Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Fit, 20 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin (Audio CD)
Marc Almond has always been a brave and criminally underrated artist. We get further proof of this on his new album, "Orpheus In Exile", where once again he delves into the rich legacy of Gypsy /Russian folk music (his first instalment, "Heart On Snow", came out in 2003).

On this release he focuses on a single singer/ composer, Vadim Kozin, a man who spent most of his long life (he died at ninety-one) exiled in Magadan, Siberia, for two very simple reasons: a) he refused to kowtow to the ferocious little men who "governed" Russia at the time and b) he was suspected of being a homosexual (homophobia, you know, needs very little to thrive).

Recorded in Moscow and backed by the Rossia Orchestra (eleven players), Mr Almond delivers here a touching album comprising fourteen songs, whose lyrics were specially translated into English for him.

It is a beautiful, acoustic set, where accordeon and violin weave a pefect frame for his vocals, as always silken, melodious and poignant. These wistful ballads expertly combine bare emotion with moral strength and exert such power that you will not be allowed indifference. They also fit Mr Almond's artistic persona like a sequined glove and are another invaluable tessella in his long, fruitful solo career.

Do not exile him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
RPS "RPS" (British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin (Audio CD)
An amazing collection of songs interpreted by Marc. Everyone of the songs is outstanding in every way. Lush orchestrations, strong vocals and mesmerizing lyrics. An emotional roller coaster, of joy to sorrow to defiance to hopelessness and back again to hope. With the story of Vadim Kozin looming in the background it's hard not to feel the deeper emotion in these songs that Marc taps into.

The album has a gypsy-folk, traditional sounding russian acoustic orchestration that I love. It's an exciting novel project. My hat is off to Mr. Almond for this surprising, entertaining, and thrilling piece of work.

I love all the tracks - i can't find one that doesn't stir me in some way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply moving and honest, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
Hagelberg Timi "epinoia" (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin (Audio CD)
I got this album yesterday and have been listening it nearly 10 times. Songs are so beautiful that I barely can hold back my tears while listening to them. I've been 20 years a Marc Almond enthusiast and own most of his recordings and although I've had this album less than 24 hours, it rocketed to the top-10 of my favourite Marc Almond albums among Jacques, Absinthe, Violent Silence and Mother Fist, Heart on Snow, Gabriel and the Lunatic Lover etc.

This is another brilliant showcase of Marc Almond's deep dedication to bring forth unknown or forgotten artists and songs to English-speaking public.

Both Katia Strelnitski's translations and the Almond's and Feodorov's decision to keep the arrangements traditional and simple seem to hold very true to the original spirit of the songs to my ears.

Thanks so much Vadim Kozin (You are not forgotten!), Marc Almond, Alexei Fedorov, Orchestra "Rossia", Anatole Sobolev and everyone who somehow helped to conceive this masterpiece of slavic/gypsy melancholy and romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEWCOMER, 3 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin (Audio CD)
I RECENTLY HEARD A DISCUSSION ON BBC RADIO 4 WITH MARC ALMOND DESCRIBING HOW HE WAS ABLE TO FUND THE MAKING OF THIS CD. MARK DESCRIBED HOW WHILST VISITING RUSSIA HE WAS ASKED BY A BRIDEGROOM TO PLAY WHATEVER MUSIC THE BRIDE REQUESTED, MARC DULY TOOK UP POSITION BEHIND THE BRIDE WHO TURNED TO REQUEST WHICHEVER SONG SHE DESIRED THIS LASTED THROUGHOUT THE CELEBRATIONS, IN RETURN MARC ALMOND WAS OFFERED THE USE OF A RECORDING STUDIO WITH ORCHESTRA. I ONLY HEARD A SMALL EXCERPT OF THIS CD AND WAS BLOWN AWAY BY IT I CAN'T WAIT TO HEAR MORE, HE HAS CERTAINLY OPENED MY EYES OR SHOULD THAT BE EARS TO A DIFFERENT TYPE OF MUSIC AND I INTEND TO BUY SEVERAL COPIES OF THE CD AS GIFTS FOR FRIENDS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely thing, 25 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin (Audio CD)
A perfect little gem of an album. One of Marc's best, and my favourite covers album. Give it a chance... once you've played it a few times and become used to the style of these Russian songs, you will be Hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 29 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin (Audio CD)
Loving every minute of this wonderful music, i'm not a great one for writing reviews, but you must go and buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Masterpiece, 27 Oct. 2009
By 
A. Soares (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin (Audio CD)
And Marc Almond does it again, he revives beatiful songs from the past with a voice to die for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open Minded, 14 Oct. 2009
By 
J P (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin (Audio CD)
Well if I'm honest I never thought I would be buying a Mark Almond album as I am just not that kind of girl...and I was too presumptuous to realise he had moved on massively from his pop career (not that he didn't do some belting disco tracks) I've bought this on the back of hearing a couple of tracks on the radio. I don't know why, but this Gypsey/Russian music just blows me away, and Marc Almond has translated it beautifully and his translation of these songs just sings to my soul. This is a really special album full of colour texture and passion. Its the stuff dreams are made of... I don't know why this album isn't being played more, I can't understand that people don't want to make this main stream, but there you are... If this review makes any sense to you what so ever, be brave and buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic as good as the show!, 25 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic full of heartfelt lyrics telling fantastic stories, we heard some of the songs live at his show in Birmingham and the album doesn't dissapoint, he is a true artiste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin
Orpheus In Exile - The Songs Of Vadim Kozin by Marc Almond (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews