Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying slasher flick
Ask yourself this question: do you like `slasher' films? If the answer is yes, then you probably enjoy daft youngsters getting stalked by killers, women running around in very little clothes, blood and gore and, of course, the most virtuous of the group surviving. Therefore, you will also probably like Paradise Lost, as it ticks all those boxes.

There's...
Published 20 months ago by Albatross

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected
A group of young people on holiday in Brazil narrowly survive a bus accident and are then left stranded in the middle of nowhere for 10 hours while waiting for the next bus to arrive. They do a little exploring and come across a beach and a bar and make the most of their time by swimming, drinking and partying. They are then drugged and wake up with all of their...
Published on 11 Aug 2008 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 11 Aug 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A group of young people on holiday in Brazil narrowly survive a bus accident and are then left stranded in the middle of nowhere for 10 hours while waiting for the next bus to arrive. They do a little exploring and come across a beach and a bar and make the most of their time by swimming, drinking and partying. They are then drugged and wake up with all of their belongings stolen. Little do they know that the locals not only want their belongings but also their internal organs.

I had low expectations for this, giving that similar films like Hostel and the more recent Saw film have been nothing more than average, but this wasn't the torture porn horror that I was expecting to see, rather a tense and exciting thriller that was actually quite good.

The storyline was pretty basic but was well executed, building the story up slowly but still managing to keep my interest throughout. It also had a fairly decent reasoning for the killings, rather than just mutilating the tourists for the sake of it. The actual torture scenes were not in it all that much either, so if you have seen the trailer, it is very misleading in that sense, but all the better for it really.

There are some pretty gruesome effects but nothing that hasn't been seen before and there isn't anything at all original about it. However it is a fairly enjoyable horror while it lasts with lots of shocks and scares and plenty of eye-candy too for us guys with some hot young women running about in tiny bikinis for the whole duration of the film.

Overall this is well worth a watch if you like thrillers that keep you on the edge of your seat and are genuinely quite scary if you imagine yourself in this kind of situation. Definitely worth a rent, at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying slasher flick, 15 Dec 2012
Ask yourself this question: do you like `slasher' films? If the answer is yes, then you probably enjoy daft youngsters getting stalked by killers, women running around in very little clothes, blood and gore and, of course, the most virtuous of the group surviving. Therefore, you will also probably like Paradise Lost, as it ticks all those boxes.

There's nothing new here - a group of annoyingly fit backpackers goes to Brazil, only to stumble into somewhere they really wish they hadn't. I won't go into detail about what exactly the `nasties' want from them, but it's no advert for the Brazilian tourist board.

Saying the film is just `average' would be a little unfair. It's definitely better than the vast majority of B-movie, cash-in, slasher films, but it's no masterpiece. Basically, if you enjoy the genre, you should enjoy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 21 Oct 2007
By 
N. Burrows "Ithilwenn" (Cirencester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Starts off light hearted, pulling in very real problems and fears that transpire from backpacking tourists - such as the photography of the little girl and the antagonism there. Immedietly Alex (josh duhanmel) and Pru (melissa george) hit it off, the dynamics of the group work really well and the scariest thing of the film i reackon, is that things like this actually can, and do happen. People get robbed, people trust the wrong locals. Okay maybe the cutting up for organs bit isnt going on but its not too far from the plausible truth.
In general a very good film, delivers sufficient scares, without being over the top, brilliant script, gorgeous location, and an good looking cast - who spend the whole film in swimming shorts and bikinis! what more can you ask for!
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brazil, Body Parts, Back Packing Kids and (some) Gratuitous Nudity!, 16 May 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is one from the `Backpacker Beware' genre, that really would put anyone off from going absolutely anywhere without a body guard. It stars Josh Duhamel as Alex, who is backpacking through Brazil with his sister Bea (Olivia Wilde) and their friend Amy (Beau Garret). They are on the worst driven bus in all of South America, when unsurprisingly the driver wrecks the thing. Everyone gets out and are told that the next bus has been booked - yaay! But that it will take ten hours to possibly arrive - boo!

So they decide to check out the local beach which has some exceedingly friendly locals and more narcotics than an Amsterdam Coffee Shop. So they decide that this is Paradise and together with three co travellers and another touring couple they decide to party on down. Two of these are brothers from London and Finn (Desmond Askew) has the strangest accent ever, but very recognisable, that might be why he gets to do so many voice overs for video games; any way I digress.

Once our plucky party animals wake up they realise they have been drugged and robbed, so in good old Western Tourist style they had off to inform the local Constabulary. Only there aint a Cop Shop, so they decide to reclaim their filched property from the locals; and it goes very bad very quickly. Luckily they have made friends with one local who comes to their aid. We also have a sub plot of tourists going missing on a regular basis and a trade in human body parts, but are these events linked - mwaahh etc.

Any way to say any more would be a plot spoiler and the whole point of this film is to be a horror, and it does work, whilst being moody, scary and quite gory all at the same time. There are also some stunning underwater shots and an awful lot of running about the place scantily clad; so a big well done to director John Stockwell for that. There is great tension throughout and yes a couple of plot holes but they are forgivable as this is one of those films that I did not have high hopes for but was really pleasantly surprised, but not that pleasantly surprised at some of the more gruesome scenes, and definitely not one to watch with a TV dinner or even a bag of crisps and you might be risking even with a cup of tea, so do take care.

Well acted, well paced and with the right amount of nice stuff to nasty stuff ratio that gets you to care about the characters and with enough oomph to keep you hooked until the end, don't know why it was called after John Milton's poem though and I am pretty sure the Brazilian Tourist Board would want to have a word with Mr Stockwell, but never mind as he has made rather a good little film - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film! gets better with every watch!, 18 Mar 2012
a group of people involved in a bus crash in while on holiday in brazil find a paradise looking island with all the beer and partying they colud wish for!. there they make friends with a local man. the next morning they awake to find they were drugged and all there belongings and passports are taken while they slept!. they turn to the help of the local friend to help. instead he leads them to his uncle who takes the organs of the foriengers to give to the brazilian people!... a gr8 film to watch, i did think when i first seen it they could of had a bit more tense to it, but i must say it has got better with every watch. one to have in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great suspenseful horror movie! 2 thumbs up!, 27 Jan 2008
I was having second thoughts on purchasing this movie - mostly because of the extreme number of bad reviews. I haven't let bad reviews scare me away so far, so, I ignored them and went ahead anyway, and I'm glad I did.

Paradise Lost is a great horror movie that any horror buff will love. It's jam packed with everything, and most importantly has a lot of suspense - which is the key in any horror movie.

I won't give away the story for those who haven't seen it. All you need to know is this is a great movie. Not just for renting, purchasing too. There are a lot of intense scenes here that bring a sense of realism to the situation these young tourists are in. Deff a great film to add to your scare collection.

Two thumbs up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Judged for what it is, very good, 26 Mar 2011
By 
S. Haddow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Judged for what it is - a bunch of twenty somethings who don't all make it to the closing credits - it's really very good. The acting is solid, the threat well set-up, the gore played just right - not too much and the baddie is not over the top - in fact frighteningly credible. It only falters towards the end which begins to feel rushed and not sufficiently plotted to maintain the tension, relying too much on a prolonged chase scene. Some terror stricken dialogue would have done a lot to inject life into the last third of the movie but there's almost none. However well and truly a cut above the average, with nice cinematography too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average film, 17 Oct 2007
By 
Bezerus Bezby "Bez" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A film about good looking travellers who get taken advantage of and ultimately tortured is perhaps a tad offensive to Brazillians, although does have the potential to be scary and nail biting. This film made a good effort but doesn't quite pull it off. The Americans are annoying, the Londoners cheerful cockney chappies that Americans seem to think is true of all Londoners and the Australian (Melissa George) is probably the best character as the mysterious lone traveller.

Probably the most terrifying moment is when the group awake dazed and robbed after having a fantastic night in a bar with seemingly friendly locals. After this, the film sinks into a cross between Hostel, Urban Legend and The Hills have eyes. It's not a bad film, although I'm not sure I would describe it as enjoyable, since it can be really nasty at times. I am not sorry I watched it but I am glad I rented rather then brought this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not great but not the worst!, 4 Mar 2014
well basically group of young backpackers' vacation turns sour when a bus accident leaves them marooned in a remote Brazilian rural area that holds an ominous secret. good acting from josh duhamel. Not much to really say about this one worth the watch if you like suspense and tension and has a nice little twist at the end. all in all a cool film with an ok story a mix between hostel+perfect getaway. so if you like those movies pick this up!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Take the plane...., 29 Jan 2014
This review is from: Paradise Lost [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Alex and his sister Bea, and her friend Amy meet other travellers and become friends after an accident with their bus.

They follow a track through the woods and find a hidden paradise. They decide to stay in the place drinking with the locals and they meet Brazilian teenager Kiko.

They are drugged and when they wake up, they are practically naked, with all their belongings, clothes, money, jewels, passports, backpacks stolen.

They walk to a small village trying to find a police station, they get into trouble with the dwellers and they are helped by their acquaintance Kiko, who leads them to his uncle's isolated well-equipped cabin in the woods to wait for the next bus two days later.

At night, Kiko's "uncle" arrives with his friends and the group discloses the sinister intentions of the newcomers.....

Released at the same time as Hostel, and during the reign of 'Saw', this is one of those movies that got ignored by the public, due to bad press and the act that most people thought it would be another torture porn movie.

There are violent scenes, but its so much more than a torture porn movie. For a start, the characters really are believable, and you do care for one or two of them, and also a few grate on you.

Desmond Askew is particular irritating, especially if you are from his side of the world. He is a typical cockney wide boy, and it irks me to think that film makers as still typecasting us Brits as this awful parody.

It loss a few points for this, but otherwise, it's a solid movie, with really beautiful locations, and a swimming scene that is pure Oceana to the eyes.

Ignore the fact that it's classed as torture porn and enjoy it for what it is, a film about the dangers of travelling and straying off the path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paradise Lost [Blu-ray]
Paradise Lost [Blu-ray] by John Stockwell (Blu-ray - 2009)
11.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews