Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Treasure Forever!!!
'Santa Claus the Movie' is, without any doubt, the most beautiful movie you could ever own in history! It has the most beautiful soundtrack, a heart-warming story-plot and more importantly, a blend of very talented actors.
The story is about a man named Claus. Every Christmas Eve, he travels around his homeland on his sled of Reindeer with his wife, Anya, delivering...
Published on 9 Jun 2005 by M. Fox

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film of two halves.
This is one of my seasonal must watches although it's not a great film. The first half is the best bit where the origins of Santa are explored. The part where Claus and his wife and reindeer freeze in the snowstorm and pass to a plane where they can meet the elves is still magical even after 26 years.

The elves' workshop is well realised and the story keeps...
Published on 18 Dec 2011 by Mr. J. J. Brett


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Treasure Forever!!!, 9 Jun 2005
By 
M. Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Santa Claus the Movie' is, without any doubt, the most beautiful movie you could ever own in history! It has the most beautiful soundtrack, a heart-warming story-plot and more importantly, a blend of very talented actors.
The story is about a man named Claus. Every Christmas Eve, he travels around his homeland on his sled of Reindeer with his wife, Anya, delivering presents to all of his friends and children. However, one Christmas Eve, his wife, reindeer and he are caught in a terrible snowstorm. Later, they're rescued by a group of friendly elves (one of them named Patch is played by Dudley Moore. May God rest his poor soul) and they take them to their new home in the North Pole. There, Claus begins his new life as 'Santa Claus' and ever since that day, is able to fly on his sled and reindeer delivering presents to good children all over the world.

Eventually, during the story, the elf, Patch, believing that Santa no longer likes him, decides to leave and make it big in New York to make Santa like him again. It's up to Santa and his two new friends, a young boy named Joe, and a young girl named Cornelia, to bring him back before it's too late.
'Santa Claus the Movie' is definitely a movie that everyone should have in their Video/DVD collection. I've loved this movie ever since I was a baby. I've grown up watching it every single Christmas and have made it a personal tradition of mine to watch it every single year.
This is not the kind of movie that you will eventually get bored of watching. The story, soundtrack and characters are all so loveable that no matter how many times you've watched this movie over the years, you will always be really excited to watch it again the following Christmas. The creators of this most wonderful story have really succeeded in capturing my heart and it absolutely fills you up with the most wonderful feeling of the Christmas Spirit.
The special features on this DVD are really cool! You get to see a really long documentary on the making of the movie, as well as a few words from one of our main stars, Dudley Moore. You also get two special trailers from many years ago when the movie was only just released.
'Santa Claus the Movie' looks absolutely gorgeous on DVD format. I've always thought the picture quality was very good when they showed it on TV every Christmas, but DVD-format really takes the prize. The picture has been digitally-remastered, giving you a beautiful widescreen, crystal clear image. Not to mention that the audio-sound has been greatly improved!
If you want to make your Christmas one of the most memorable and special Christmas ever, then BUY THIS DVD NOW!!! You will NOT be sorry...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But why isn't it out on DVD yet?, 1 Nov 2003
This is in my top 5 of Christmas films and I make sure to watch it every year while I do the Christmas baking as I'm convinced that with all that Christmas spirit oozing out of it some of it's got to be transferred to my mince pies! A definate one to watch for that warm fuzzy feeling even if it is dripping with sweetness and light. And fantastic to see a naive Dudley and suprisingly a mean John Lithgow from before the days of "3rd Rock From The Sun" too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Santa Claus: The Movie, 14 July 2003
This is one of the best christmas films, that I have seen for a very long time. The sheer brillance of the film is out standing, this film is to me what christmas should be like. It brings back the magic that was taken away so long ago. Fun for the whole family. Dudley Moore's acting is brillant, I recomend it to anyone who has lost the Christmas spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Christmas Movie Ever!!!, 17 Oct 2004
Not a year has passed since I was born where I haven't watched this movie on the TV in the run up to Christmas. Every year I have to watch this movie otherwise it's just not Christmas. I've searched to find it on video and DVD to no joy, but now it is finally being released.
This movie is perhaps the best Christmas/Santa movie ever. It is a lot better then the recent Hollywood attempts featuring the likes of Tim Allen and Arnold Schwarzenegger. This film definitly has the warm family feel to it.
If you've never seen the film before and I can't believe anyone hasn't. The film starts off with a toy maker and his wife delivering presents to children in their village. On their return home they get caught in a vicious snow storm and become trapped, and certainly will perish in the woods. They are rescued by elves and magically taken to the North Pole where their lives are saved. From that day on the toy maker becomes Santa Claus and his wife obviously Mrs Santa Claus. Every year after that on Christmas Eve Santa leaves the North Pole to deliver presents to all the good boys and girls.
Centuries pass and eventually we arrive in the Early 80's. One Christmas Eve as Santa is delivering presents he meets a young homeless boy named Joe. Santa immediately becomes best friends with the kid and lets him join him as he delivers presents and even lets Joe fly the Reindeer. On delivering toys to one house Santa and Joe meet a young girl named Cornelia, she becomes best friends with Joe and gives him food and a warm, dry place to sleep.
Back at the North Pole an Elf named Patch (played superbly by the late Dudley Moore) has big plans on how to revolutionise Christmas and make toy making easiser. He builds an assembly line that can churn out toys in minutes. Sadly the machine goes wrong, toys are assembled incorrectly and that Christmas Santa delivers toys that break on Christmas Day. Obviously Santa gets lots of angry letters from children and parents. Patch leaves the North Pole in disgrace.
Back in the real world, Cornelia's Uncle BZ (played by John Lithgow) who owns a Toy Shop is in a crissis as his toys are being found to be dangerous and potentially hazardous to children. When Patch finds his way into BZ's office with a plan to create something that children will love, that no one else makes and that doesn't cost much to make, BZ is very interested. Patch makes something that is quite spectacular and that Christmas, BZ takes over from Santa as giving kids the best presents. With the success of Christmas out the way and the money still being counted BZ has the idea to make a second Christmas.
At this time Cornelia finds out that the 'Something Special' Patch has made is highly explosive if it gets hot. She writes a letter to Santa informing him of what is happening. Only a few weeks after Christmas, Santa is saddling up the Reindeer to launch a rescue mission to save Patch and stop BZ.
This film really is good and I urge anyone to buy it, especially if they have young children as this will get them really caught up in the magic of Christmas. It has a great cast Dudley Moore, John Lithgow, David Huddleston and Burgess Meredith. The two child actors are also very good and believeable.
Go on and buy this masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, better than any other xmas movies!!, 1 Dec 2004
By 
red_flame (Kidderminster, Worcs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If you want to get in the xmas spirit then this movie is for you!!
Buy it now. It will enchant your kids and I've loved it since I was a kid. It's amazing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Classic, 5 Dec 2003
Growing up in the late 80's/ early 90's, this was the film I always waited for to come around at Christmas. This is one of those films like "It's a wonderful life" that should be around every Christmas. Make no mistake - this film as the title suggests is entirely aimed at children, but is entertaining enough for adults to watch with them. I retain a corre which still loves classic disneys so I still love this film. It seems to wrap up much of the magic of Christmas in a mere 90 mins or so. Most of the acting is perfect for the film (for serious films it would be a little melodramatic), the guy from "third rock to the sun" being a great villian with evil laughs and a view to spoil Christmas. The two Clauses are also well acted, and Dudley Moore is good as Patch, an elf upon whom much of the story revolves around. All in all, if you don't buy this video, make sure you sit down and watch it while its on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHY NOT YET ON REGION 2 DVD?!, 1 Dec 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I actually love this film; i have to stop myself watching it in the summer sometimes. So dissapointed its not yet out in region 2 though! why????
If you're a scrooge, watch this and get into the christmas spirit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santa Claus - The Movie, 1 July 2003
By A Customer
This has got to be THE BEST feel good christmas movie of the last 20 years.
No matter how old you are - it keeps the christmas spirit alive in your soul and will stay with you for ever.
I first saw this film when I was about 6 and it got me soo excited for Christmas.
If you have kids or younger people in your family, you know that feeling I mean.
It became apart of my christmas every year since.
For those of you who have already seen it, you'll know how good a feeling it gives you towards the end of the year and for those of you who haven't seen it, when Christmas is just around the corner - rent it, buy it or borrow it. Sit as a family and enjoy every minute of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santa Claus - The Movie, 28 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This is the best christmas film that I have ever seen.
If you are ever feeling disheartened about Christmas then
this is the film for you it restores your faith and makes
you remember what it was like to believe in Father Christmas.
Good film that all the family can watch on any day of the
year.
Happy watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good old-fashioned Christmas film., 18 Dec 2012
By 
Caroline (Roxburghshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Santa Claus - The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
My own children loved this so I bought it for my grand-daughter. It has all the ingredients of a Christmas film: Santa, elves (Dudley Moore! Well cast.), rich and poor children, good versus bad people, and wonderful reindeer. With of course the obligatory happy ending.
When I was teaching I sometimes used this as my last-day-of-term film - it was always popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Santa Claus - The Movie [DVD]
Santa Claus - The Movie [DVD] by Tim Stern (DVD - 2009)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews