Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly NOT for fans of twighlight!
Just got a sneek peak at this canadian made chiller and will probably be buying it, I did however HATE Twighlight with a firey passion fortunatley this film is a completely different kind of movie in almost every way.
The plot is quite simple, summer played by ashley greene from twighlight is a rebellious young teen off in search of her father, however her search...
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by Mr. K. Arts

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
Purchased this DVD because it sounded good. I am not a follower of the Twilight films so that has no bearing on my judgement. Ashley was okay in the role, a tough nut and very pretty, but that was it really. I thought it had something to do with werewolves or vampires because of the "moon" bit to the title and now thanks to another reviewer here, that has been...
Published on 11 Jun 2010 by Catherine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 11 Jun 2010
By 
Catherine (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Summer's Moon [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased this DVD because it sounded good. I am not a follower of the Twilight films so that has no bearing on my judgement. Ashley was okay in the role, a tough nut and very pretty, but that was it really. I thought it had something to do with werewolves or vampires because of the "moon" bit to the title and now thanks to another reviewer here, that has been explained. Thank you. I kept waiting for something supernatural to happen. Not a lot of it made sense and the ending was over with too quickly. It could have been done a lot better. My advice would be not to buy it, because there are lots of other films on sale worth adding to your collection. Not the worst film ever, but not the best either. It just didn't develop into anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly NOT for fans of twighlight!, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. K. Arts "keirarts" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer's Moon [DVD] (DVD)
Just got a sneek peak at this canadian made chiller and will probably be buying it, I did however HATE Twighlight with a firey passion fortunatley this film is a completely different kind of movie in almost every way.
The plot is quite simple, summer played by ashley greene from twighlight is a rebellious young teen off in search of her father, however her search unearths some shocking twists and proves some family roots are best left unexplored especially when daddys side of the family seems to consist solely of sociopaths.
Twighlight was pretty much a teens only affair so be warned this is not the kind of film young teens should really be watching, featuring among it's many delights incest, rape, torture and while not overly gory some definately unpleasant scenes. I LOVED IT! mainly because it avoided the texas chainsaw route that has been overdone in recent years and makes the family seemingly normal from the outside and more like Norman bates rather than leatherface. Like many canadian horrors Summers moon is a quirky, disturbing and intelligent horror that keeps you gripped, without resorting to endless murder scenes meaning the atrocities when they occur are all the more shocking.
Overall this is well worth considering, the disc is somewhat bare-bones but this is definately value for money just don't expect another twighlight, and for some like myself that can only be a good thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One star's too much, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer's Moon [DVD] (DVD)
Really badly made exploitation horror with delusions. The chances are it has only been released on DVD because Ashley Green plays the lead who was Alice Cullen in the Twilight movies.
Ashley is a good actress and shows that she can inhabit a character in a few brief flashes, but this is such guff that none of the cast can bring it to life.
It's a silly amateurish film, even more so because they try to shock us with incest and rape and people chained up in the basement. Maybe it's really arthouse and I just don't get it. like when it sucks it's like really post-modern
Forget about this film, I'm sure the actors duped into taking part already have.

Ashley fans, she looks beautiful throughout.
I hope she made a few bucks for her time. Skateland is another movie she made. That is good, interesting and credible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Summer's Moon [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not a fan of Twilight but i bought this movie because i wanted to see Ashley Greene in another role that had nothing to do with the saga, and wanted to see if she was a good actress or not because you can't really tell in Twilight and i wasn't dissapointed with this film. I'll admit it isn't the best movie out there but for a b-rated thriller it was alright. I would definently recomend it, but i will say the title and the cover are very misleading, i first thought it was going to be some sort of horror maybe about wolfs or something like that but no the whole film revolves around one particular family and contains rape, murder and incest so if any of these topics offend you i would stay away from this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Summers moon, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Summer's Moon [DVD] (DVD)
i thought this film was very good, i'm not a "die-hard" thriller or horror watcher. but i thoroughly enjoyed the film, i know people have said the acting isn't good etc. but i still thought the storyline was good, and the characters were played well. i would definately say that people should give it a watch, but people who are die-hard fans of thriller and/or horror they may not like it as much as i did..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy, rent!, 15 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Summer's Moon [DVD] (DVD)
*possible spoilers!*

I bought this because the trailer looked quite good and also to see Ashley Greene in another role and what a waste of money it was.

The movie could have been better if weren't for the really bad acting. Greene was simply awful. She's just not tough or edgy enough for a role like this. I could see Eliza Dushku perhaps in the role of Summer. Greene was just so unconvincing.

The story is an interesting one, but is really weak. The human garden thing doesn't fit with the rest of the story when you consider the end of it. I don't really see the point of it.

And as for changing the name to Summer's Moon instead of Blood... a totally shameless ploy to cash in on the Twilight franchise. There really isn't anything to do with a moon in this... blood would have made more sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 8 Dec 2012
This review is from: Summer's Moon [DVD] (DVD)
I give this film 3 stars as i found it not bad..I watched it few years ago, and quite enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID!!!, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: Summer's Moon [DVD] (DVD)
Avoid this terrible film.

I'l watch anything and slightly enjoy it. but this was disgraceful.

contains scenes of rape, insest, sex, torture and murder.

for me the story took too long to evolve and when it did ended all too quickly.
and the most horrific scenes of murder happen at the end of the film.

like "watching paint dry" only at the end of this film, the paints still wet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A new meaning to bad movies, 10 Jan 2010
By 
A. mendonca "mexsoapfreak" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Summer's Moon [DVD] (DVD)
This movie takes the bad movies to a whole new level!

ok, i have to admit that I love twilight and my main reason to see this (and probaly 80% of people who see it share this with me) was to see ashley greene acting in another movie besides twilight. But also being a huge fan of a good horror and thriller i had some positive expectations of the movie itself.
unfortunatelly, not even ashley saved it for me! the movie is extremelly pointless and plotless, really badlly acted (thumbs down for ashley, sadly she is one of the worse. i recommend if you want to see it for ashley, stick to twilight and wait till she makes another movie, if you want to see it for the story, just rent another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely pointless, 13 Nov 2009
This review is from: Summer's Moon [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing the trailer, I had high expectations for this film. It is quite possibly one of the most pointless films, i've ever seen. It takes too long to get into the plot of this film. It's not an overly gory film, it's not in the least bit scary. The ending is completely idiotic and rushed, it's almost as though the writers got bored half way through. Although I don't rate this film very highly, it could've had potential if the script and plot line had been better. There was a bit of dodgey acting but, I'm going to put that down to the script! Watching paint dry would probably be a lot more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Summer's Moon [DVD]
Summer's Moon [DVD] by Lee Demarbre (DVD - 2009)
£5.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews