Customer Reviews


256 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and interesting movie to watch
Percy Jackson & The Lighting Thief is an enjoyable and interesting movie to watch. The genre of movie is fanstasy, which ocasionally I enjoy watching. I would class the movie as not being light or heavy. It is cross between the two categories. The movie is a perfect choice for family viewing.

The ideas and concepts introduced are quite interesting and...
Published on 26 Feb 2010 by Mr. P. Datta

versus
32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down
Well, i loved all of the books and read them all. The books were brilliant and displayed lots of detail and excellent ideas & description.

But, the film i have to say was a let down. There were lots of things in it that went against what the book said. Even the storyline was a bit frayed. I thought the movie was a good family movie... if you haven't read the...
Published on 8 Jan 2011


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and interesting movie to watch, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD] (DVD)
Percy Jackson & The Lighting Thief is an enjoyable and interesting movie to watch. The genre of movie is fanstasy, which ocasionally I enjoy watching. I would class the movie as not being light or heavy. It is cross between the two categories. The movie is a perfect choice for family viewing.

The ideas and concepts introduced are quite interesting and original. I really appreciate the way and the manner in which Greek Mythology blends with the modern world. It provides a real educational and amazing experience. In the mythology arena, each god and goodness represents various themes. In the movie, the focus is directed to a few gods, as it would not be possible cover every gods and goddesses. The area of Greek mythology is quite complex and covers a broad spectrum. It is a fascinating area to learn about.

The plot is about a lad known as Percy Jackson. He suffers from dyslexia, low in confidence and has a few friends : protector Grover and beauty Annabeth. Percy might not be academically bright, but is blessed with a gift and shows real guts and courage to prove a point to everyone. No one is perfect in the world. It is the key message movie conveyed to me, but you have to make the best out of life opportunities. Percy is about to embark on a mission with the aid of two friends. The journey reveals shocking truths dating million years ago, as Percy is about to find out. His real father is Poseidon, a god of sea, who abandoned Percy at a young age. Can Percy be forgiving? Percy is on a verge of a dangerous mission to discover who stole Zeus's lighting rod and return it righteously to the owner, otherwise a war will break out between the gods and the present world would meltdown. He remains the prime suspect and must clear his name.The exciting and action packed adventure takes the trio to the most terrifying places ever imagined. It is filled with growling beasts, scary settings, sinister characters, intimidating statues and towering greek gods. These are key features associated with fanstasy movies. Can peace be restored; otherwise the world would face the consequences? It is up to the trio to save the world from destruction and forces of evil.

Although, the movie is targeted at children, its appeal maintain interest with adult viewers. It is intended to be a factual movie, with an adventure to unfold. The idea of blending past with the present works really well. It is a fanstasy movie which shares a few similarities with Harry Potter. The focus is about an unfortunate individual and how a new world transforms the character's life. Percy Jackson & The Lighting Thief raises interesting points and deals with the theme of Greek Mythology expertly and to almost perfection. The area has been simplified well in the movie. The characters are quite strong, special effects are outstanding and cinemagraphy is quite impressive. Overall, it was worth watching the movie for its educational value and originality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars family satisfaction, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD] (DVD)
I found this to be an enjoyable film, well worth a watch, good family film for a number of generations to enjoy including my mum (not easy to do) story was a bit predictable but this did not detract from the overall enjoymeny of the film. Am considering reading the book to see if typical book is better than the film apply. overall good film no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 6 July 2011
This review is from: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD] (DVD)
Very good fantasy film - I read the books after watching the film and I really loved it! Im not sure if i would have felt differently if i had read the books first because they are quite different and the films of books usually don't measure up, but as a film on its own it's enjoyable and fun, and i do feel it did the fantastic books justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Percy Jackson, 27 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film - full of action and when my daughter was learning about Greek Gods the school took them to see the film and we just had to have it when it was out on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 24 Aug 2010
By 
J. Hester "Jackie" (Granada Hils, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this with my 9 year old grandson and was very pleasantly surprised with how much fun it was and
how much I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From someone who hasn't read the books, yet., 20 July 2012
This review is from: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this movie a lot, but I'm thinking I should read the books. The books are always better and I could do with some more detail. It seems as if the books could hold a lot more information. Then again they usually do. I'd probably recommend the movie, but this is from someone who hasn't read the books. If you have read the books, I suggest you read the review of someone who has read the books as well. However if you have not read the books and want to read them or see this movie I recommend you do both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HARRY POTTER TWEEN TYPE MOVIE, 20 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD] (DVD)
Another teen myth fantasy based on a book series. Percy Jackson, is a special teen like Harry Potter, living among mortals not knowing his special powers. Percy then goes to Hogwarts, or Half-Blood Camp for special training. He disobeys the school master to go on a quest with his two friends, which I am surprised were not named Ron and Hermione.

Unlike Harry Potter, this movie is a dummy down tale for younger kids. Also most of the action takes place outside of "Hogwarts." On their quest they encounter 3 scenes from Greek mythology. The special effects were good, acting was above average, and AnnaBeth was hotter than Hermione. The movie could be a good way to introduce kids to Greek mythology.

Take heed: I have not read the books. My understanding is people who have read the books were disappointed with the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 7 Aug 2010
This review is from: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film although I didn't really expect to as I used to hate "myth themed" films on TV. The characters are well acted, especially Percy himself. The plot is good, with lots of references to my classical studies lessons, recently revisted whilst helping son with prep!

I had read it was a Harry Potter rip off - it is not at all. It is completely different although just as good. Instead of witches and evil we have Gods and mortals, less sinister yet just as entertaining. Yes, Percy becomes a teenager before learning his father is a "top 3" God but, unlike Harry, his parents are both still alive & rooting for him.

It could be quite awful though and I have to say that the quality of the acting carries it off for me. The special effects are pretty good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pery jackson and the lightening thief, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD] (DVD)
this dvd arrived really quickly . it was a great film. my son has watched it loads of times . many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised on page, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THe item received is not as advertised, although it is better than what I thought I was buying. The product does include a slip cover and there are two discs the second one being a digital copy, although there is no dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD]
Percy Jackson & The Lightning Thief [DVD] by Chris Columbus (DVD - 2010)
£3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews