Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine collection of excellent B-sides and Demos
Well done to Gomez! This is a very good collection of rare tracks. This album has a very rocky feel to it, and with the added advantage of vinyl - it sounds even better, buy this only if you have bought "bring it on" and "liquid skin", as you will apprecate the different versions of "78 stone shuffle" (or wobble) and "We haven't turned...
Published on 27 Sep 2000 by hazza_84@hotmail.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mish-mash of dodgy tracks with a couple releasable ones.
Not for anyone new to Gomez, but certainly for the conoseur. It shows a rather hastilly put together album to make a bit of cash, perhaps to provide fans with some decent music comparable with that of Bring It On and Liquid Skin.
Published on 9 Oct 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars getting better all the time, 13 Jan 2005
Believe it or not, Abandoned Shopping Trolley Hotline was the first Gomez album I bought. Yes, now I look back at it I laugh, and I imagine other Gomez fans who've heard this album to raise a smile at such a choice for a first time listener also.
In all honesty I hated it! After a brief listen it swiftly journeyed to the bottom of a somewhat 'thin on the ground' CD collection, to be later discovered and stolen by a sibling. But in hindsight I'm not surprised I disliked it at first. The album is definately a listen. A perfect representation of Gomez' highly sophisticated 'beyond their years' sound that so many critics went on about. Its fair to say that the bluesy, atmospheric, experimental features such an album contains weren't particularly appealing to someone not used to the Gomez sound. Oh yeah, not forgetting my age at the time. (I'm sure it was released earlier than 2002!) But like all Gomez albums, and like the finest of aingle malts it got better with age. A few more listens (after retrieving it from the sibling some months, if not years after) rendered the album a great listen. Something that fuelled my admiration for this truly unique slice of British music. Unfortunately i've lost the CD, but it still remains as one of my favourites, although to all those non familiar with Gomez, listen before you buy. And then listen to it again, and again, and...again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine collection of excellent B-sides and Demos, 27 Sep 2000
Well done to Gomez! This is a very good collection of rare tracks. This album has a very rocky feel to it, and with the added advantage of vinyl - it sounds even better, buy this only if you have bought "bring it on" and "liquid skin", as you will apprecate the different versions of "78 stone shuffle" (or wobble) and "We haven't turned around". This is a must for a Gomez Fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans :), 26 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Its good. Very good. But then, I'm biased - I'm a Gomez fan. More Detail? Goodness, you are demanding..
This album will please anyone who's a Gomez veteran - While it's similar to the first two albums in some ways, some of it is very different. Especially since it contains unreleased material and B-sides from the first two albums. You'll also notice a few re-mixes in here, such at the X-Ray version of 'We Haven't Turned Around' - all very well, but I can't help but be a little disappointed with them, I mean, same song and all that :)
BUT, if you happen to be a Gomez newcomer I'd recommend you stay clear of this album, and go for one of the first 2 albums, Bring It On or Liquid Skin. This give a more accessible Gomez than the one presented here :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More great Gomez, 2 Aug 2009
By 
Francis Mitchell "EvilNoddy" (Ware, Hertfordshire (UK)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A mixed, but mainly excellent, bag. How 'Buena Vista' did not make it onto a pukka studio album I do not know but thank goodness Gomez have a healthy method of releasing 'B' sides and outtakes at reasonable prices so that such tracks can get a wider audience. The mellotron version of 'We Haven't Turned Around' is a dark cousin of 'Strawberry Fields' and 'High On Liquid Skin' is downright unsettling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best album I own, 24 Aug 2004
This is a reworking of Gomez's work and as such you may feel that you do not need this recording. You would be very wrong! It is simply outstanding and my most listened to album. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gomez rock, 12 Jan 2003
By A Customer
They keep on coming up with great albums and this is no exception. It keeps all the things I liked about the other albums but moves on artistically to a new level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not their best album as a whole, but great in parts., 9 April 2001
By A Customer
The opening song, 'Shitbag 9', is an ample opener but not what I would call vintage Gomez, with 'bring your loving..' sounding like it would fit in well on Liquid skin. 'Emergency surgery' submereges you into the cool, atmospheric groove that I think Gomez pull off so well. Tracks 4,5,6 & 7 are truly excellent and you soon find yourself lying back, eyes closed, allowing every crackling melody to wash across you. Following that, tracks 12 and 13 stuck out in my mind as excellent offerings, and worthy of being on either of their earlier albums. 'The Cowboy song' and 'Getting Better Man' are both good fun but probably not what I would have chosen to end an album on. Definately worth a listen for any Gomez fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 11 Nov 2000
couple of new/live-ish versions of tracks from the other two albums - but they're good'uns - and a couple of covers too ... all in all I'm really impressed with it, but not as sound as the last two albums - think they should've gone all out and made it all live or something ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's getting better all the time, 10 Nov 2000
By A Customer
..and it is hard to better the previous albums Gomez have made, but this one does it. It is superb, varied and a genuinely enjoyable listen from beginning to end. It is great to see that the stunning track 'Rosemary' has finally made it on to an album, and I defy anyone to record a better cover of 'It's Getting Better.' Gomez have progresssed and it is great to see that they have gone back to some of their grass root recordings and put them out there for the world to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Top Notch Once Again!!!, 24 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Gomez is so different from all these other bands, they use such a wide and strange veriety of instruments, and when you listen really carefully (which is pretty hard not to) you can hear all these wonderful noises. Also they have a wide range of vocals, which is different, on the whole another ACE album from the GOMEZ boys. Go GOMEZ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews