Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2009
This telescope is great for kids who want to see the moon or even one of the planets.The telescope comes with a 20mm eypiece and a 4mm eyepiece.It also includes a 2x Image Erector and a tripod to stand your telescope on.The telescope includes a focus adjustment for better focus for nearer or further objects.The telescope is meant for looking at the stars but who says that you can't look on earth too,you can.Because when it's cloudy you won't be able to see the moon.This product is great for kids who want to know more and more about the moon and you don't even have to leave home.I truly and highly recomend this to anyone that wants to reach for the stars.Now you may be wondering if there is anything bad but... there isn't.
44 comments| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
This isn't a bad little scope and it takes 0.965" eyepieces if you want to buy extras although there is a reasonable range with the item. The 50mm objective is a bit limiting as is the lack of finderscope but it's okay for lunar observation. Planets are a bit more of challenge but on a clear night you can make out Jupiter's 4 largest moons.

If your budget will stretch a bit further then there is a 70mm model which is miles better and not that much more expensive. It has a multi-coated objective lens and finderscope as standard.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2010
Was a bit concerned about buying this for my 9 year old daughter due to mixed reviews. but have to say, found it very easy to assemble and was really impressed with how easy it was to find objects, stars, moon etc. Would highly recommened this.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
This telescope is a beginner's telescope of average if not below average quality. We found it is hard to focus on the moon, once you have got it in focus you can see the craters which is great. Maybe a little too difficult for children, my 10 year old got a little frustrated.
I have not yet seen any stars with it, but I must admit that I have not spend much time to try it out.
If I wanted to buy one again I would probably try to get a more expensive one with better quality. Considering it says 'National Geographic' on it I expected more.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2010
This telescope is a great value for money and a good starter for a budding star gazer. Easy to assemble, and could see Moon and its craters very clearly.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
i bought this telescope for my sons 11th birthday a random gift anyway first off i cant complain about the price good value for money telescope arrived in good time telescope packaged securely too and more or less easy to set up .
this telescope is great for seeing the moon and as for the stars its a little bit of a dissapointment really however considering the price you pay what can you expect !!!
what i would add is that this telescope needs to be used with care , it appears a little fragile the tabletop tripod is small and it tends to wobble a bit this is ideally a great gift for children or adults new to astronomy .
ideally id suggest you upgrade to a better telescope if you want to see planets stars with more clarity and detail because this NG telescope doesnt give you the detail you,d expect the range isnt brilliant, you wouldnt go far wrong with a celestron telescope or a similiar brand if your serious about astronomy .
also if your a beginner to astronomy id advice you purchase a booklet or book of what you can see in the night sky so you are able to identify stars or planets etc
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2010
I bought this for my son's birthday as he loves planets and is obsessed by the moon. This is a great "first" telescope, easy to use and seems fairly durable. We let him use it under our supvervision as he is quite heavy handed but saying this it is in no way flimsy. I would recommed this product.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2010
The telescope itself is fine, though a bit disappointed it is mostly plastic. However, the tripod really lets this product down. It needs to be more sturdy and solid.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
Just like another telescope which was recommended by National Geographic, I found this to be totally useless. If you try hard enough, you can see the craters of the moon but that's about it. Difficult to use and focus. Definitely a waste of money.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
This was bought for my 7 year old son and is a total waste of money. Cheap and nasty. You may as well take £30.00 and burn it. It will not focus on a thing. You get a better view of the night sky with your naked eye. This is going back for a refund. The worst thing I have ever purchased. I know it's cheap but you still expected it to do the job it says it will.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.