Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars60
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.28+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2010
Dragonball Z has been a popular and enjoyable series for the longest time and now it is
finally accessible for all with this new remastered boxset that has both original Japanese
dialogue and revised English dialogue for the fans only interested in what they can understand.

This boxset which contains two sagas is both entertaining and wonderfully restored.
The only downside to this boxset is that some of the revised dialogue is not as good as the
original, that is not to say that it is not enjoyable or worth the money by any means.

Also contrary to what Amazon says this boxset is multi-region which means it works anywhere
within the US, UK and Europe, all in all an excellent release and a must have for any die hard
Dragonball Z fan.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2007
DragonBall Z Season Two takes the action to Namek; where the heroes, along with Vegeta, who is going rebel must take on the forces of the tyrant Frieza! But if the battle with the Saiyans took all they had and more, then how will they contend with foes such as Dodoria, Zarbon and the mighty GINYU FORCE!?!

The Namek Saga has more story, as well as action, seeing our heroes sneak around the planet behind the back of Vegeta and out of sight from Frieza. Needless to say, this is plenty of action and satisfying fights, like Vegeta VS Dodoria, and later Zarbon's hideous Monster Form.

Then, along comes the Ginyu Force, some of the greatest villains in history, I bloody love 'em! Unfortunatly it reverts back to the heroes holding out till Goku arrives, which is a shame, but there is plenty of action as well as characterisation, especially with Vegeta believing it is the time for the legendary "Super" Saiyan to finally appear. It's great stuff from the best anime ever!

The set is great, the colours look nice and the problems aren't as bad as before. The dubbing is great. In the Namek Saga: the voice actors are on top form and the music is pretty catchy (for the US Broadcast Track) and then the Ginyu Saga arrives; which doesn't need as much re-dubbing as FUNimation had already used their cast in 98, Vegeta, Piccolo, Krillin and the Narration are re-done, as are a few others, but notably Goku and Gohan aren't, but on the other hand, Bruce Faulconers music begins here and is absolutley brilliant! Tons of nostalgia and brilliant tracks! The JP and US/JP hybrid tracks sound nice, but it's up to you if you prefer the classier, but older sounding music of these to the more modern US track.

Overall, a must have for any DBZ or anime fan. Finally, there is some consistency with the English version, now only if the ocean dub and those terrible TOONAMI UK sponsored movies were erased from all history!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Awesome season as things start to heat up more and more only great stuff to say about this product and can really recommend it.
Picture quality is good but as the only reason I dont give this product a full 5stars is ofc becuse of Funanimations downscaling of the full picture so you miss out on seeing some fullbodies, heads or hair in some minor parts troughout the series but this is very minor and unless your a diehard Dbz:er this shouldnt put you off and if you havent watched the show before, you wont even notice this.
Great plus for Funanimations versions of these season boxs though as need to be mentioned is ofc the music as you have in all these season box the ability to choose between regular japanase 2.0 Mono sound, 5.1 American Music with English Dubb or lastly English with the japanese soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Season 2 lead up to the introduction of the first greatest enemy in Dragon Ball Z history. After Vegeta's defeat at the hands of Goku & learning about the Dragon Balls, this is his next chance for immortality. Upon landing and being healed, he goes on search for them but as does his master Frieza who learnt via the scouters. This season includes Gohan, Krillin & Bulma travelling to Namek. Goku shortly following them, yet training on the way. Frieza's elite soldiers called the Ginyu Force, and a frog. We also get to see the original Dragon Balls which are 3 times the size of Earth's and their dragon called Porunga!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
I have wanted the entire series of Dragonball Z on DVD since I was 11 (which was 13 years ago!!!) so when the orange box collection was announced in the UK I was very very excited. I would have liked the Ocean Dub on the DVD box sets too (as I preferred them) but I understand that it wasn't as popular as Funi's dub and I can't down it's rating for that. The second season is brilliant, with Goku and Vegeta's epic fight! The box set came quickly and was well packaged. A happy customer!

Now all I wish is that Dragonball Z Abridged comes out on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Dragon Ball Z is an amazing series and probably one of the best I have ever watched in my life time and nothing will ever change that, however what would keep me from giving this the top mark is that in the US broadcast version, the sound effects have been muted in some parts on disc 2 especially. I really don't like watching it with Japanese music but because of this flaw I have had to switch to this during fights. This is an easily avoidable drawback which has spoiled my enjoying of DBZ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2007
i bought this a few months ago and i must say it is a must see for all DBZ fans. it includes goku's transformation under 100X earth's gravity and his fantastic battle with captain ginyu, as well as building the suspence for the legendary super saiyan to emerge. i consider DBZ one of the most inspiring animies of all time and this slice of it really takes the cake...you get my drift!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
Firstly I'd like to urge all fans to buy this to support the release so we can get other anime in the future like the original Dragonball, Dragonball GT and One Piece.

Season 2 contains the Namek and Captain Ginyu sagas.

The previous reviewer made a mistake. What they complain about is the funimation dub being present rather than the ocean dub and mentions that we got the ocean dub in the uk.

What that review failed to mention is that we actually did get the funimation dub on toonami uk for a large part of the series including the ginyu, frieza, garlic jr, trunks and fusion sagas so in other words classic moments like goku turning super saiyan for the 1st time and trunks showing up to fight frieza we always had in the funimation dub like on these boxsets NOT the ocean dub.

So if you fondly remember goku turning super saiyan on toonami uk then these sets will bring back those fond memories. We can now have those voices consistantly for the whole series.

While we did get the ocean dub for a lot of the series the funimation dub is a lot more popular and is also used in the budokai, tenkaichi and raging blast games when they come out here. The ocean dub was much more heavily edited and removed referrenes to death and cut out all the blood and overly violent scenes. On top of that funimation's dub also has a vastly better soundtrack while ocean's was recycled from other shows they'd worked on.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
great show and great season - for a more detailed desrciption see other reviews or my reviews of the other seasons where there is alot more detail.

this is a great season and ends with you wanting more (and boy did we get more...ALOT more) - read my review on season three and you will see what i mean
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
US import is a really good cheap alternative to Region 2 DVD but make sure that you have a multi-regional player before purchasing in the UK.

It's a good way to save money in the long run if you're looking to build a collection as Region 2's usually come in at about £20 plus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)