele was growing in confidence as a singer relying less on quirky vocal tricks and letting his voice play it relatively straight. This is noticeable on some of the non-single tracks included here within which there are some rockers which easily knock his debut efforts into a cocked hat. Both he and the band were learning. Other notable rockers included 1958's "Come on let's go" and 1959's "Tallahassee Lassie", both of which stood up relatively well to the US originals (though I still have a soft spot for Ritchie Valens' original of the first named).

This double CD set sticks roughly to the order of the released singles taking the odd liberty here and there. It also throws in some of the album and (I think) EP material which creates a good overall mix. The ordering of Tom's releases allows the compiler, without altering the sequencing too dramatically, to split the two discs with most of the rock cum pop on the first disc and the bulk of the show material and novelty songs, including his cockney specialities, on disc 2. So we end up pretty well with discs for two different moods or even different audiences. And for an unreformed rocker like myself I even have to admit to a liking to the odd number on the second disc. I'm inclined to say that the boy did rather well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Steele - Great Musical Entertainer through the years, 4 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. Janet Chapman (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tommy Steele (Audio CD)
A great compilation of Tommy's hits from the fifties onwards together with songs from his big screen appearances and musicals.
An opportunity to appreciate his many talents, to hear his songs full of energy and verve which are still obvious in his music today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy Steele the very best of his rock music, 15 Oct 2009
By 
D. Weaver (Wales. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tommy Steele (Audio CD)
Well what can i say about this CD, this is just one of the best CD's out from Tommy Steele, the music is from the early days of the 1950's and 1960's, when Rock music was just the best, Rock with the caveman, little white bull, north & south what a mouth his got!! Niarobi, just so many of them, just great music from a wonderful man and singer. One of our very own best english rocker's from the past, long many tommy steele and his music continue, would highly recommend this to us people over a age of 45 years old!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy SDteele, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tommy Steele (Audio CD)
if like me you are a fan of Tommy Steeel from his rock days to his musicals you will enjoy this cd. it takes you from the very early hits through to his musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LUND'N BOY DUN GOOD, 15 Dec 2013
By 
David Lowe (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tommy Steele (Audio CD)
This is an excellent, all-round retrospective of Tommy Steele's recording career, and it has already proved to be a valuable addition to my production archive. It's a must-have choice for all Tommy Steele fans. David Lowe ~ Producer-Presenter BBC West & South West
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good listening, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Crichton "marion1251" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tommy Steele (Audio CD)
Thought it would be better The second CD is better the tunes from films and musicals which is more to my taste
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 1 Dec 2009
By 
D. Taylor "bookworm" (Hampshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tommy Steele (Audio CD)
It does what it says on the pack! Just what I'd hoped for and brings back all the memories of my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the right title, 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tommy Steele (Audio CD)
This is more or less the same as The Decca Years which adds about 5 tracks from other labels like Buena Vista.
With a title like the Very Best of it indicates that everything by Steele is the very best.Which sounds like a lazy title.
Like the Decca Years this is a double
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memories of Tommy..., 13 Jun 2013
By 
Bagpuss "psychic thriller enthusiast" (Milford,North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tommy Steele (Audio CD)
So good to hear all the old and not so old recordings that I previously only had on vinyl.
Good quality of sound too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old favourites plus!, 16 May 2013
By 
J. Osborne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Tommy Steele (Audio CD)
Tommy Steele is probably one of our most enduring and possibly under-rated performers. His transition from singer belting out pop and rock numbers to actor appeared seamless. Where some other singers faded after a few cinema appearances, Tommy Steele made his way in films with apparent ease, and then made the additional transition to stage musicals where he has delighted audiences of many ages. This CD includes not only some rock 'n roll and other favourites but also numbers from the musicals of stage and screen. I thoroughly enjoyed this CD and will continue to do so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xfef7018)

This product

The Very Best Of Tommy Steele
The Very Best Of Tommy Steele by Tommy Steele (Audio CD - 2009)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews