Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
This is the first Grayling book that I have read, and I'm very impressed. Although short, it is a classic example of quality rather than quantity - good points, well made, beautifully written, and attractively bound.

I won't compare it directly to "The God Delusion" (Dawkins) because it is a totally different kind of book (philosophical rather than scientific)...
Published on 17 April 2007 by Jack Richardson

versus
67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but no new eye-openers
This is a small booklet about why we shouldn't respect religion a priori, about Intelligent Design, and morality; it explains why there's no such thing as a fundamentalist atheist, and what's the difference between the words atheist, secularist, and humanist. Grayling prefers the word "naturalist" instead of atheist (the contrary of "supernaturalist", being any religious...
Published on 26 May 2007 by M. de Boer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 17 April 2007
This is the first Grayling book that I have read, and I'm very impressed. Although short, it is a classic example of quality rather than quantity - good points, well made, beautifully written, and attractively bound.

I won't compare it directly to "The God Delusion" (Dawkins) because it is a totally different kind of book (philosophical rather than scientific) but where Dawkins takes rather a long time to explain his (sometimes quite obscure) points, Grayling sums up what it means to live in a world without god(s) in succinct, satisfying chapters.

If you do believe in god (and I totally respect your right to do so...) then I still challenge you to read Grayling's book, and reflect on its sentiments. Many of us atheists have done the same with books such as "The Dawkins Delusion" (McGrath).

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, 8 Aug. 2007
By 
M. Nelson "aphra" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm thinking of buying copies as gifts for people who don't appear to understand the meaning of secularism, or who keep going on about Prof Richard Dawkins and others being 'fundamentalist atheists' (there's no such thing, says Grayling). I like the contents and I like the neat little hard-back binding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but no new eye-openers, 26 May 2007
By 
M. de Boer (Zuidlaren, Drenthe, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a small booklet about why we shouldn't respect religion a priori, about Intelligent Design, and morality; it explains why there's no such thing as a fundamentalist atheist, and what's the difference between the words atheist, secularist, and humanist. Grayling prefers the word "naturalist" instead of atheist (the contrary of "supernaturalist", being any religious person), and he defends why quite convincingly. I read it in one afternoon, and although it's not a bad book at all, I didn't find any new, eye-opening issues in it. This is probably due to the fact I recently read The God Delusion (Dawkins), The End Of Faith, Letter To A Christian Nation (Harris), and Losing Faith in Faith (Barker), which cover the same issues thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grayling, 27 Aug. 2009
The fact that there are lots of reviews here ridiculing this book is a good sign that it is worth reading if you want to balance up in your mind other points of view to theology.

Much of Grayling's books are material gathered from his newspaper articles for the guardian - which somewhat accounts for the brief style. Not everyone wants to read through the long scientific basis for humanism. Graylings books are accessible - which is more than can be said for much philosophy. I have read some of the chapters at a humanist group to start off debate, which is another way to use these meditations.

I don't understand the put down that Grayling is merely on the Dawkins bandwagon. Grayling is a philosopher and Dawkins is a scientist. Presumably then the same applies to any Christian writer who writes a book on a similar topic to one that has already been covered? And even if he were 'jumping on the bandwagon' as many have said it is very different in style and therefore different readers will find it helpful.

There is plenty of argument and reason in this book contrary to what some have said. If it leaves you at times wishing he went further into a topic I agree - but it does cause you to reflect on what he has said and think for yourself which is what humanists aim to do.

If there is one thing that is slightly disapointing in Graylings books is that some of his essays do appear in more than one of his books - perhaps slightly expanded, and you sometimes buy one to find some of the content is stuff you have already read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little Rationalist primer, 27 Mar. 2009
By 
GM Jones (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not so much a book, as a long magazine article between hard covers, this is nevertheless a good, punchy primer for the putative non-believer.

I worry about those who say they read it "In a few hours" or "in an afternoon". You can finish it in just over an hour, and if you're a fast reader, even less. It really isn't very long at all.

A brief, pungent little tome, this is a useful book to keep handy, especially when arguing with Believers on the Internet. There's one thing I would take issue with, however.

Grayling states that non-believers shouldn't call themselves "Atheists" as the very term hints at "Theism" and is therefore arguing with believers on their own turf. Fair enough, but The alternative he comes up with is "Naturalists."

Now, I don't know about you, but when I think of a "naturalist" I think of David Attenborough. That gentleman's own beliefs notwithstanding, I think the term could cause more than a little confusion.

Also, having looked at the author photograph on the flyleaf, I'm of the opinion that Grayling really ought to rethink that haircut...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 3 Dec. 2007
By 
B. Murphy (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a tightly argued philosophical polemic against religion, but it is no less warm and accessible for that.

Grayling argues that we grow as a species through our human relationships. We do not need "antique superstitions" to be moral individuals, or lead fulfilling lives.

Moreover Grayling demonstrates that the atheist position - that of not having a belief in any Gods - is far warmer, more positive and altogether more enlightening than "spiritual" reliance on Middle Eastern myths.

I agree with an earlier contributor that the biggest gripe about the book is the price, given the volume of text (I read it all in one evening sitting). However, the argument is pure gold, and given what is at stake, that in itself is worth the cover price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great little read, 13 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. Simon Paul Lucas "neophyte26" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book fairly quickly (in a few hours) and found that it was to the point and carefully reasoned. It's nice to read a book where on several occassions, you lift your eyebrows in surprise at little snippets of information you never knew before for example, that jesus wasn't the first virgin birth in religious mythology. I also found amusing the description of the C of E Vicar as a tea sipping and amiable chap that's always friendly and welcoming - unless of course, you provide them with the levers of power. I think A. C. Grayling has written a lovely little book here, just right for sitting back and reading with a cup of coffee of an afternoon. I would also recommend A.C. Graylings' The Choice of Hercules to flesh out some of the ideas in Against All Gods.

This book would be ideal for someone with Secular Humanist leanings who don't just want to define what they don't believe (ie, God), but rather what they actually do believe (ie, human values based within the context of this one precious life).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 April 2008
By 
James Ingram (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Succinct and to the point. Written with wit and eloqunce. If Dawkins has a powerful right hook, Greyling simply knocks the opposition down with a few short jabs and then walks away without even rubbing his knuckles.

To see exactly how effective his arguments are, read the reviews below which give the book just one star, and see the logic that those reviews employ.

Everyone should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Also superb, 4 May 2007
By 
Mr. Clive S. Durdle (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Grayling in the introduction notes this is a very short book - but notes all the arguments are expanded on in his other books and one Hercules - coming out later this year.

I agree we are witnessing the death throes of religion and yes garden gnome worshippers do have an equal right to a seat in the Lords and to set up faith based schools.

Anything else is returning to the Roman concept of religio and superstitio - just because it is an old mouldy superstition does not mean it is any less mumbo jumbo!

Buy it and enjoy and pass it on to give someone else a chuckle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction with some original points., 1 April 2008
By 
Guy Dalziel (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This short but excellent book will make a fine addition to my collection. While this book may be short it is by no means lacking a punch. A. C. Grayling articulates himself clearly and gets straight to the heart of the issue at hand.

We start off by looking at whether or not religion is worthy of respect, of which, of course, the answer is no. The only thing that should be worthy of respect is whether a person is a decent human being. "It is time to reverse the prevailing notion that religious commitment is intrinsically deserving of respect." We then move on to more harder issues such as the inculcation of children into religion and the fact that 3/4 of Church of England schools are primary schools. As Richard Dawkins would say, this is child abuse: forcing a choice upon them before they have the mental acuity in which to make a rational decision for themselves.

If you're looking for a nice introduction for the rational rejection of belief in supernatural entities of any kind, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Against All Gods Six Polemics on Religion and an Essay on Kindness
Used & New from: £9.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews