Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dated but not dumbed down
This is one of those series that should really be left to the era in which it was made, yet its transition onto DVD managed to bring it into the modern era easily. It is far more cerebral than todays Kiddy entertainment, and is certainly not dumbed down, and although a little psychadelic at times, it is an engaging and unusual story. Send the kids to bed and enjoy a...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by FussyMissus

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed and awkward
No where near as accessible as folk say, this is too disparitive and very hard to measure.
It has good ideas and yes it is different to the so called norm, but its not a good program the writing is far to vague and disjointed, the narritive is so slow as to be barely there.

I'd guess Sky has its fans and I'm not one I'm afraid, far to visually bizarre and...
Published 9 months ago by Leon and Susan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dated but not dumbed down, 27 Nov 2009
By 
FussyMissus (Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those series that should really be left to the era in which it was made, yet its transition onto DVD managed to bring it into the modern era easily. It is far more cerebral than todays Kiddy entertainment, and is certainly not dumbed down, and although a little psychadelic at times, it is an engaging and unusual story. Send the kids to bed and enjoy a time when kids TV was not all bout screaming, bright clothes and monosyllabic words. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative and well ahead of its time, 27 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I learnt of the series in the 1980s and always longed to see it, finally buying and watching it in November 2011. I thoroughly enjoyed it. HTV West really made some wonderful television and good on Network for another extremely worthwhile release.

There is much to endorse this programme particular for its socio-economic messages. It is written by Bob Baker and Dave Martin of Doctor Who fame. Another Doctor Who connection is in episode 7, both Bernard Archard and Peter Copley appear, who later that same year are in the Tom Baker classic, Pyramids of Mars. The young actors, however have done relatively little after "Sky" which is a great shame.

Some of the special effects are exceedingly good and others not so, and the same applies to the music. But for the budget it must have had the production team are incredibly resourceful, and for me "Sky" helps to cement the 1970s as the golden era of British television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prophetically ahead of its time?, 28 Oct 2011
By 
Dhekelia (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Other people have already commented on some of the ham acting, the awful music and the simplistic special effects. Once you get past that, you have a story about an alien entity that has come to the earth in the present time (1975 as it was then) by mistake. He is actually supposed to go into the future after the 'chaos and decline' of humanity. He is attacked by all plant life which sees him as a virus whereas his mission is to help people of the future - people who live more simplistic lives, to evolve 'and go amongst the stars'. He explains to Arby and his Sister that mankind is presently doomed and that there will be a time of great upheaval and change. Peoples minds are 'too complex' and they cannot accept simple spiritual truths (he doesn't actually use that phrase but that is what he is implying). It is only the future generations, the generations that come when all technology has long disappeared, who will be able to embrace the ideas that he has come to show them. Therefore he must find the 'Juganet', an energy force that will take him into the future time where he is supposed to be.

AND THIS WAS JUST A CHILDREN'S PROGRAMME!!! But then, as other people have pointed out, in the 1970s, childrens programmes were not dumbed down as they are today! What I find disturbing is that perhaps this could actually happen. At our present rate of consumption (not just fossil fuels but all other raw materials), these commodies could disappear quite rapidly and what will be left? Also, the Sun's Electro Magnetic Frequency, if it becomes too strong, could wipe out all information contained on silicon and the entire informaton technology infrastructure on this planet could be wiped out overnight ..... think of The Millennium Bug X 1000 and perhaps you may get an idea of the huge impact this could have on mankind. Perhaps there is a lesson for us all here and certainly when watching 'Sky', that lesson comes out loud and clear.

HTV West made some amazing children's TV back in the 70s and in my humble opinion (not IMHO as modern day 'phone text would have it) 'Sky' and 'Children Of The Stones' were right there at the top. I own both DVDs, having watched both series when they were first broadcast and I may sound like an old crony saying this but .... they really don't make programmes like that anymore!

Many thanks to Network DVD for issuing both of these series. DVDs to be treasured forever .... or at least until the chaos and decline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old HTV, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those gems that I half recalled from my childhood and wanted to watch again to see if it was as freaky as I remembered. IT IS! It's unmistakenly a product of the mid 70s, the image quality is a bit variable due to the original video tape not being too good. For a children's television program it's genuinely disturbing in places, more imaginative and just downright strange than anything modern. If you're less than 40 you might not find this too interesting but if you remember this era it's fascinating to see this again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved sky, 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
i use to watch this as a kid back in the 70s marc harrisson as sky was my first crush at the time and still do to this day. brings back very good childhood memorys.shame marc harrisson is no where to be found any more. sky would make a fanastic film today if somebody out there thinks of it. if any one nows where i could get a sky poster from please let me know,thanksxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to see this., 8 Nov 2009
This review is from: Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The series is presented here in it's entirety on one disc. There are no extras.
I first saw this series on first transmission in the early 1970s and it was wonderful to see this again after all these years. It is just as baffling as I remember it however, one of those "mysterious" programmes where you are never sure quite what is going on.
The video quality is quite watchable but not as good as it could be. I appreciate that it has been done from old archive tapes, and in sections from domestic V.H.S. but if the re-mastering task had been given to the Doctor Who Restoration Team it would have ended up looking much better than it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dated but still gripping., 28 Mar 2014
By 
David Trist (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this when it was first broadcast and was gripped and fascinated. Unfortunately, my parents chose to have a row during the last episode and switched the TV off ! The series was repeated and I watched again only for there to be a power cut when the last episode was due to broadcast so it was with some excitement I got this disc having waited decades to find out what happened. The recording quality is good overall but the two episodes that were recovered from VHS are noticeably lower quality. Do not let this put you off. This series was ground breaking at the time and is still an interesting watch today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Experience, With A Great Message That Still Resonates With Me Today, 20 Sep 2014
By 
Nigel Davies (Brisbane, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember when this series was first broadcast ... and does that reveal my advancing years!

The sophistication of the concepts behind the storyline is way beyond what anyone one would have ambition to tackle today, yet alone in an accessible children's TV show. Yes, the sound is "corney electronic workshop". The psychedelic colour shifting was probably the best visual effects that a typical children's TV show could afford.

I was very pleased with the transfer to DVD in widescreen mode - I suspect from the quality of the images that it was transferred from film.

Do yourself a favour, and sit down and watch all 7 episodes straight through. Then, think about the creator's message in the context of a world that was convinced it was going to end in nuclear disaster. Just free your mind to see past the simplified dialogue, and the at times annoying soundtrack, and enjoy this as a message of hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed and awkward, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
No where near as accessible as folk say, this is too disparitive and very hard to measure.
It has good ideas and yes it is different to the so called norm, but its not a good program the writing is far to vague and disjointed, the narritive is so slow as to be barely there.

I'd guess Sky has its fans and I'm not one I'm afraid, far to visually bizarre and that awful theme tune that drags on phew... Lovely to see the HTV logo though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this way back when.., 28 Aug 2014
By 
LondonLady (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A blast from my past! I remember strange yet compelling series from when I was a 70s teenager. Our family had upped sticks from London and moved to a very rural part of East Anglia when this was broadcast (for the first and only time) and the whole countryside vibe of the series resonated with this transplanted townie - I used to spend hours wandering abroad in the fields, being seriously awed by the space, the nature and the freedom....and stumbling across my very own alien who looked like Sky would have been a bonus (I did have a major teen crush on him!). This short series has quite a sophisticated narrative, given it was aimed at young 'uns; ecological disaster, the End of Times, Technology is a Bad Thing...but I loved it and am very glad HTV finally saw the light and released it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sky - The Complete Series [DVD]
Sky - The Complete Series [DVD] by Derek Clark (DVD - 2012)
£8.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews