Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars salter - review
This is a good timer, like many of the timers on the market it has one major flaw, that you can't press the buttons whilst it is stuck to something using the magnet as it will fall off. However, I cannot fault it in any other way, good display, large buttons and very easy to use.
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by JimMc

versus
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great display but buttons not intuitive
This timer has a good loud alarm and can be used as a stopclock or as a timer.

I bought this timer because of the large display, however the buttons all look the same and it is hard to read what they are (I am starting to need reading glasses). It is a struggle to quickly see which button I should press to set the time or start/stop the alarm. A nice big button...
Published on 12 April 2010 by Island Girl


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars salter - review, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Salter Contour Electronic Timer (Kitchen & Home)
This is a good timer, like many of the timers on the market it has one major flaw, that you can't press the buttons whilst it is stuck to something using the magnet as it will fall off. However, I cannot fault it in any other way, good display, large buttons and very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what you need, 27 Dec 2010
By 
Charles Barsley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salter Contour Electronic Timer (Kitchen & Home)
This timer has a large clear display, and a very loud alarm when it reaches zero - I can hear it throughout the house.

Also the Timer has a count up function - I'm not sure when I would use this but a useful extra function.

All in all a perfectly good timer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great display but buttons not intuitive, 12 April 2010
By 
Island Girl (Isle of Wight, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Salter Contour Electronic Timer (Kitchen & Home)
This timer has a good loud alarm and can be used as a stopclock or as a timer.

I bought this timer because of the large display, however the buttons all look the same and it is hard to read what they are (I am starting to need reading glasses). It is a struggle to quickly see which button I should press to set the time or start/stop the alarm. A nice big button at the bottom to stop/start would work so much better and bigger print on the buttons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Used to be good but buttons now poor, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salter Contour Electronic Timer (Kitchen & Home)
Frustrating. There are two versions of this timer, the first was extremely good, and the later one poor. They look similar from the front, but the original version has just one magnet at the back. This seemed to be the only issue with this version, as it didn't stick to a fridge etc very well and it tipped if you tried to press a button. But when free standing I have found them flawless, buttons operate properly every time, loud beep, does everything you need, and I have used them extensively for cooking commercially. So when I ordered some more recently it was very frustrating to find they had changed, though initially it looked for the better. The improvement is that they now have four magnets at the back, one at each corner, and so they stick much better to a metal surface, and pressing the buttons becomes possible when mounted like this. But the two downsides are that a) the beep is not so loud, which is minor for me but perhaps not for others, and b) the big one, which is that the buttons no longer operate correctly every time, but very, very often either fail to register, or register a double press. This unfortunately renders them really frustrating to use, to the point where I no longer want to use them at all. Salter have unfortunately turned a really good timer into a poor one. If they could fix the button problem, then they would go back to being brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Starts good but begins to fail, 10 July 2013
By 
R. Griffiths (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salter Contour Electronic Timer (Kitchen & Home)
It is a good timer in several ways. It has a large screen, the buttons are big and easy to find and the alarm is reasonably loud.

After a few months the buttons start to get inaccurate. You push them and they make a beep sound but then fail to work. Sometimes they do work and on other occasions work twice, that is they turn the timer on then off in the same push. The buttons also become more difficult to use and you have to push from exactly the right angle for them to work.

It is really annoying that Salter make a nice timer but also make out of rubbish components so you have to go and buy a new one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I just hate it - it irritates me every time I use it., 17 July 2014
By 
G. Wood (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salter Contour Electronic Timer (Kitchen & Home)
It's an odd thing to have strong opinion about a kitchen timer - it demonstates how annoying these things are that I do.
I have x2 times in the kitchen - both this model.
One was faulty on receipt, one developed a fault within warranty.
They use really, really annoying LR44 type batteries, they type you are guaranteed not to have to hand when the jusice starts to run out - I also find they're curiously heavy on the battery life too.

Mostly though these things are just terrible to use and badly designed. They're rounded at the back, which means if they're on a fridge (as they're designed to be) and you press a button you'll knock the thing off.
The buttons don't always work on first press - and you're guaranteed not to notice until you realise the alarm hasn't gone off...leading to many a swearing session.
The rounded shape and shiny surface also make them perfect for slipping out of your slightly wet kitchen hands and dropping.

So it's badly designed, poorly constructed with dubious reliability and uses an annoying battery type.
I'm actually impressed Salter's design department managed to arrive at a design so comprehensively poorly thought-out and then equally badly constructed.
If the opposite of the Red Dot design Awards existed this thing would get my vote - I hate it and wish I'd never purchased it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as the old one., 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salter Contour Electronic Timer (Kitchen & Home)
Bought to replace a worn out Salter timer. The Contour Electric Timer is easy to use and, although not quite as loud as my old one, is still a first class product. I tend to use it in freestanding mode and the large display means that it can been seen from some distance. All in all I am very pleased with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shoddy, 13 Oct 2013
This review is from: Salter Contour Electronic Timer (Kitchen & Home)
From reading other reviews it seems there are two versions of this product and I have the 4 magnet version which is appalling quality - the buttons just don't work - you have to press them numerous times to try to stop or start the timer. Would have given it no stars if possible. It will be going in the bin as soon as I find a replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Salter Contour Electronic Timer, 24 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salter Contour Electronic Timer (Kitchen & Home)
Its a timer and it works, beeper is nice and loud so can hear it in the lounge from the kitchen.

Usual Salter quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Functional but annoying back design, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Salter Contour Electronic Timer (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this timer and was happy with its functions whilst I held it in my hand. Not till I used the magnetic fixing on the back did I realise how silly it is, as the magnet does not fit the whole width of the timer, so therefore when you press the side buttons to switch it on or off, it off centres, and falls off the fridge/cooker hood or wherever you have it adhered. Very frustrating. Ended up falling in a saucepan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salter Contour Electronic Timer
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews