Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars23
3.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2010
I think Johnny Vegas is hilarious, his improvised rants are inspired and hysterical, but this dvd struggles to get many laughs. He does his drunken loser act, but fails to make it funny. It's about as entertaining as listening to the average pub drunk, and the audience participation falls flat as his targets don't seem to want to get into the spirit of it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
I agree with the other reviewers. I watched this DVD as a big fan of Johnny Vegas, but sadly this show fails to impress. The main problem is that his jokes and anecdotes just aren't that funny. I think his humor appeals to a certain type of audience, but even then it seems that at times, even this audience is uncomfortable. Johnny plays his drunk and obnoxious loud mouthed entertainer act. It makes for some cringe worthy viewing which barely raises a few smiles. There are so many better comedians out there. This is an hour you will wish you hadn't wasted, trust me!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
This performance is equivalent to watching a drunken uncle at a family wedding futilely attempting to disco dance. It's just plain embarassing from start to finish. Some say he is cutting edge and inventive. I say, he's just not funny.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2009
Like most people I enjoy the period prior to Christmas when all the worlds top stand up comedians release new material fit for the hours following a tremendous Christmas meal, this however is not the case with Johnny Vegas - Live at the Benidorm Palace. The 'larger than life' comedian roled on stage with a drunken stagger, his routine askew with ramblings of his life with his mother and father, and the occasional trip to the audience to embarrass the young women enjoying their time in Spain. For moments their was a shining light in which I thought Vegas may have been acting the fool with his witty comebacks, only to be transported back to the world of strange stories and obscure references. To those thinking "I like that bloke of the telly he's funny in that show set in Spain" remember that writers were paid good money to make this man funny on ITV and don't bother waisting your hard earned money on this hour long embarrassment when the likes of Jimmy Carr, Russell Howard, and Jason Manford are only a click away.
55 comments|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
I got this as a christmas present and was looking forward to watching it after watching the excellent Benidorm TV series staring Johnny Vegas. Johnny Vegas comes on stage in a drunken stupor, wanted to turn it off after 5 minutes. Don't bother wasting your money because it's "crap".."This Man is one of the true Comic Embarrassments"
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
I love Johnny V, Ideal is the wittiest, most original, most tears down the face series since Fawlty Towers, JV just makes this insane reality thats often near the edge seam so plausible and relatable, Genius.

However in this DVD regardless If hes playing an alter ego like the pub land or not this DVD is a TRAIN WRECK, if your a JV fan avoid like the plague.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
do not buy it and waste your money. I was there when it was filmed he was so drunk and it was not an act. He was boowd of the stage. total crap
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Brilliant live show from a very funny guy. Well worth repeated views. My only problem is that its the only live dvd he's done to date which is a real shame as it was fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
I was perhaps expecting so much more from this video after enjoying the T.V.series enormously.The jokes were old and tired . Johnny seemed genuinely drunk and lost the interest of his audience several times. The best part was the audience themselves. It was obvious where the material for the brilliant series came from. What a bunch of social misfits! Stick to better written scripts Johnny, we still love you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
Johnny Vegas is frustratingly inconsistent. When he's on form there is (in my opinion) nobody better. Why on earth, when you're one of the nation's best alternative stand-up comedians (again, in my opinion) would you want to try and do a performance reminiscent of the desperately unfunny Roy Chubby Brown? His interaction with the audience is cruel to the point of being unfunny and the material is crude for the sake of being crude (wouldn't have been so bad if he could have done something amusing with it). It could have been he tailored his material to suit the drunken yob culture of Brits abroad but I doubt it, it's more likely that Johnny's own personal demons (i.e. alcoholism)are getting the better of him and hindering his performance in what he does best. There are the occasional flashes of brilliance though and the DVD extra where he has a drunken comic rant at the person trying to get him to the theater is a lot more amusing than the main feature. It's got some negative reviews on here (unfairly I think), but I would personally recommend Who's Ready For Ice-Cream? if you want to see Johnny at his best.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.