Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haruka Ayase the star of ICHI is an added bonus!
SCREENED AT THE 2009 FANTASIA INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL: I'm more than a bit curious how "Cyborg She" was marketed in Japan. The festival plugged it as the new film by Kwak Jaw-young, and of a piece with his with his other whimsical romantic comedies with a touch of the fantastic. Which it is, and although it never loses sight of being romance first and sci-fi second,...
Published on 24 Sep 2009 by Steve

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I Don't Get It
I have been on a quest to find interesting movies beyond the normal Hollywood output. I now have a number of none English language films.

I bought this film in part because of the good reviews here but also it was well reviewed on IMDB. I love a good scifi movie.

The film clearly copied ideas from Terminator series, maybe not so surprising, but the...
Published on 25 April 2011 by Wildman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haruka Ayase the star of ICHI is an added bonus!, 24 Sep 2009
This review is from: Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
SCREENED AT THE 2009 FANTASIA INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL: I'm more than a bit curious how "Cyborg She" was marketed in Japan. The festival plugged it as the new film by Kwak Jaw-young, and of a piece with his with his other whimsical romantic comedies with a touch of the fantastic. Which it is, and although it never loses sight of being romance first and sci-fi second, it makes sure not to short-change anybody.

22 November, 2008: As the film starts, Jiro Kitamura (Keisuke Koide) is buying himself a birthday present. A college student in Tokyo, he's got no family or close friends (his home village was destroyed in an earthquake, and the new town that has been built on its remains isn't home), and celebrates his birthday the same way every year. Except last year - that year, a beautiful girl (Haruka Ayase) showed up in a bodysuit out of sci-fi anime, shoplifted herself a new outfit, and sat herself down at Jiro's table, leading him on an adventure before announcing she was from the future and disappearing. This year, she shows up again, in even more dramatic fashion, taking superhuman action when a crazed gunman shows up in the restaurant. Afterward, she explains that Jiro created her sixty years in the future and sent her back in time to prevent his crippling. She's a blank slate now, but maybe living with him will help her develop a soul.

The trick to this movie is to get us to see Haruka Ayase's character as more than a mere machine, or else what's meant to be a romantic comedy can get creepy and pathetic, very quickly. The opening flashback (or, given the time-traveling nature of the film, flash-forward) helps; strongly implying that the cyborg will develop into something more. Ayase handles her end very well, too; she's got a fine deadpan expression as the girl in her brand-new, more robotic mode, but does a nice job of developing a personality as the film goes on. She's never a simple doll taking the orders of her perverted master.

Keisuke Koide's Jiro never becomes terribly pervy, either. He's a bit of a sad-sack from the beginning, but never really seems like a complete loser; he's reasonably smart but also amusingly confused as he gets caught up in something too big to properly handle. He gets flustered well, and sells the stories that give his character depth just fine.

Kwak has a lot of fun with his sci-fi concepts, and his more conventional bits. There's a professor who likes to throw chalk at inattentive students, and plenty of bits involving the girl's superhuman abilities that get a chuckle. The opening, in particular, is funny, and he cribs absolutely shamelessly from the Terminator movies when re-introducing Ayase's character (although, in a move that will likely disappoint fans of the model/actress the world over, not to the point where she must travel through time naked).

And then the endings hit. When the first big climax happens, well, you can't say the film hadn't given you any warning that the scale might change; Kwak had dropped some foreshadowing as plain as day and it's your own fault if you weren't listening. Then there's an epilogue. And then the movie keeps going, and at the time, I started to wonder just how many ways they planned to end this thing. I'm still not sure that all the time-travel bits really fit together - like the Terminator movies, you sort of have to allow that sometimes things fit together like a jigsaw puzzle, and sometimes things change. But I decided I liked it anyway: Even if there is one thing that I can't figure as being coincidence, paradox, or destiny, it certainly winds up leading to the ending that the movie should have (and which, yes, was foreshadowed early on).
That winds up making "Cyborg She" something pretty special - a romantic comedy on a grand scale, with an ending that should satisfy both the fans of romance and robot action in the audience. efimcritc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic - but don't let Hollywood near it..., 21 Aug 2013
By 
John Malcolm (Swindon, Wilts, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
As there are other excellent reviews of this film already on Amazon, I'll just add a few comments.

First, this is a classic Science Fiction film, with ideas a-plenty and enough of a changing story to keep you on your toes. OK, so there isn't a spaceship in sight, or aliens, but instead what we have is a nicely-plotted story with excellent performances from the two leads. Maybe, to be a bit critical, the story drags in the middle, but then things happen (I'll say no more) and off we go again - with some excellent make-up/special effects (understated but very nicely done and convincing as well). A bit cruel to Raoul, though.

Second, I think it would be most unlikely that a Hollywood remake would have the charm of this - maybe an independent film maker could have a go instead, and would probably (hopefully) give it the heart a corporate film company might lack. Maybe I've seen too many disappointing Hollywood films, especially remakes (War Of The Worlds, The Day The Earth Stood Still, etc), and am suitably cynical, but once you can get used to watching a film with subtitles the story just carries you along. Maybe you need to watch it a couple of times (or more) to get all the nuances, but it's not a chore, it's a pleasure. So, hands off Hollywood, don't do a Ring on this film. Stick to teenage chase/sex comedies with little plot/intelligence and lots of car chases and explosions, and we'll all be happy knowing exactly what we're going to get - and thus what to avoid!

Anyway, rant over. Cyborg She is a welcome addition to the list of quality time-travel films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars film with a heart., 16 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
fantastic! It will move you with its great script and good acting.The film has some good action and some well placed comedy but its a love story at heart with a time travel sub plot.Its like The Terminator only `SHE` is send back to help not kill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do cyborgs dream of electric love?, 29 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Cyborg She, well where does one start? Yet another purchase made on the back of overwhelmingly positive reviews. Thankfully, this one hit the mark for me. After reading the blurb (I mean, it's about some fella falling in love with a robot) I wasn't sure if i'd watch it with the wife; after all, i've seen enough Manga to know where this type of thing can lead...

In any event, it's actually a wonderfully meandering and gentle love story between one man and his cyborg girlfriend sent from the future to protect him from a yet unknown fate. Yer typical Brit rom-com really.

Our man Jiro is a harmless and pleasant loner whom spends his birthday alone each year, dining in the same restaurant; buying himself the same present; and eating the same meal. That is until the kooky lady from the future appears from nowhere and inveigles herself into his birthday celebrations and spices up his life for the evening. After that night they don't meet again for another year though this time she's a little more, er, kick-ass.

Cyborg She doesn't really fall into any particular genre as it blends together sci-fi, romance, comedy, college-drama, and action flick all in one. Though a lot is squeezed into the film, I found the most compelling element was the shifting dynamics between the pair's relationship as his feelings towards her grow with each day however the course of true love never runs smooth...

You could easily take the 100 minutes as a stand alone film in its own right but just when you think it's going to come to a predictable coda the director pulls it in an entirely new direction which really made me sit up. From there it's a psychadelic futuristic soma-induced tapestry which eventually ties-up the end with the start in an almost mobius manner.

Oh, and Haruka Ayase truly is a beautiful woman; worth the admission fee alone. That and the complex and rivetting plot of course. I mean, that would just be shallow wouldn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A thoroughly entertaining and enjoyable film . Good imaginative plot with both humour and sadness . A very watchable film .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 5 star Japanese movie, 22 July 2013
This review is from: Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Cyborg girl has it all plus a little extra.
I really like the heroines in Japanese films.
So often heroines are merely foils for the big shot male lead, but Japanese movies have real credible heroines.
Haruka Ayase is of course gorgeous as usual! She is more like a female Data definitely not a Terminator.
The special effects are integral to the narrative and are not exaggerated or absurd.
Just when you think the film is about to end there is more.... and it's quite unexpected.

This isn't just about a robot girl there is also a real girl and you won't figure that out until the end.

Oh yes, nearly forgot, kids could watch this too. No swearing, gratuitous violence or sex scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Great movieieve I forgot to rate this Amazing movie. It was one of this first romantic, comedy, science fiction movie I have ever watched that actually made sense. It was interesting form the beginning to the end the characters were amazing and easy to fall in love with. It's a good movie. Well done Korea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi From The Top Drawer, 19 Nov 2009
This review is from: Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Jiro is a loser who spends the vast majority of his time in solitude but one year when he's out shopping for his own birthday present he notices a beautiful young women in the same store who starts flirting with him. They go to the restaurant and share a meal together before embarking on a night of clean but mischievous adventures. Before the mystery women disappears she tells Jiro that she's from the future and must now time-travel back home.

One year later Jiro copies his exact movements from the previous year in the hope that he will meet his dream women again. When Jiro is dining-out in the same restaurant Cyborg She reappears and joins him at his table but shortly afterwards a man enters with a gun and starts shooting. Jiro is protected by the cyborg as the bullets spray about the diner; and, later she reveals to him a message sent by his future self who was disabled from the original shooting. Future Jiro tells himself that the cyborg will protect him from the disaster that is about to strike Japan and in return he is to teach her how to become more human; but, he ends up falling in love with his own creation.

This is a sci-fi love story that is similar, in essence, to Somewhere In Time but far superior in every aspect; a detailed plot, outstanding special effects and a healthy dollop of humour. The twists and multiple layers to the paradox narrative will make multi-viewing a must. The chemistry between the two leads, Haruka Ayase and Keisuke Koide, is pure gold and expertly weaved into an emotional rollercoaster ride that's guaranteed to place a lump in most viewers' throats. The directing by Jae-Young Kwak (My Sassy Girl) comes straight out of the top drawer too making this an unmissable flick not only for the sci-fi enthusiasts, but anyone who enjoys a good romance too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great time travel story, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Cant really write much more without a huge spoiler, but just loved the way everything was wrapped up in the end sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cyborg She, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is one of the best Si-Fi films to come out of japan. romance, time travel, what if ?.
you may want to slap the male actor about 10 mins into the film, but keep watching to the end it will all fall into place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cyborg She [DVD] [2008]
Cyborg She [DVD] [2008] by Jae-young Kwak (DVD - 2009)
6.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews