Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome collection of Hugh's more recent series, 6 Oct 2009
This review is from: The River Cottage Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Following on from 2007's River Cottage collection comprising Escape to River Cottage, Return to River Cottage and River Cottage Forever, in which Hugh chronicles his trials and tribulations at the original Dorset site, this collection of 7 series picks up the story of his life on a new site. They comprise:

River Cottage: Spring, River Cottage: Autumn, Gone Fishing, Road Trip, A cook on the Wild Side, Beyond River Cottage and The River Cottage Treatment.

Beyond RC chronicles the move from Dorset to Devon. The RC Treatment details Hugh's attempts to convert lovers of junk food into fans of real food. Gone Fishing devotes itself to the fishing world and starts to up the campaigning nature of the franchise as it considers how a sustainable fishing industry could operate. Spring and Autumn looks at both seasonal recipes while also covering the lives of inexperienced gardeners as they attempt to grow on their first plot of land. A Cook on the Wild Side seeks to make recipes only from produce found in the wild, and Road Trip's title sums up that one.

After the original adventures, in which watching someone going self-sufficient felt as if it were a genuine venture into the unknown, the later ones are more stage-managed and less assured. They lack focus and direction with it being unsure if they're trying to be cookery programs, campaigning food programs, reality tv featuring odd foodie people, or programs detailing the triumphs and disasters of Hugh's business ventures. But that mixture of styles often works well as there's always something for everyone, and the breadth of subject matters gives the franchise its charm.

Beyond is perhaps the most entertaining, being the series that is most like the first three series. Cook on the Wild side revels in the bizarre delights on offer in hedgerows, moors and beaches, and is a lot of fun. Gone Fishing also finds a good angle for looking at the subject of fish, which has been done a lot by other shows. Less successful is Treatment, which feels contrived and laboured and also feels like something I've seen too often before. Road Trip is a bit of an after-thought, feeling like Hugh didn't know what kind of show to make that year and opting for a Rick Stein Food Heroes type wander around scenic Britain. Autumn and Spring are a welcome return to form with a good balance of the reality of self-sufficiency and recipes.

So overall this is a fine retrospective collection of the last 7 years or so of RC ventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, 10 May 2010
By 
Mrs. LH Scott Thompson (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Cottage Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I love hugh so i have purchased this box set plus the earlier box set. perfect hangover TV, or just longing for some sunny weather and outdoor dreams, i wish i could move to a little smallholding ahhh i can dream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars money well spent, 12 Feb 2010
This review is from: The River Cottage Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is my first review, but I found all the DVD's in this collection delightfully entertaining and informative, I brought it as a present for my partner but it stays with me now. Its a brilliant buy even if you've perviously seen them all on T.V there's bits in here that they edit out.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great present for the River Cottage enthusiast, 18 Feb 2010
By 
N. Crofskey (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The River Cottage Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Considering the number of DVDs squeezed into this pack, its great value for money and makes a fantastic gift for the River Cottage fan. I got it for my Mum for Xmas and she was delighted - it was hard to keep her from watching them all at once! A great variety from the River Cottage Treatment to the Autumn and Spring series, Hugh F-W and his enthusiastic, sincere approach to self sufficiency is always a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars river cottage collection, 27 Dec 2009
By 
Christopher Pollard (Tasmania -Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The River Cottage Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A most entertaining set of DVD's with plenty of useful advice though at times to say the least unusual. Well worth getting for your library. Hugh is easy to watch and is encouraging for all who live a self sufficient lifestyle away from the rat race or desire too. I loved the fishing and diving and could almost taste the fresh culinary delights he prepared in the most trying circumstances and I was much intrigued by the lady who seems to live on seaweed varieties. I was amazed at the huge variety of forest fungi that can be eaten and much inspired by the various roadside plants that are readily available for adding taste and spice to foods. There is so much more could be said but let me just suggest you treat yourself to a set of the series. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, 1 Aug 2012
By 
S. Edmonds "Geologist" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Cottage Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Great collection of dvds and special features.
A must for any River Cottage fan as there are so many hours of Hugh to watch and catch up on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugh, you are the man!, 27 May 2011
By 
K. Chistopher "Zee" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Cottage Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It's hugh, it's self sufficiency, it's old school food, simple and tasty with lots of nice twists. I loved watching the series and this is a welcome addition to my dvd collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the river cottage collection, 15 Mar 2010
By 
S. Alexander (new zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The River Cottage Collection [DVD] (DVD)
this was the best dvd set we have brought
funny informitive and just a good watch
recomended to all who like cooking and gathering there own food
stephen/dasha
new zealand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars river cottagedvds, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Cottage Collection [DVD] (DVD)
i just love it,. hugh is allways humor me, and give me conffidence to try new things in my kitchen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Satisfied!, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Cottage Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Priceless education and entertainment! There's nothing else I'd wish to have more. This is a perfect collection of the most enjoyable gastronomic adventures and splendid presentations. Perfect kids and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The River Cottage Collection [DVD]
The River Cottage Collection [DVD] by Nic Guttridge (DVD - 2009)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews