Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars42
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2010
Good gritty film noir with Danny Dyer as watchable as always. Great to see David O'Hara as the serious-but-mysterious Boss as I've loved him since he was The "Mad Irishman" in Braveheart. The winding plot means you need to keep your brain switched on to keep up, but it's definately worth it for the twist at the end.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Jack'(Danny Dyer) is an under-cover cop who walks a very thin line between his real-life and that of an underworld thug employed by the people he's trying to put away, just how far is he prepared to go ?
This is a tough and gritty 'brit-flick' with a hat full of familiar faces on board, not to mention a very familiar voice, the 'late' 'Mike Reid'
worth watching at least.
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
British cinema trilogies are few and far between, so maybe it is sacrilege to review 'Jack Said' on its own. But few who could get through this will want to immerse themselves in 'Jack Says' and 'Jack Falls.' This one comes somewhere in the middle, sequel, prequel?. It is rare to find a Danny Dyer film where you actually want more of the man, but this is one. Danny is Nathan, a weary loser at odds with crime boss employers.We get a lot more of Simon Phillips as Jack, Scottish undercover cop and peanut consumer, who dates Nathan's surprisingly posh half-sister, Opera trips and bistroes.. Jack receives and administers several kickings, in both colour and black and white. It's that kind of film. Does he make it to the end? Does he get even with Nasty Natalie? That would be telling. Is there a fourth film in the series called 'Jack Off'? Sounds like a plan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
After seeing the film "Jack Says", out last year, I was so excited about the prequel "Jack Said" coming out and in my opinion, it did not disappoint and exceeded all my expectations! Some even more fab acting from Simon Phillips (Jack) in this gritty film noir with the character "Jack" being up to his neck even deeper with the gangland underworld, making him almost out of his in depth with his torrent double life as an undercover police officer and gangland member in the film. With this comes more violence and a virile, aggressive Jack that we haven't seen before! This creates more action, fighting, guns and explosions which is always good in an action packed film! Also starring Danny Dyer, the cockney East End geezer, what more could you want from a Brtish film! This Gritty, dark film noir has just the right amount of action, explosiveness, drama, humour and tragedy. Its unusual to see a gang boss played by a female but Ashlie Walker "Natalie" really pulled it off and knows how to keep the boys in check! David O'Hara, "The Boss" has a fitting role and has been given many accolades for his performances and with Jimmy White's acting debut was pure genius!

This adaptation of a graphic novel has been very well done and with the delights of fantastic acting, writing and directing, this is what British films are all about... I can't wait for "Jack Falls" to come out on DVD next year but in the meantime will be buying the graphic novel as a sneak peek and I am sure that we will hear much more from lead actor Simon Phillips in the future! Definitely worth buying! 10/10, Loved it!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
I was lucky enough to see this at the Portsmouth Film Festival before buying it on DVD.
The team behind Jack Says are back and have come along in leaps and bounds since the original film.
The cast contains some of the original cast of Jack Says as well as some new well known stars. Danny Dyer delivers as always and David O'Hara is a nice touch. A little cameo by Jimmy White is fun too.
What I liked about this film is the progression of the original characters. Simon Phillips is back in the lead as Jack and I think you see a whole new dimension to him in this film. The lead girls as just a good and very hot!!
The film is shot in a mix of full colour and black & white which works really well.
I am a huge fan of Paul Tanters graphic novels and they have translated onto the big screen really well.
If ever there was an argument for British Movies being among the best, this is it.
Can't wait for Jack Falls next year.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2009
I saw this film on Sunday in central London, the acting was brilliant and the plot was gripping despite not having seen the first film we were on the edge of our seats throughout. The camera shots and all the techy stuff was superb and the acting was magnificent. Well worth watching and a credit to all those involved.

More please!!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2009
This new gangster thriller is british film noir is at it's best. The raw and gritty cinematography complements the action and Danny Dyer and Simon Phillips command the leads roles with precision whilst still allowing for the story line to take its own direction. 2009's Best British Film by a long way!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
Another movie with initial promise gets let down by wooden acting. Plus Mr Dyer is not in it much. Sometimes I could not believe that this was for real; it must have been played for laughs. So many cliches slowed the plot until I nearly switched it off. It certainly is no Sin City Lahndan style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
Having watched "Jack Says" the previous week, I was keen to watch "Jack Said" to see if it was any better or just the same plot re-hashed.

I wasnt dissapointed, the film I felt was better than the original, with plenty of twists and turns, so you are never sure how its going to end. The acting was excellent, and I wasnt disapointed with any of the characters performance. Even the guy pretending to be Mike Reid actually sounded just like him.

Terry Stone`s role was supprisingly quite small and for once, Danny Dyer as not the lead man, which made a refreshing change.

I was very supprised to see cameo`s by Jimmy White, and the "Lottery Lout". Both played their roles well and were cast perfectly.

Having watched this on BluRay, and the first film on DVD, i found that the picture quality of this film to be much better than the previous. The film is dark in places, and even black / white in places, but on BluRay they still displayed crystal clear.

Recommended!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Typical British gangland, Cops vs Robbers Thriller, with ample twists & turns, sub-Plots and additional Characters that keeps you going right to the end... where one last fateful twist awaits... and what exactly is the Mystery surrounding the silver Briefcase ???!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)