Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Avengers 3
Immaculately dressed in a three-piece suit, Steed oozes class. He lives in a select London District, drives a vintage Bentley and insists on his coffee being stirred ant-clockwise. His manners are impeccable. He has a sword hidden in his umbrella, which he can use to defend himself. At the same time he has the utmost courtesy to his adversary. He also has a protective...
Published on 3 Aug. 2011 by Marcia

versus
4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of money
After having purchased and thoroughly enjoyed series 4 and to a slightly lesser extent, series 5, I thought I would add this to my collection as I had never seen any of these episodes before. What a big mistake. The difference between the picture quality of this and the following series is dramatic. These are poor quality with many picture faults flashing across the...
Published on 19 July 2012 by Mr. B. K. Edmunds


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Avengers 3, 3 Aug. 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Immaculately dressed in a three-piece suit, Steed oozes class. He lives in a select London District, drives a vintage Bentley and insists on his coffee being stirred ant-clockwise. His manners are impeccable. He has a sword hidden in his umbrella, which he can use to defend himself. At the same time he has the utmost courtesy to his adversary. He also has a protective bowler hat.

In this fabulous series three of The Avengers the character Cathy Gale (Honour Blackman), a widowed anthropologist and Judo expert is partner to Steed throughout. We also see the story lines go from mundane detective work and counter intelligence to futuristic international intrigue.
Cathy Gale is different from other female characters of the time. She often is dressed in tight black leather and "kinky boots".
The show still has rawness in its production style and presentation but things have improved. The plot lines are more interesting and it is a much better show than series one and two.

The theme music is by Johnny Dankworth. There are some good bonus features, The individual DVD cases fit far too tight into the outer box and there are no subtitles. Also the picture and sound are from video film source and not the greatest quality.

The season three DVD set of the Avengers makes an interesting and entertaining piece of vintage TV. This is the season to truly start investigating the world of the Avengers. Generally this is a great show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive first strong female partner for John Steed!, 30 July 2010
By 
Wolfgang Karpf (Tainach) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
It's a well-known classic TV-Show here in Austria. But we never got acquainted with Mrs Cathy Gale. The show became cult when Mrs Emma Peel entered the scene... so for me watching the Gale-eps was a very interesting and entertaining experience! The show was so different during the Steed/Gale-era from what I'm used to see when I tuned in to see "The Avengers". The "Optimum"-DVD-release simply is great and worth every Euro I invested in! The digitally restored episodes are a pleasure to watch and there are worlds in between the videotape- and first DVD-releases! The extras are superb: audio commentaries, filmed introductions by Honor Blackman and Patrick Macnee and much more. From one Avengerphile to the other: Don't waste time - buy it! You won't regret it!!! THANKS SO MUCH "Optimum" and JAZ WISEMAN for all the extra-ordinary effort you all put in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I had a time machine..., 12 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Overlook some of the dubious production values (use of video tape, etc) and the third series of The Avengers marks a welcome contrast to the increasingly fantastical bent of later years. The dialogue is crisp and timeless, Patrick Macnee feels an altogether fresher and more dangerous male lead, and Honor Blackman is just irresistibly demure. An Avengers 'woman', not a '- girl'. If I had a time machine I would go back and marry her...I'd try it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine duo. Steed and Mrs Gale., 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
A surprisingly fascinating series. I say surprisingly because I love Emma Peel. A hard act to follow. But not to precede it seems. Steed and Cathy make a fine couple. Although,at time,it lacks a little rapport. This is series three. So it gets better. The stories improve greatly, making way for Emma.
If you're a fan of the Avengers, you won't be disappointed. If you haven't seen them before. Give it a try. You'll be surprisingly fascinated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avengers Deluxe, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
Fredric A. Cooper "Hollies fan" (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The first set has proven to be the definitive collection on The Avengers' early years, and this second box completes the picture. This is a super upgrade from all previous collections, as there are numerous extras to be found as well as the best-ever picture quality. These early shows are real gems, and now we have them completely uncut, as originally broadcast, complete with the acts separated with title cards (or whatever they're called). Anyway, now the show is complete without those awkward fade outs and fade ins with the cards edited out. The image quality of the episodes is the main draw, and finally we see them in all of their black and white (or monochrome) glory. These sets are pricy but worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Catherine Gale is the original and best of all, 7 Aug. 2011
By 
Chaz "Avengers-fan" (Scotland/Luxembourg) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
In spite of a lack of later technical advances which has added to the 'theatrical' nature of The Avengers Series 2-3, the character of Dr Cathy Gale is truly breathtaking. She is opinionated, principled and very beautiful: a sheer English Rose and Amazone all rolled into one with a brain and cut-glass accent to match. She can also fight and hold her own. Cathy Gale is now my favourite Avenger's lady. This series really is a gem and a must for all true fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shadows of the Future, 18 Mar. 2011
By 
A. J. Bradbury "Andy B." (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm still making my way through the full 26 episodes - not to mention the extras - and I'll extend this review when I've seen the whole thing.

So why are you posting a review now? asked a voice from the back.

Because when watching episode 6 (disk 2) "Man with Two Shadows" I noticed something that fans of "The Prisoner" might want to check out:

Are there enough similar elements in this episode to suggest that it might have planted a seed of an idea in Patrick McGoohan's mind for a series about a secret agent in a kind of holiday camp?

I'm not suggesting that this one episode, written by "Callan" creator, James Mitchell, was as comprehensively thought out as to be called a prototype of "The Prisoner". And it certainly doesn't have the advantage of being set in somewhere with the quirkiness of Port Meirion (in fact it seems to be entirely studio-based).
But are there enough similarities to be worth mentioning?

See for yourself.

(More to come)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SERIES THREE LOOKS BETTER THAN EVER, 15 Feb. 2010
By 
KM WHITEHOUSE (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The third series of The Avengers is 100% free of the dreadful Venus Smith character and continues to develope the characters of Steed and Cathy Gale. Although I am too young to remember the original Avengers series as I wasn't born, I used to watch the repeats that featured Emma Peel, until I got hold of the videos of the earlier series. At first I didn't like them, but after owning series 2 & 3 on DVD they grew on me and have to say that Cathy Gale was far better than Emma Peel. This remastered DVD set is a vast improvement of the Contender box set with better picture quality and special features and a 3rd of the size of the original box set release.

As with the remastered Series One DVD set, I think that some of the episodes could have had the white lines from the video tapes removed by computer as it feels like watching a VHS cassette that is slighlty worn in parts, but that is the only fault I can find with this set.

The extras also include Gale Force, Part 2, Avenging The Avengers documentary from the early 1990's that was only included on the VHS Contender issues & not the DVDs.

It would be a mistake to remake or reboot The Avengers as it is one of the best love British TV shows ever made.

Giving this a 4 star due to damaged cheap and nasty slimline cases. These ones that Optimum use only have three prongs and snap causing the DVDs to become damaged because of it. These are the sort of cheap cases one would expect to find in a pound shop! These sets aren't cheap so why do Optimum use these cheap cases instead of using quality double slimline cases?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete collection of The Avengers on DVD at last!!!, 30 Jun. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Stockport, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
My husband is a great fan of The Avengers but, until these DVDs were released, it has never been possible to purchase them on DVD and we have had to wait for them to be repeated on TV. I pre-ordered these and was not disappointed. Not only is there every surviving episode, all digitally restored, there are also a great deal of bonus features, including commentories and interviews. These DVDs are a must have for any Avengers fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this arrived in good condition, but as it was a gift i ..., 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
this arrived in good condition, but as it was a gift i do not know how it plays.have had no complaints so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD]
The Avengers - Complete Series 3 [DVD] by Raymond Menmuir (DVD - 2010)
£35.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews