Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good...but could be better.
I agree with SeaWasp. The content is unique...but the prints used for this release are soft. They do not look as if they have been sourced from 35mm originals....more like 16mm dupes. Having said that, at this stage, it is probably the best release of these two films available, so if the content appeals...go get 'em!
Published on 26 Dec 2010 by DonP

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware of short-sighted telecine operators..!
I really like "Swinging UK". It was the companion featurette to The Beatles' "Help" when that movie was shown in Sydney in 1965. The problem with this dvd is that the image is out of focus. I was bitterly disappointed as I bought this dvd to replace my JEF Films version of this title that I got from the USA. The Strike Force Entertainment disc has better sound and better...
Published on 27 Nov 2010 by SeaWasp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good...but could be better., 26 Dec 2010
This review is from: Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with SeaWasp. The content is unique...but the prints used for this release are soft. They do not look as if they have been sourced from 35mm originals....more like 16mm dupes. Having said that, at this stage, it is probably the best release of these two films available, so if the content appeals...go get 'em!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stuff, 20 Mar 2011
By 
Roy Matthews (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] (DVD)
God this stuff takes me back! Great quality film for it's age. The pop video in it's infancy and all the more charming for it. Some great songs and some hilarious fashions that had me laughing out loud. A true peice of pop history and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware of short-sighted telecine operators..!, 27 Nov 2010
By 
SeaWasp (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] (DVD)
I really like "Swinging UK". It was the companion featurette to The Beatles' "Help" when that movie was shown in Sydney in 1965. The problem with this dvd is that the image is out of focus. I was bitterly disappointed as I bought this dvd to replace my JEF Films version of this title that I got from the USA. The Strike Force Entertainment disc has better sound and better colour that the old NTSC version but the focus is soft. I remember my old Channel4 VHS copy being a lot sharper. "UK Swings Again" seems to show a marginal improvement in image quality.

Padding out the dvd (the two main titles run for a combined total of approximately 55 minutes) we have two shorter featurettes. "Jugglers & Acrobats" which shows us the kind of variety acts that were usurped by the coming of rock'n'roll, and "Reels Within Reels": the surviving section of a behind-the-scenes look at the 1960s recording process.

Had the picture quality been sharp and clear, I'd have given this product 5 stars. It is a priceless relic of the swinging 60s. Some good songs and some mediocre ones as well (you'll groan when you see The Tornnados trudge through "Blue Blue Beat") along with the illustrious presence of Alan Freeman, Kent Walton and Brian Matthew.... it's a shame SFE blew it with the film transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars swinging sixties great!!, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] (DVD)
will be doing more transactions in the future, highly rated an good value for money as always very happy with all my purchases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swing On 60s!, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for me recently as a present. Was on my wish list. Good to see 60s pop groups performing in colour and not the usual black and white images one mainly has to put up with being most 60s shows were recorded on that type of media.

Most of the groups performing are well-known apart from a few which I never heard of. My older siblings may remember them! The groups that are featured include The Hollies, Lulu, The Applejacks, The Swinging Blue Jeans, The Tornadoes, Brian Poole & The Tremeloes and Eric Burdon & The Animals. Most sing two songs and are introduced by Alan Freeman, Brian Matthews and Kent Walton. It is Great Entertainment for all who grew up or was a teenager in the 60s. Loved going down memory lane. Nice to see the groups performing their songs rather than listening to them on the radio because I wasn't old enough to appreciate them and become a fan.

There are two separate shows on the DVD and some interesting bonus features which were also good fun. Liked the feature on the Jugglers And Acrobats. That was very interesting!

Going back to the main feature of this DVD - hope more of the same will be available to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars songs that time forgot, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] (DVD)
Quite a good DVD with lots of songs you dont hear anymore ,all the old sixtys groups with the original members in them all . All in all a nice bit of nostalgia and entertainment .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 28 Jun 2012
This review is from: Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent DVD, and the quality is also good considering it's from the 60's. If people really want a HD version then they should check the Sky Arts 1 HD Channel, as they are shown on there although not very often.

This is definitely well worth the money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swinging UK, 1 May 2010
This review is from: Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] (DVD)
Cleaned up images from the original negative and with some great "bonus" material - Something to keep and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Rocks, 6 Aug 2010
This review is from: Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] (DVD)
Great peek back to the stars of the sixties - nostalgia rocks! Would love high def. version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Let Down, 3 Jan 2010
This review is from: Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] (DVD)
The Curates egg good in parts. When will we get DVDs of READ STEADY GO? Surely Dave Clarke who owns the copywrite can Cash in on Releasing the old shows. This Dvd to show the Grandchildren but maybe not more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD]
Swinging UK / UK Swings Again [DVD] by Harold Baim (DVD - 2009)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews