Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An affordable piece of recording history
This download version is a superb way to explore the whole of the mystique that has built around Schnabel's landmark recordings. The previous reviewer has explained why these recordings demand to be heard, but there's no doubt there are some liberties taken with the score. Take the first two movements of the first sonata op2 No1 as an example. Most pianists aim to take...
Published on 27 Dec 2009 by Sugarboy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too rushed and smudged
Schnabel certainly speeds his way through these sopnatas, but for me, the music is never given time to breathe. I don't think his technique is up to it either - there are too many smudged or fluffed passages.

AT this price, they're worth listening to as historical curiosities, but, sorry, they wouldn't be in my list of top ten performances.
Published 23 months ago by critic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An affordable piece of recording history, 27 Dec 2009
By 
Sugarboy (Merseyside, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beethoven Piano Sonatas (MP3 Download)
This download version is a superb way to explore the whole of the mystique that has built around Schnabel's landmark recordings. The previous reviewer has explained why these recordings demand to be heard, but there's no doubt there are some liberties taken with the score. Take the first two movements of the first sonata op2 No1 as an example. Most pianists aim to take about 4:30 over the first (allegro) movement and about 4:45 over the second (adagio). Schnabel races through the first in 3:18 and yet then extends the second to 6:02. So put the score aside and listen to the music. Remember there were virtually no recorded precedents when he performed these and these are very much his individual response to the score. And would Beethoven have followed his own markings anyway? Moot point. But it works (in the main). As already suggested, these are just beautiful readings - though I think you would always want an antidote of maybe a more modern recording or just a different approach. Brendel, Barenboim, Kovacevich, Kempff and many others provide this contrast well.

For those used to polished modern recordings the surface noise is initially intrusive but you quickly adapt. There have been subsequent remasterings of some of these - I know of at least two in 1991 and 2004. The other alternative is the Naxos series. These use very similar sources but a difference way of treating the surface noise. More `hiss' but maybe a clearer and brighter sound. So in short, there are differences amongst the various versions available but basically, these are 1930's recordings and so the consideration here is more about buying as a whole set versus `instalments'.

One more point before you click to buy: there is no Op110 (No 31) here, but there are a couple of other works - a Fantasia and the `Fur Elise' bagatelle. So if you want Op110, you'll need to get this from either the `Icons' set, or another EMI compilation available, or Naxos. A puzzle. But don't let this stop you from buying an affordable piece of recording history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best bargain ever?, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beethoven Piano Sonatas (MP3 Download)
This is superb in every way - 101 tracks for 1.09. The sound quality is amazingly good for the period, very clear. The performances have met with almost universal acclaim for over 70 years. The fact that op.110 is not included is not a problem, as it is available as a separate download (a bit pricey though, at over 2!!)Very rewarding in every way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute brilliance, 29 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beethoven Piano Sonatas (MP3 Download)
I can't hope to match the eloquence of the other reviewers but once you get used to the fact that the recordings are nearly 80 years old the brilliance of Schnabel's performance more than makes up for this. At this price you would be foolish not to buy this (I'm listening to this on my iPod as I write this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artur Schnabel Plays the Beethoven Piano Sonatas, 12 Jan 2013
By 
Robin Friedman (Washington, D.C. United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beethoven Piano Sonatas (MP3 Download)
Artur Schnabel (1882 -- 1951) is one of the legendary pianists, revered for both the thoughtfulness and emotive quality of his playing. Up until the early 1930's, Schnabel played a broad repertoire. Beginning with his departure from Germany, he concentrated on the music of Schubert, Mozart, and Beethoven. In 1935, Schnabel completed recording the 32 solo piano sonatas of Beethoven. Although the cycle has been recorded by many pianists since then, Schnabel's Beethoven cycle was rightly regarded as a herculanean accomplishment. His readings of the sonatas still set the standard against which other recordings are measured.

In these readings, Schnabel captures the individualized character of each work, from the familiar to the lesser known. Schnabel offers oustanding interpretations of famous pieces such as the "Sonata Pathetique" and the "Moonlight" sonata, but he also treats with insight music that some listeners may find unfamiliar, such as the opus 10, sonatas, opus, 7, opus 22, and opus 28, the "Hunt" sonata, opus 31 no. 3, among others. I was paticularly interested in hearing his readings of the B-flat major sonata, opus 22, and the A-flat major, "Funeral March" sonata, opus 26, because these are pieces that I have recently been attempting myself.

These recordings are not technically flawless, Schabel goes well beyond mere techinque in his understanding of the spirit of this music.

At its bargain price, this MP3 download is difficult to resist. The recording quality is not up to modern standards but does not interfere with understanding what Schnabel was about.

In addition to the sonatas, this compilation includes two addition works for solo piano: the g minor fantasia, opus 77, and the famous little bagatelle "Fur Elise". Unfortunately one of the 32 sonatas, no 31 in A flat major opus 110 is missing. This is disappointing as that late sonata is one of Beethoven's greatest works in the form. I still felt grateful for all the music that was included more than I felt disappointed by the ommission.

I posted this review early in December, 2012, on the United States site but thought it would also interest review readers here. I had planned to hear the sonatas in chronological order at the rate of 2 or 3 per day, beginnning with the two early works published as opus 49 and then proceeding numberically from opus 2 through the final sonata, opus 111, My plan was to review the set on December 16, Beethoven's birthday. I had been ill for the past several days, however, and used my sick time to play through the set, in the chronological order I had planned. This chronological approach to the sonatas will allow the listener to hear the development of Beethoven's piano style.

Schnabel's Beethoven cycle remains an inspiration and a classic recording. Listeners with a serious interest in the Beethoven piano sonatas will want to know and reflect upon Schnabel's Beethoven.

Robin Friedman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable and irresistible, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beethoven Piano Sonatas (MP3 Download)
The reviewer who complained this is like listening to 78s actually got it right - these recordings are transferred from 78s, recorded between 1931 and 1935, and the first complete set of the Beethoven sonatas ever recorded (I don't know why No 31, Opus 110 is missing from this set - he certainly recorded it.) The sound is obviously not what we'd expect today - it's mono and fairly tinny - and the playing is not perfect either: there are fluffs and wrong notes which would have been re-done in a modern recording. Schnabel suffered from nerves in the studio - apparently he was note-perfect in concerts - and did not play at his best.

Nonetheless these performances are considered some of the greatest ever recorded - the phrasing, the tempos, the utter concentration and range of emotion remains exemplary and a continuing influence on pianists today. He provides a direct link to nineteenth century piano technique and style - he was taught by the celebrated teacher Theodor Leschetizky, who was taught by Czerny, who in turn was taught by Beethoven, and in his youth Schnabel knew Brahms and heard him play. Two quotations from Schnabel sum up his attitude: he once said that he only wanted to play 'music which is better than it could be performed', and, on another occasion, 'The notes I handle no better than many pianists. But the pauses between the notes--ah, that is where the art resides.'

Obviously you wouldn't want this as your only set of Beethoven sonatas - you'll want sound good enough to hear details of tone, touch and dynamic that are impossible to appreciate in these historic recordings, and for 'music better than it could be performed' like this you'll probably want to compare several different performances. And if you just want a recording of the 'Moonlight' or 'Pathetique' to play in the background while you do the housework, then this is definitely not for you.
But if you are a serious student of either Beethoven or the piano, this is indispensable, and at this price - it works out at less than 4p per sonata - irresistible too.

PS: I was reviewing the first MP3 issue of this, which was only 1.09, so my comments on the price are out of date (though it is still a bargain), and the missing Op 110 seems to be present in other versions of the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too rushed and smudged, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beethoven Piano Sonatas (MP3 Download)
Schnabel certainly speeds his way through these sopnatas, but for me, the music is never given time to breathe. I don't think his technique is up to it either - there are too many smudged or fluffed passages.

AT this price, they're worth listening to as historical curiosities, but, sorry, they wouldn't be in my list of top ten performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary value, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beethoven Piano Sonatas (MP3 Download)
I think I saved something ludicrous like 87 on this mp3. A wonderful recording of fabulous pieces for a completely crazy price. Splendid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit fuzzy, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beethoven Piano Sonatas (MP3 Download)
Lots of music for your money. I didn't realise this hadn't been digitally remastered, so when listening to it through my headphones, I can hear a constant drone in the background that detracts from the music, yet for the price, no complaints
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money music., 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beethoven Piano Sonatas (MP3 Download)
I am not a pianist, but I enjoy listening to piano music, and this huge selection of sonatas "does the trick" for me. No doubt if you listen to this on expensive speakers you might find fault, but as background music on my laptop it is ideal and consequently if you want something 'in the background' then this is good value for money. I can recommend it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Antique" signposts, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beethoven Piano Sonatas (MP3 Download)
@Sugarboy has left the most eloquent of reviews for these beautiful inspirational pieces.

Downside:
- These are soon to reach their 80th birthday. Recognising the recording techniques of the time these remain clear presentations of most of the sonatas.
- Mr. Schnabel was at the top of his game when these were recorded. However, he seems to have focussed on hitting the right notes ~ sometimes some the eloquence seems to be missing.

Upside:
- Insane price. Download these as (at the very least) the signposts for you to acquire different interpretations of the pieces. Be warned, some of the modern perfect recordings will sound soulless, stately and sterile after this "benchmark".
- Vital. Yes, I find the recording old and "blunt" ~ but I do know that someone is pounding it out as if the hounds from hell are at his heels. I swear you can hear the tea boy whistling along at times, it is that "alive".
- Schnabel. I have no idea how many variants of some of these sonata's you could buy today. 20? 40? When these were recorded they were the benchmark. The Gold Standard. They are what every subsequent modern pianist heard and was inspired to meet or exceed in their own career.

If you can find a better way of spending 1 or a couple of hours of you life I'd love to hear it :) Regards, CW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beethoven Piano Sonatas
The Beethoven Piano Sonatas by Artur Schnabel
Buy MP3 Album3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews