Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raza-remaster rocks, 25 Feb 2010
By 
M. Walker (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having bought tickets to see Nazareth in Brighton recently (a great gig, and even better than when I last saw them 25 years earlier in student days), I was browsing round the official Nazareth web site and came across the link to the Salvo remaster series. Although I still have my original Razamanaz LP, it's a bit of a pain to play it and I have grown very used to the convenience of CDs and putting their content on my computer, so I thought I'd risk a little bit on the remaster.

I'm glad I did, it's excellent, you can't believe that this was an album recorded more than 35 years ago. The bonus tracks are good fun too, a couple of B-sides that I don't think made it onto any of the albums, plus BBC session versions of four of the main tracks that I hadn't heard before. There's a neat little booklet with additional notes, interview with Dan McCafferty and Pete Agnew and single sleeve pictures.

Everything sounds clear and fresh but without feeling obviously remixed; it's reignited my passion for a band that I've loved since the mid 70s. For the Nazareth fan, this package is an absolute must. For anyone else who just wants to hear some seminal British rock, I can't recommend it too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Nazareth's breakthrough album also their best?, 15 Nov 2005
By 
Paul "pikie1977" (Hull, East Yorkshire. England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Razamanaz (Audio CD)
Razamanaz is Nazareth's third studio album and the one that brought the distintive bluesy sound of the Scottish quartet to the masses. The two albums before this one, Nazareth's self titled debut and Exercises are good albums in their own right, but are a totally different sound to this recording. Razamanaz concentrates on what Nazareth do best; dirty, bluesy workman like rock, and i doubt that many can do it better.
From the bombastic opening of the track Razamanaz through to the pop single chart debut of Broken Down Angel, you will find something here for all. Tracks 1, 2, 4, 6 and 8 are true foot stomping rockers unlike anything else of it's time. Bad Bad Boy, another top ten single, and Too Bad Too Sad in particular contains a sense of humour so often ignored by other hard rock acts. Track 3 is a cover of a Woody Guthrie song, Vigilante Man, and it is sung with such pain and anguish that you will want to fall to your knees and weep. Track 5, Night Woman is a song that Nazareth usually do as an encore in their live shows, and you will seldom find a better drum opening than on this track. This was also the first album in which Roger Glover (ex Deep Purple) did the production, and his pedigree in such music shines through like a beacon in the improved sound from their previous albums.
This was the first album which Nazareth showed the world what they can do, and the fact that they have produced albums of the same quality as Razamanaz for over 30 years, shows that no-one realloy does it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the others to be remastered now, 8 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think I became a Nazareth fan at just the right time with this album having recently been rereleased & remastered and the following albums scheduled for similar treatment in the near future.

Razamanaz, in its remastered form, really is an impressive album. It's a struggle to identify a weak track, and that's one of the real hallmarks of a classic album. From start to finish Razamanaz consists of fast growers, the majority of which are heavy pounding slabs of hard rock/proto-metal, comparable to the energy of Deep Purple, the blues awareness of Led Zep and riffs of AC/DC. The songs are all of a fairly controlled length, with only the Woody Guthrie cover "Vigilante Man" straying past the 5 minute mark (at 5:21), and only two others of the nine passing the 4 minute mark, so the band evidently didn't have quite the inclination to sprawl out 10 minute epics in the studio, probably leaving the improvisational opportunities for the live shows. Given the immediacy of the hooks, radio friendly lengths and sheer attitude and tone, it's kind of difficult to understand that classic rock radio doesn't spin selections from the whole album on a much more regular basis.

Razamanaz should be held in the same high regard that the best of Deep Purple or AC/DC receives. I'm certain of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...I'm A Bad Bad Boy And I'm Gonna Steal Your Love..." - Razamanaz by NAZARETH (2009 Expanded CD Remaster), 12 Jan 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like most people I was introduced to Scotland's finest rock band by way of their kick-ass single "Bad Bad Boy" when it first hit the airwaves in July 1973. I quickly nipped out to Pat Egan's Sound Cellar in Dublin and nabbed the album too - the fabarooney "Razamanaz" - and I've loved them both ever since.

This is the 2nd title in Salvo's UK reissue of Nazareth's back catalogue - "Nazareth and Exercises" (their first and second albums on 1CD) was their first and it's reviewed separately. Here are down and dirty bad boy details for their breakthrough 3rd album...

Released in September 2009 - Salvo SALVOCD031 (Barcode 0698458813121) breaks down as follows (59:22 minutes):
1. Razamanaz
2. Alcatraz
3. Vigilante Man
4. Woke Up This Morning
5. Night Woman
6. Bad Bad Boy
7. Sold My Soul
8. Too Bad Too Sad
Tracks 1 to 9 are the album "Razamanaz" released in May 1973 in the UK on Mooncrest Records CREST 1 and on A&M Records SP-4396 in the USA. ROGER GLOVER of DEEP PURPLE produced the album to great effect.

Tracks 10 and 11 are "Hard Living" and "Spinning Top", the 2 non-album B-sides to "Bad Bad Boy", the UK 7" single issued on Mooncrest MOON 9 in July 1973

Tracks 12 to 15 are "Razamanaz", "Night Woman", "Broken Down Angel" and "Vigilante Man" - recorded live-in-the-studio in March 1973 for The Bob Harris Radio Show on the BBC

Each of these UK issues comes in a tri-gatefold card sleeve with the 'Loud, Proud & Remastered' logo on the front cover. When folded out, you get a repro of the gatefold artwork of the original UK LP and live shots from the period (the disc in the right flap, the booklet in the left). The 16-page colour booklet is superb, liner notes by band expert JOEL McIVER, pictures of rare UK 7" singles, Euro picture sleeves, US white-label promos, black and white snaps of the band in studio and on stage - all very nicely done.

But the really big news for the fans (as it is on the 1st Salvo CD) is the fantastic new SOUND. TIM TURAN at Turan Audio has remastered the original tapes and a truly fabulous job has been done - loud, clear, and ballsy - without ever being overbearing.

Highlights - the moment the sheer speed and riffage of Manny Charlton's guitar work on "Razamanaz" hits you, you know you're in for a head's down ride. It's followed by the first of 2 covers on the album - "Alcatraz" first turned up on Leon Russell's debut album for A&M in 1971 "Leon Russell & The Shelter People" and it's funky rock backdrop suited both the band and McCafferty's rasping vocals. Just as good is the second cover - their version of Woody Guthrie's "Vigilante Man" which owes more to Ry Cooder's take on his 1972 "Into The Purple Valley" album that they'd be listening to. Then comes the absolutely blistering "Woke Up This Morning" which they'd tried on their second album "Exercises" but didn't quite get there. Here they do - it ends Side One on a blast of great rock boogie.

Side 2 opens with the drums of another funky rocker "Night Woman" sounding not unlike Bad Company at their best. The breakthrough single "Bad Bad Boy" follows which to this day sounds brill, while "Sold My Soul" sounds like Robin Trower circa "Bridge Of Sighs". Then it's back to rocking basics with the wildly catchy "Too Bad To Sad" and then ends with the other huge hit single - and some say their best track - "Broken Down Angel". Downsides - there's an "Alternate Edit" of "Razamanaz" on the 2001 remaster that could easily have been fit on here, but no show?

The BBC stuff sounds suitably rough and rocking, but still as tight as a Nun's knickers in the Vatican. It's presented in really great sound quality - the bass work of Pete Agnew on "Night Woman" is superlative. Even the quiet slide intro to "Vigilante Man" is not too drenched in hiss - then the echoed vocals impress - then they let rip...fab stuff!

A stonkin' reissue of a great rock album then - and it's cheap too. Frankly they can razzle my naz any day of the week...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Old, But It's Still Good, 23 Oct 2009
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Razamanaz (Audio CD)
I didn't latch onto Nazareth until they appeared as support act to Rory Gallagher at the Kinetic Circus in Birmingham - many, many moons ago. In fact, it wasn't until after the show that I actually found out who they were as the MC was not exactly clear in his welcoming speech - but WOW, what a set they played that night - just blew me away. Vocals like we'd never been treated to before (apologies Mr Plant!), a slide guitar from Manny Charlton that was so precise he was giving the G-man a run for his money, and all underpinned by a powerhouse rythmn section which created an overall sound that belied the fact that there were only 4 guys on stage!
So, the following morning, I was straight down to the record shop to avail myself of a copy of this album and, in vinyl and CD form since, this is an album I still like to return to as it remains as fresh and powerful as the first time I played it.
Kicking off with the title track it settles into a groove producing what became their stage power numbers ALCATRAZ/VIGILANTE MAN/WOKE UP THIS MORNING, great, great vocals, meaningful lyrics, sublime guitar......what more could you want?.....and while yes, there are the "poppier numbers" present in the form of BAD,BAD BOY and BROKEN DOWN ANGEL - which fitted the "pop" charts like chalk and cheese....the album is still one capable of holding your attention and leaving you with a great big grin on your face!
Don't take my word for it - buy it and listen to this ear candy for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PaulT54, 7 April 2010
This review is from: Razamanaz (MP3 Download)
I dont really write reviews as it happens but I am puzzled as to why Nazareths album " Loud n Proud " keeps being hailed as their finest album? All I can assume is they have never really listened to what IS Nazareths greatest and most accomplished album " RAZAMANAZ" Compared to this album Loud n proud sounds bland and same old, same old!
Razamanaz clearly shows the band at their peak, you just listen to the awsome power of Dan McCafferty`s vocals, easily equals Ian Gillan imo. Sit back and take in what is the finest rendition of Woody Guthries "Vigilante Man" you will ever hear, Astonishing! I bought this album when it was first released waaaaay back when and it is still one of my favorite rock n roll albums of all time.
Just put this album on at your next liquor fuelled party, crank up the volume and then tell me Loud and proud is the better album.
If you have never bought a Nazareth album do yourself a big favour and buy Razamanaz, you will love it. ( especially the remastered version )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Band's Breakthrough Album, 9 Feb 2011
By 
I remember first listening to this borrowed album in 1973 as a teenager heavily into Hendrix, Wishbone Ash and Free. And - fair play, despite initial cynicism - it exceeded all expectations. The title track is a straight up & down rocker, and Alcatraz has an unusual Native American slant before the raucous Woke Up This Morning and Bad, Bad Boy. Night Woman and Too Bad Too Sad represent a slip in standards, to be honest, but Broken Down Angel is a suitably upbeat closer. Dan McCafferty's rasping vocals steal the show here, fronting up a workmanlike rather than inspired band. This was their third album, and deservedly brought them to notice. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stood the test of time, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first album I ever bought back in 1973 as a snotty little 11 year old. Remember being impressed by the explosive title track and the singe 'bad bad boy' but didn't appreciate the slide guitar and blues riffs of the rest of the tracks at such a tender age. As it was so cheap on Amazon I decided to add it to my wish list recently and got it for Christmas. It really has stood the test of time and begs the question why Nazareth never made it as big as the likes of Bad Company, Free or even the Who. Recommended purchase. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Razamanaz (MP3 Download)
This album is Nazareth at their best and still sounds fresh and viibrant. One of my all time favourite albums. If you like rock music with a hard edge you can't go wrong with Razamanaz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Razamanaz (MP3 Download)
I have the vinyl so I thought I'd get this (plus the extra tracks). Their best album and an all time favourite for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Razamanaz
Razamanaz by Nazareth
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews