Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rudo V cursi
A great film with good strong characters played well by Diego Luna and Gael Garcia bernal ,they were very believeable as brothers. I loved the simple naivety of the small town mexican boys finding fame and fortune. A comedy twist and packed with emotions this is well worth watching.
Published on 24 July 2010 by L. smith

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars didnt make me laugh
too slap stick and silly for me , maybe the jokes just didnt translate and so it all seemed rather throw away and pointless .Maybe you just have to be mexican to really appreciate this ,I shall stick to the darker latin american thrillers in future . This just wasnt my type of movie.
Published on 25 Jan 2012 by cartoon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars rudo V cursi, 24 July 2010
By 
L. smith "Bluecat" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rudo & Cursi [DVD] (DVD)
A great film with good strong characters played well by Diego Luna and Gael Garcia bernal ,they were very believeable as brothers. I loved the simple naivety of the small town mexican boys finding fame and fortune. A comedy twist and packed with emotions this is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mexico, Football, Bad Singing and Buckets of Heartfelt Humour, 15 Aug 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rudo & Cursi [DVD] (DVD)
This is a sort of follow on to `Y Tu Mama Tambien' as it brings together the same team from that movie. It stars Diego Luna as Beto and his half brother Tato being played by Gael Garcia Bernal. They work on a banana plantation and struggle to make a decent living - dreaming of the day that they can fulfil the promise they made to their mum and actually build her the house she has always wanted.

Then while they are playing a game of football, a wandering talent scout has the misfortune to get a puncture in their town. He watches the match whilst drinking cold beer and awaiting the repair. He then says they are both good enough to play at club level, but he will only take one. They decide which with a penalty shoot out -as one is striker and the other a goalie.
Tato wins and its off to Mexico city, where he gets to meet the rich and famous and indulge his real passion of singing - badly. He pesters Baton the coach into finding a place for his brother and he manages to get him one.

The story is about love, envy, greed, pride and the sudden realisation that the higher you get, the further you have to fall. There are some really great moral lessons in here all tied up with buckets of humour and real affection. It is a warm story told well, acted superbly and brilliantly written and directed by Carlos Cuaron. At ninety seven minutes it will be over leaving you wanting more, in Spanish (Mexican) with great sub titles, this was one of those films I had been meaning to see for a while and now can not belive I was missing out for so long - can not recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bernal and Luna back again!, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rudo & Cursi [DVD] (DVD)
I love Luna and Bernal (from Y tu mamá también)!
These two have amazing chemistry which I love seeing again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good to watch, excellent of its kind., 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rudo & Cursi [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly I must say I lived in Mexico for some years, so I recognised many of the types of behaviour and ways of speaking, all if which are totally authentic of the strata of society which they portray. However it's hard to know if someone who doesn't speak Spanish or know Mexico would be able to appreciate this film.

That said, I thought it was very good, both as a tragi-comic story and as a device to show up a particular form of exploitation. It is firmly in the tradition of the great old Mexican films made in the 1940s where 'slick well-educated and rich upper classes' try to exploit 'ignorant but honest peasants' and at first appear to succeed but the very naļveté of the peasants means that they actually come out if it all happy back where they started. In the old films the heroes were cowboys or peasants, here they are footballers.

The two brothers are very well acted, as is the amusingly unscrupulous Argentinian agent, and the script is well written of its kind. You do want to know how the story ends, you certainly become caught up in the story. I would recommend it to expatriate Mexicans above all, but also to anyone who wants a story that will make them smile wryly from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 26 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Rudo & Cursi [DVD] (DVD)
Great to see Gael Garcia Bernal and Diego Luna back together, they share such a chemistry, they make very believable brothers, it was funny, sad, tense and possibly everything inbetween. Even if you don't like football, if you like Hispanic cinema, this is definately one to watch. Produced by some of the biggest names in Hispanic cinema (Guillermo del Toro of Pans Labyrinth and Hellboy2, Alfonso Cuaron of Y Tu Mama Tambien and Harry Potter 3, and the bloke who directed Amores Perros) Honestly a must-see if you're a hispanic cinema/diego luna/gael garcia bernal fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate football but loved this film, 21 April 2010
By 
Ms. Monique Davis "Monique" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rudo & Cursi [DVD] (DVD)
Admittedly, I only went to see this film because I fancy Gabriel Garcia Bernal, but I loved it. Great to see him paired back with the other bloke out of Y Tu Mama Tambien (can't remember his name, was also in Dirty Dancing II: Havana Nights, but don't ask me why I know that). I am a big fan of Spanish films. Very funny, realistic picture of the relationship between two brothers and how their harmartias impact on their dreams coming true. Worth it for the rendition of 'I want you to want me' alone, highly recommeded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars didnt make me laugh, 25 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rudo & Cursi [DVD] (DVD)
too slap stick and silly for me , maybe the jokes just didnt translate and so it all seemed rather throw away and pointless .Maybe you just have to be mexican to really appreciate this ,I shall stick to the darker latin american thrillers in future . This just wasnt my type of movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rudo & Cursi [DVD] (DVD)
Absolute rubbish. The blurb makes it sounds really interesting, but it's boring and just not funny at all. I didn't even waste my time watching all of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rudo & Cursi [DVD]
Rudo & Cursi [DVD] by Eduardo Von (DVD - 2009)
£10.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews