Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Throughout
In both films you find amazing action, I was never left bored, and I was captivated throughout by the action. The plots are run well and the film doesn't miss anything to make it greater, its that good.
It has moved straight into my list of top films and I would definitely recommend it if you like action.
If you are a fan of Parkour or practice Parkour or...
Published on 28 July 2011 by Michael

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
was quite disappointed that the vocals in this movie is, I think french,.. the subtitles are quite quick to read before the change but overall action looks quite good
Published on 7 Aug 2012 by rachael18


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Throughout, 28 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In both films you find amazing action, I was never left bored, and I was captivated throughout by the action. The plots are run well and the film doesn't miss anything to make it greater, its that good.
It has moved straight into my list of top films and I would definitely recommend it if you like action.
If you are a fan of Parkour or practice Parkour or martial arts, I shouldn't have to tell you to buy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent image qaulity & value for money, 27 Feb 2010
By 
K. C. Tong (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
2 discs also packed with extra features. The first episode seemed to be Region free. The sequel Ultimatum (Region B disc) is even better than the first episode. Excellent HD picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The French know how to kick it!, 14 Nov 2009
By 
I can just recommend this double package of two high adrinaline action flicks. The films are a lot of fun: very stylish, strong, offering entertaining martial arts scenes and the birth of "parcours running" in action films (adapted in "Casino Royale").
This two disc set surprised me with a high quality package. Normally I do not buy double discs at all. But in this case the design of the cover and inlay manage to refelct the close connection of both films (the second begins where the first ends). Picture and sound are fine: D13 = very good (sharp and offering much more detail than the dvd) = DolbyDigital 5.1 English/French; D13: Ultimatum = close to reference (very sharp and dimensional) = DTS-HD-Master 5.1 French/English.

Suggestions:
a) Choose the original French tracks (subtitles are decently put within the picture and not in the black bars). Dubbing is never a good thing.
b) The French track for D13 (Part One) seems to be weaker in comparison to the English dubbed version: it is not! Just turn up the volume and it sounds exactly as powerful as the other one.
c) Even if you like low frequencies (and I do) you should turn down the bass for the French HD-Master-Track a bit (-2/3db). Then the whole track sounds more natural and you can enjoy the action instead of feeling like a teenager at the techno disco.

Have a good time with these two fine discs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Escape from Nouveau Paris, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: District 13/District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting the worst after the disappointment of the earlier Bresson-produced Yamakasi, which stalls on the action front to save on the budget, but was very pleasantly surprised with French free running action movie Banlieue 13 aka District 13. A pretty shameless ripoff of Escape From New York that improves on the original with a relentless pace and superior action scenes even if it lacks the iconic characters or Adrienne Barbeau's epic curves, there's some social criticism in there that doesn't feel grafted on, but mostly this is about the gravity-defying no-nets, no-stuntmen action scenes, and on that level it certainly delivers.

Banlieue 13: Ultimatum (or District 13: Ultimatum if you see the English-language version) takes its modern day Escape from New York with added parkour stunts and a soupcon of political commentary premise a little bit further than the original without letting it get in the way of the action. It's three years after the first film and nothing has changed - well, not for the better. The budget's noticeably bigger this time round and has been employed to create a vividly realised but under-utilised ghetto for Paris' ethnic population that's part Lebanon, part Hong Kong, part white supremacist and all powderkeg. Which is convenient for crooked developer `Harriburton' (see what they did there?) who want to flatten it to redevelop as a middle-class area and are bribing the French security chief to provoke a war that will see all the inhabitants moved out, the district destroyed (rather melodramatically by fighter bombers with the Philippe Torreton's President himself pressing the button) and lucrative vote-winning reconstruction contracts all round. "Just like in Iraq - but these guys are French!"

It's not always big on logic: despite having a key videotape that could blow the whole conspiracy wide open, no-one thinks to download it on the internet. More problematic, the two stars are kept apart for most of the first hour, though are at least given big setpieces to show off their stuff - Cyril Raffaelli a fight in a boobytrapped Chinese nightclub where a priceless Van Gogh becomes a deadly weapon in a scene reminiscent of vintage Jackie Chan and David Belle in a rooftop chase. Along the way it has a sense of fun and energy to offset the way it exploits the constant tensions between the French underclass and the police, and it even has a sense of humor - one drug dealer is so high on his own supply he's immune to repeated tranquilliser darts - but it ultimately lacks the momentum or imagination of the first film: the plot is really just a rehash of the first film on a bigger scale and there are too few stunts that make you go wow. Worse, there seems to be a lot less action this time round and the action scenes aren't always as well directed as the could be, with director Patrick Alessandrin lacking the panache of Pierre Morel's original and not always resisting the temptation to cut mid-stunt rather than playing the stunt in one continuous take, which is a bit pointless when you have stars who can do their own stunts. It's telling that the nine minutes of deleted scenes on the disc are all action sequences that didn't quite work this time, most derivative stuff from the film's finale. But while it never lives up to its promise, it's still entertaining brain-off entertainment that's ideal undemandingly outrageous Summer fare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this anymore...., 3 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: District 13/District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
I initially caught the tail end of D13 on tv one night and thought it was worth purchasing on the basis of what I had seen. I was not disappointed. ALthough in no way resembling the plots of Mad Max or Fistful of Dollars, D13 reminds me of those movies due to its sheer rawness, energy, and low budget production which in no way hinders the film - in fact it's an asset, especially once you compare D13U with the original. I'm a great fan of Jackie Chan (early and mid career stuff), so I guess I'm a bit of a sucker for this type of film, but the action sequences from our 2 heroes are nothing short of spectacular, and I must make special mention of Taha (the villain of D13) who I thought was brilliant: just what a villain should be, and the homage to Scarface was nicely 'executed' as well. D13U is almost a big budget remake of D13, although there is a variation in plot, the sequence of the movie is very very similar, but D13U is "ultimately" lacking that sparkle which makes D13 such an enjoyable movie. Anyway, I'd very much recommend the boxset, the featurettes are very interesting, and the out-takes a la Jackie Chan on D13 is lol good - shame they didn't include some on D13U. Finally, French is such a good language for these movies, the cadence and staccatto nature of the language really contributes to the overall dramatic effect of the films (don't watch them in English!!). My overall recommendation? - buy - you will not be disappointed. Thanks also to Amazon for their usual impeccable service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An action film... what more do you want?, 29 Jan 2010
By 
Gul F. Nawaz (West Yorksire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: District 13/District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
What more can you say.. Decent stunts, nice camera work, passed the 90 minutes or so very well, A popcorn film, don't think, just enjoy! Action is universal, don't worry too much about the language,... I know, its French!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm amazed!, 21 Dec 2009
By 
GabeLogan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great movie from the same people who made Leon and Transporter. If you enjoy watching the two latter films, I'm definitely sure you will love D13!

Full of action and explosions, specially the second disc (Ultimatum). I love everything on these films except the English dubbing. I don't really like subtitles so I chose to play the English dub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Two DVDs for the price of one!, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: District 13/District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
If you like parqour(excuse the spelling)you will like these dvds.Very decent action
and original as well.If you like Fast and The Furious ,and movies in that genre you
will lap this up.Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 x Wonderful fun action Movies, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: District 13/District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] (DVD)
2 of my fav fun/action movies - with a minimum of wires and loads of skill. Originality, style and bizarre characters everywhere. English dub isn't great - so, for me, the French language/English subtitles setup is the best way to watch this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommend item, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Mohammed87 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wished there was an English dubbed Blu-ray version and not subtitled. that would have been perfect as I already have an AVI copy of them both dubbed in English. But still great copy and movie overall 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

District 13/District 13: Ultimatum [DVD]
District 13/District 13: Ultimatum [DVD] by Patrick Alessandrin (DVD - 2009)
£8.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews