Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thoughtful and Provocative Series from the Past
Four and a half stars would be more accurate, for two series which have continually surprised me with their skilful construction, high standards of naturalistic acting by the series' regulars, and thoughtful presentation of what initially seem simple choices and decisions made under wartime occupation, but which turn out to have unexpected and far- reaching implications...
Published 10 months ago by Alan clayton

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Period Piece
Although not in the same league as some BBC wartime adaptations this is still well worth purchasing. Simon Cadell is light years away from Hi De Hi and perfect in the role of SS Officer. I was a bit apprehensive about watching him in this but any fears were dispelled right from the beginning. I would have liked to have seen more Islanders, the Doctor (well played by...
Published on 9 Oct. 2011 by A. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thoughtful and Provocative Series from the Past, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Four and a half stars would be more accurate, for two series which have continually surprised me with their skilful construction, high standards of naturalistic acting by the series' regulars, and thoughtful presentation of what initially seem simple choices and decisions made under wartime occupation, but which turn out to have unexpected and far- reaching implications and ramifications. After a first episode which seems largely concerned with establishing a simple period atmosphere and with presentation of character, subsequent episodes establish an extremely effective pattern. Everyday, almost humdrum, life, is presented in the most naturalistic way as islanders and invaders try to co- exist, but slowly we realise that every action has a counter- reaction, and that the simplest acts by the most ordinary of people throw up moral choices and consequences with often unpredictable outcomes. If you want a series packed with dramatic incident and daring-do, then this not for you: there are few stereotypes here, even amongst the enemy invaders, guns are rarely used, and fight scenes are almost non-existent. At first the style of acting seems very dated -there is little of the dramatic exaggeration so common in today's drama series - but each episode gently takes any viewer who is responsive to language and ideas into its grip, simple situations and characters become increasingly three dimensional as each episode progresses, and by its end, the dramatic and often emotional effect is considerable. The acting style seems at first quite dated, but one quickly recognises that the power of each episode comes from the total credibility of the plot situations and of the human reactions to them. There are very considerable performances from Bernard Horsfall, Alfred Burke, and John Malcolm in particular, and the two series have been a most welcome, unexpected, and rewarding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars captivity in channel islands, 24 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
I recently purchased this complete set of dvd discs of ENEMY AT THE DOOR.Having watched this series when it was televised many years ago and found it very good.The acting and stories are brilliant and Alfred Burke and all the actors and actresses
are first rate. I was saddened to learn of Alfreds passing in February this year but he will be fondly remembered by people of my generation as a wonderful actor.The rubbish shown on tv these days compared to this series shows how society has changed for the worse.I would highly recommend this series to all to purchase and indeed it is suitable for family viewing which is a rare thing these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enemy at the Door, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
The mid-late 70s 'Enemy at the Door' dramatising the occupation of the Channel Islands mainly centred around a practising doctor was regarded as perhaps the best TV series in this genre [the other is the much later shot 'Island at War', a shorter series of 6 episodes] attempting to portray life both as an Island resident and also from a German viewpoint as occupying power. It runs for about 28 episodes and even after 2 complete viewings I find it exciting and captivating. [the other series is the much later shot 'Island at War', a shorter series of 6 episodes that also touched into the German/Jewish situation on the islands]. Both series featured episodes that would have taken an hour of ITV transmission time taking into account commercial breaks.
Unfortunately the 'Enemy at the Door' series didn't conclude with the end of WW2 and arrival of the British forces on the Ch. Islands in May 1945 which would have rounded off a landmark series - perhaps ITV had been intended to run a 3rd series but it never happened ??
Each episode has strands that continue into later episodes such as Doctor Martell's daughter with her 'killing' of a Luftwaffe officer and her eventual breakdown and removal to an island convent. Technically the editing is excellent but the colour quality appears diluted so there aren't vivid reds, greens etc. The DVD series has simply been dumped from master tapes so the 'into break' and 'out of break' captions are included which may perhaps punctuate continuity - the much later ITV 'Island at War' also includes the break caption [no commercials of course]
Of the 2 occupation series I would highly recommend the 'Enemy at the Door' that to me gives an indication of the day to day life during the German occupation, the lack of fuel, food, medical supplies and treatment.
Highly recommended, currently very attractively priced and compelling viewing - if you've been to any of the Channel Islands and seen the massive concrete defences/bunkers constructed by the Germans, this series really helps in a greater understanding of life between 1940-45 in the Islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical Information with a Good Story Line, 11 Mar. 2012
By 
Jane B. Hewitt "swimmer@charter.net" (Norrth Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
For Americans and young people lacking in historical information on WWII in England before Pearl Harbor, this is a must see. It's not just history,and the story line carries you along. I am a seventy-seven year old American and this was the first knowledge I've had of the early occupation of the channel islands of England by the Germans in 1940. Thank you for a great series, and a comprehensive history of the early conflict and occupation of the channel islands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding British Drama 5/5, 1 Jun. 2011
By 
DC (Horrible Hayes, Middx, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Take yourself back to the days of not just to the 1940's occupation of Channel Islands but also to the time when great drama flowered from strong characters and subtly nuanced plots.

The characters in Enemy At The Door grow on you with each episode. The acting is excellent and the story lines draw much power from their, often prosaic, situational elements. They continually confront the viewer with the concept of compromise, handled in the most sensitive and even-handed manner that I can recall.

The writers have a wonderful sense of balance, portraying the German occupiers as mostly very, real, civilised beings - something that has (sadly) become almost unthinkable in modern dramas, for whatever reason or influence. It's a pity that Anthony Valentine didn't fill the role of the SS officer, perhaps reprising the character that he developed so masterfully in the Colditz series. Simon Cadell was perhaps too tainted by his later Hi-De-Hi career for me to be able to take him seriously. This aside, the characterisation of the Feldgendarmarie policeman, the Commandant and most of the islanders was simply superb.

No clear-cut good guys and bad guys, no american-style man-in-the-white-hat riding off into the sunset. Bravo. Why can't we have stuff like this today?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alfred Burke - who had proven himself in Public Eye - carries the series with his sensitive and intelligent portrayal of the Naz, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Hardly surprisingly, Alfred Burke - who had proven himself in Public Eye - carries the series with his sensitive and intelligent portrayal of the Nazi commander with a conscience. Caricatures of Nazi buffoons are what we have come to expect but the invaders are endowed with humanity which sits almost naturally alongside their political beliefs. The only exception is the snide and thoroughly detestable SS man Reineker, played with unswerving cynicism by the marvelous Simon Cadell. This realism is what makes the series so special although it is slightly marred by the 'I say old chap' stiff upper lips of most of the islanders - a shame as the writers had portrayed the enemy so vividly. Another shame is that the series did not continue to the end of the war and we are left in mid-air; but for all that the series remains in good shape and can be recommended to anyone with an interest in British drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978], 30 April 2010
By 
GF Edwards (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Having watched most of this series when originally broadcast, I have enjoyed watching the DVDs all episodes in sequence. The reproduction quality is extremely good and the whole package is fantastic value for money and I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enemy at the door, 11 Oct. 2011
By 
G. Zimmermann (the uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
This is a realistic view of the events surrounding the German occupation during the war , and how the islanders survived this very traumatic period. The characters in this story are entirely believable , as the actions of the islanders and how they were potrayed, eg , the doctor coerced into helping run the island under German instuction , the police force being used to capture black marketeers .
I watch this series over and over again , also i watch again and again the programme Secret Army , as this also portrays a very realistic account of an occupation of another country, as anyone would expect there is a lot of characters whom might have been in both series, playing the same sort of role , eg the evil ss comandant , the Weremacht and Luftwaffe personnel having to obey the SS.
Yes i would recommend Enemy at the Door to people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would have liked a 3rd series., 17 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
My wife and I have just finished watching the complete series 1 and 2 , it was a shame there wasn't a 3rd series as it ended as if it could have come back for more, this doesn't take anything away for it being a great watch and seeing war from a different prospective. We didn't know the actors, ALFRED BURKE, BERNARD HORSFALL and JOHN MALCOLM, they were fantastic to watch, as so was SIMON CADELL , who we new from HI de hi. Well worth 5*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was just as good 37 years later, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978] (DVD)
Saw this series when it originally came out in 1978. Thought it was an outstanding BBC program then . Could not recall any of the storyline, apart from remembering the actors and the intrigue. Was just as good 37 years later. Any of the films showing the terrible times people had to endure through that era,show what an arrogant meglamaniac person Hitler and his cronies were, to just invade another country the way they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enemy At The Door - The Complete Series [DVD] [1978]
£24.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews