Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars13
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.06+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2010
Purchased this DVD because it sounded good. I am not a follower of the Twilight films so that has no bearing on my judgement. Ashley was okay in the role, a tough nut and very pretty, but that was it really. I thought it had something to do with werewolves or vampires because of the "moon" bit to the title and now thanks to another reviewer here, that has been explained. Thank you. I kept waiting for something supernatural to happen. Not a lot of it made sense and the ending was over with too quickly. It could have been done a lot better. My advice would be not to buy it, because there are lots of other films on sale worth adding to your collection. Not the worst film ever, but not the best either. It just didn't develop into anything.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
Just got a sneek peak at this canadian made chiller and will probably be buying it, I did however HATE Twighlight with a firey passion fortunatley this film is a completely different kind of movie in almost every way.
The plot is quite simple, summer played by ashley greene from twighlight is a rebellious young teen off in search of her father, however her search unearths some shocking twists and proves some family roots are best left unexplored especially when daddys side of the family seems to consist solely of sociopaths.
Twighlight was pretty much a teens only affair so be warned this is not the kind of film young teens should really be watching, featuring among it's many delights incest, rape, torture and while not overly gory some definately unpleasant scenes. I LOVED IT! mainly because it avoided the texas chainsaw route that has been overdone in recent years and makes the family seemingly normal from the outside and more like Norman bates rather than leatherface. Like many canadian horrors Summers moon is a quirky, disturbing and intelligent horror that keeps you gripped, without resorting to endless murder scenes meaning the atrocities when they occur are all the more shocking.
Overall this is well worth considering, the disc is somewhat bare-bones but this is definately value for money just don't expect another twighlight, and for some like myself that can only be a good thing!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Really badly made exploitation horror with delusions. The chances are it has only been released on DVD because Ashley Green plays the lead who was Alice Cullen in the Twilight movies.
Ashley is a good actress and shows that she can inhabit a character in a few brief flashes, but this is such guff that none of the cast can bring it to life.
It's a silly amateurish film, even more so because they try to shock us with incest and rape and people chained up in the basement. Maybe it's really arthouse and I just don't get it. like when it sucks it's like really post-modern
Forget about this film, I'm sure the actors duped into taking part already have.

Ashley fans, she looks beautiful throughout.
I hope she made a few bucks for her time. Skateland is another movie she made. That is good, interesting and credible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
I'm not a fan of Twilight but i bought this movie because i wanted to see Ashley Greene in another role that had nothing to do with the saga, and wanted to see if she was a good actress or not because you can't really tell in Twilight and i wasn't dissapointed with this film. I'll admit it isn't the best movie out there but for a b-rated thriller it was alright. I would definently recomend it, but i will say the title and the cover are very misleading, i first thought it was going to be some sort of horror maybe about wolfs or something like that but no the whole film revolves around one particular family and contains rape, murder and incest so if any of these topics offend you i would stay away from this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
i thought this film was very good, i'm not a "die-hard" thriller or horror watcher. but i thoroughly enjoyed the film, i know people have said the acting isn't good etc. but i still thought the storyline was good, and the characters were played well. i would definately say that people should give it a watch, but people who are die-hard fans of thriller and/or horror they may not like it as much as i did..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2010
*possible spoilers!*

I bought this because the trailer looked quite good and also to see Ashley Greene in another role and what a waste of money it was.

The movie could have been better if weren't for the really bad acting. Greene was simply awful. She's just not tough or edgy enough for a role like this. I could see Eliza Dushku perhaps in the role of Summer. Greene was just so unconvincing.

The story is an interesting one, but is really weak. The human garden thing doesn't fit with the rest of the story when you consider the end of it. I don't really see the point of it.

And as for changing the name to Summer's Moon instead of Blood... a totally shameless ploy to cash in on the Twilight franchise. There really isn't anything to do with a moon in this... blood would have made more sense.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
A very enjoyable film, we loved it. I lent it to a friend to see and she loved it aswell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
I'm satisfied with the product, and the service provided.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Very good film, bit slow at beginning but very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Brilliant Film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)