Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love this book
The Wide Window is one of Lemony Snicket's best yet. In this book the Baudelaire orphans encounter Count Olaf for the thirs time, this time disguised as Captain Sham. Their new guardian, Aunt Josephine, is frightened of everything, and believes every word Captain Sham says. Violet is an inventor, Klaus is an eager reader, and Sunny loves to bite things. This book is...
Published on 2 Jan 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I am a huge fan of this series, however The Wide Window is my least favorite of the series and just didn't do it for me. It has its witty moments but the aunt, obsessed with grammar, is hugely annoying.
Published on 6 Jun 2012 by Georgia Barker


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 2 Jan 2005
By A Customer
The Wide Window is one of Lemony Snicket's best yet. In this book the Baudelaire orphans encounter Count Olaf for the thirs time, this time disguised as Captain Sham. Their new guardian, Aunt Josephine, is frightened of everything, and believes every word Captain Sham says. Violet is an inventor, Klaus is an eager reader, and Sunny loves to bite things. This book is excellent and is full of surprises around each corner. i never wanted it to end. Sarah aged 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's (sic) good, but it's not Tim Curry, 27 Jan 2003
By 
Philip Clarke (Morsang sur Orge, France) - See all my reviews
These audio CDs are great when you have a journey to make in the car with orphans, er, children. Lemony Snicket is a great author, however, it is Tim Curry who brings the characters to life, and I was really looking forward to his rendition of Aunt Josphine. Imagine our collective disappointment when it became clear that LS was going to read the whole book himself.
Still the children were riveted to their seats! (figuratively)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book full of laughter and suffering...., 28 May 2004
By 
Michael Cawdrey "Codger" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is the 3rd book of unfortuante events written by Lemony Snicket. This book throws the Bauldilaire orphans into more suffering at the hands of the evil count Olaf. There are new characters including Aunt Josophine, a women obsessed with grammer corrections. Prepare for more humor and tradgic events brought to you by Lemony Snicket. I recomend that you read the 1st 2 books before you read this one, so you have a full understanding of the story. It is not as good as the 1st books, but it is still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one., 14 Jan 2005
By 
S. WATSON (HASLINGDEN, LANCS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 8 yr old daughter has enjoyed the first 3 of this series tremendously, this the best yet. They 'feel' like a good quality book, the storys have her hooked, & they have educational value, particularly with the use & explanation of some unusual words & phrases. I would recommend for any kids of her age & above. I believe they are future 'classics.' I don't feel younger readers would necessarily appreciate then sometimes dark nature of the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most gripping book I have read in a while, 2 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This is the best book I have read in a long time. It is exciting and gripping with a twist to every turn, Will the Baudelaire orphans be happy ever again? This book is a tantalizing concotion of depression,sarcasm,and irony all in a suttle mix with just the right amount of everything, I cannot wait to see what Lemony Snicket will bring out to amaze us next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite Lemony Snicket books, 18 July 2007
This book and The Erzats Elevator are my favourite books written by Lemony Snicket. The plot to this one is more intriguing than most of the others as it involves more exciting chapters. The chapters I am refering to are the ones where they are sailing in a hurricane and the leeches are attacking.

Lemony Snickets writing style is quite funny at times but it can also be quite tiresome after a while. I can't help but wish tha a more talented author had come up with the idea for this series and written it better.

I reccomend this series of books and especially this book but if you read the whole series I must warn you that the end of the series is terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still very good but Snicket should alter his style more, 14 Feb 2005
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A Series of Unfortunate Events is one of the best series for kids I have read, and I know that several adults like me enjoy it immensely. Snicket shows a great ability for amusing the reader through funny situations, but most of all through his narrative style. Of course, most of the time, the reader is not laughing, since the Baudelaire orphans are constantly facing miserable situations and in danger of falling under the claws of Count Olaf.
Violet is the oldest orphan and has a great ability for inventing new gadgets that have helped the orphans more than once when they were in trouble. Klaus is the middle one in age and the only male; he loves to read and his knowledge is far superior to most boys his age. Sunny is an infant and enjoys going around biting things with her four sharp teeth. The poor siblings lost their father and are now being chased around by Count Olaf, who wants to get their fortune. The Baudelaire's last tutor succumbed at the hands of the evil Count and now the kids are being taken to their new house by Mr. Poe, the executioner of the estate.
The sibling's new tutor, Aunt Josephine, lives in a house that is leaning over a cliff above Lake Lachrymose. The scary thing is that the lake is infested with hungry leeches, and since these predators killed Josephine's husband, she is terrified of the lake. She is also afraid of stoves, doorknobs, and a whole myriad of harmless things. Due to some of the aunt's fears, the orphans have to eat cold food and refrain from answering the phone. On top of that, they have to endure the grammar "lessons" Josephine is constantly delivering because she loves the subject.
Even though things are not perfect, the Baudelaire siblings are content with their new situation. That is until Count Olaf shows his ugly face in a new disguise, repeating in his approach to getting the desired fortune a pattern already seen in the past. This is the only criticism I have for this book and the reason why I am not giving it five stars. I hope that in the next installment, the author changes the basic structure of the story flow. I am still very much eager though to read the next book and to watch the movie coming out in December 2004, which is based on the first three books of the series: "The Bad Beginning", "The Reptile Room" and "The Wide Window".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Third installment in the series of unfortunate events, 30 Nov 2002
By 
Prasho Boy (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
The wide window by Lemony Snicket is the third and most adventure seeking episode. The story follows the Baudlaire children who are orphaned and shifted around avoiding Count Olaf who is after the money they have. This story describes the hardship vividly and puts you in the position of the 3 children.
They are in their uncles widow s care who is scared of most things and creating a sense of craziness which make thier struggle sound more terrible.
Overall it is a great book for adult and child alike. The description is great and makes it believable and then it is by an American author so the language may be confusing to British readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A macrbre but hilarious book, 1 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This or should I say these books are extremely funny and exciting don't be put off by the blurb of this book as the supposedly glum and gloomy baudelaire children get them selves into no end of unusual scrapes.This is definatly the book I would choose to settle down with when feeling bored or on a rainy day a definate must have for all book lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great in the series, 6 July 2014
By 
Jennifer May (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Another great read from Snicket, I'm getting quite addicted to these! my only gripe is that I find it pretty unrealistic that Mr Poe still doesn't believe the orphans when they say Count Olaf is after them, even though they've been proved right twice before, and that they're always saved from his clutches at the last second, but these are children's books so it's only to be expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS Book 3 THE WIDE WINDOW
A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS Book 3 THE WIDE WINDOW by Lemony. Helquist, Brett (illustrated) Snicket (Hardcover - 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews